We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast, Service, and Conversation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Rock Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Rock Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Millersville B&B and Inns
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Great Breakfast, Service, and Conversation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Great service and it felt like we were staying in there home. If you like a bed and breakfast with fresh food from the local orchard and farms; you should stay here. Many lessons to learn from educators, minister, and consuleors. If not interested in speaking with the staff, I'm pretty sure you can communicate that you do not want to conversate and they will allow you to enjoy their property and Lancaster County.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Preslaysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaplain_Ed, Owner at Blue Rock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks for the review. It's always great to welcome guests to Lancaster PA location who live in the Virginia Beach area where we formerly lived ourselves. We welcome guests from all regions, backgrounds, ethnicities, etc. Opportunities to exchange insights on various aspects of life is one of our favorite things about innkeeping. Welcome all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richville NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Recently visited the Lancaster area to see a production at the Sight & Sound theater and other attractions. The Blue Rock B&B was a great place to stay. Comfortable, clean private suite, excellent breakfast, and centrally located to area attractions. We would recommend it anyone looking to stay at a B&B instead of a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaplain_Ed, Owner at Blue Rock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review and recommend Blue Rock Bed and Breakfast. Glad too that you recognize the high value of the BnB experience for personal touch and unique features. Please look us up again when you return to Lancaster PA! All the best, Ed & Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns Mills, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The family suite was perfect for our two young children and our dog. There was plenty of room for the kids to play with the toys and games provided, and for us to relax in the evening while the kids slept in a separate area. The suite was very clean and very comfortable. Our hosts were great and very helpful with giving recommendations. We were not very far from all the attractions and we were in a very nice and quaint neighborhood. The breakfast was incredible. Our hostess made homemade banana muffins with homemade preserves, oatmeal pancakes, eggs with homemade salsa, local sausages, homemade granola and fresh fruit and of course coffee and juice. We had a fantastic mini getaway (at a great price) with the family and most of the credit goes to the Blue Rock Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veteranmom46331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaplain_Ed, Owner at Blue Rock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts about your visit to Blue Rock BnB. We are delighted to be able to help families create lasting memories. We're glad you had a wonderful time here. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We chose this very reasonably priced inn mainly to save money, but found ourselves really liking it and would gladly return, as it's a more authentic way to experience the traditions and hospitality of the region. It's a well-kept place that is not intimidatingly dolled up like some B&B's. My mother, my sister, her baby and I stayed very comfortably in two connected rooms upstairs, which were nicely furnished and quiet. Ed and Stephanie are gentle and helpful hosts with a Christian perspective. Grace is said over breakfast and there are some Christian books on display. However, there is nothing heavy handed or intrusive, and I do not think that non-Christians would be uncomfortable staying here at all. The communal breakfast at 8.30 a.m. was an opportunity way to meet our fellow guests and we found ourselves chatting over coffee at least an hour every morning. I would rather be checking my email while sitting on a gliding sofa in this B&B's old-fashioned living room than in a soulless corporate hotel lobby any day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennieerin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaplain_Ed, Owner at Blue Rock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thanks you so much for your vote of confidence! We are so glad when the features of our site match what the guests are looking for. Because of the uniqueness of each BnB, we know we can't serve everyone, but those who come we will try to accommodate the absolute best that we can. We enjoy sharing faith with other Christians, but people of all faiths are welcome and receive the same service. We live in a blessed area, and are glad to be able to share it with others. We enjoy getting to know people like yourselves, and hope to see you again.
- Ed and Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

My sister-in-law and I recently took our granddaughters to see Noah at Sight and Sound Theater.
In an attempt to give them a real experience, we chose ot stay here at Blue Rock.....and we were not disappointed. The beds were comfortable and the house was so cozy. The breakfast was extra awesome. The amenities provided were first quality and I recommend this B & B to anyone.
Thans so much Stephanie and Bill. And I will get that booklet to you, Stephanie!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaplain_Ed, Owner at Blue Rock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Glad you found Blue Rock BnB a great place to stay. And glad you could see Noah. In the ark of Refuge; a wonderful place to be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We neglected to post this review for a while now, but it goes to show that even after almost a year we still remember our four nights at this charming B&B near Lancaster, PA! The house was cozy, comfortable and charming, and our room had all the amenities and more (it put a 5-star hotel to shame). Our hosts Stephanie & Ed made us feel very welcome, and treated to us to excellent breakfasts, provided advice about what to do in the local area, and ensured we had a great time socially too during breakfast with the other guests and even in the evenings after our long days of touristing! Would definitely go back and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Read the description of each room to see what suits you best, as a couple, family or group of friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnavM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaplain_Ed, Owner at Blue Rock Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
There is no shortage of activities and things to learn here in Lancaster. We enjoyed having you at Blue Rock BnB, and welcome your return! -Ed & Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiram, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

My husband and I decided on a long road trip for our 40th anniversary. Blue Rock was one of the stops on that trip. I have stayed in several B&B's and this one, I have to admi, surprised me at first. It was in a residential section and was just an ordinary house. It looked nothing like a B&B so I thought at first I was at the wrong place - until I saw the sign in the front yard with the name on it. We were greeted by Stephanie and immediately taken to our room. I was pleasantly surprised when we got to our room. The room and bathroom were spacious and very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and so were the pillows. That may not mean a lot to some people but it does to my husband and me. The room allowed us a good bit of privacy and "no noise" which again is important to us. Ed & Stephanie were great hosts and very friendly.. They answered all our questions in great detail and we never felt like we were bothering them with our questions. So don't go to Blue Rock expecting to find a formal type B&B - this one is just "homey" and comfortable and makes you feel like you are at your own home. We had an overall wonderful experience. Thanks Ed and Stephanie.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank decee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millersville
5.4 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
3.8 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
7.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
3.2 mi away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Rock Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Rock Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blue Rock Bed and Breakfast
Address: 72 Blue Rock Rd, Millersville, PA 17551-1410
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Millersville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Millersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Rock Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable lodging for business or leisure, you can enjoy spacious and personalized accommodations with the comforts of home. Ideally located for walking to restaurants, stores, and a park; while Amish country attractions are only a few minutes' drive. Delicious home cooked breakfast is complimentary. Singles, couple or entire family welcome. Private bath, queen beds, and free Internet are just a few of the many amenities. Children welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Rock Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing