We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Hot Water; Unresponsive Rude Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Monroeville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2005

We stopped at this hotel while driving between Washington DC and northern Indiana. Although the room was perfectly adequate and we were not bothered by traffic noise (as reported by other reviewers), we had no hot water in our room when we woke that morning. We let the water run for over a half hour to see if it would get hot. It didn't. The front desk clerk offered the spectacularly unhelpful suggestion of turning the water off and back on again. We never got hot water and had to get back on the road.

When we later called the general manager to discuss an appropriate price reduction, she offered only a small reduction and said that when the desk clerk went up to the room there was hot water. She was curt, unapologetic and seemed to be questioning the validity of our claim.

I would certainly not stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: July 2005
Thank TravelWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 234 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
213
Reviewed 27 July 2005

This is basically a single-person-suite hotel for business folks (based on the room I was in) although there were a few sports teams and couples around. Very basic but quality furniture, well laid out, clean, and convenient for the business I had to do. Lots of newspapers, help finding delivered food, clear directions to close-by eats, and high speed, free. Staff was nice and seemed competent. This is one that reflects the new Marriott philosophy of changing sheets, and 'really' cleaning every other night or so, so if you're looking for luxury and pampering without asking, this ain't it. The pool is smaaaaalllll, so if you plop two kids in, the third will have to wait. Bkfst was ok, with a varied cold selection (bagels, toast, some fat pills, cereal, juices). A hot thing was provided every morning. The company paid this time, but at the rates I see, I wouldn't mind dropping in on my own dime for a night.

Stayed: July 2005
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2004

We stayed there on a Tuesday nite in anticipation of moving in to U Pitt. THe room was compact but clean and bright with 2 full beds, and the other room had a couch and a nice comfy chair a desk and fridge. There were 2 TV's.
More than we needed but very comfy. The complimentary breakfast was quite nice, and to our amazement, in the evening they had yummy looking cakes and brownies, pies, and even some soups and pot roasts. We went out to eat so we were not hungy but who know- next time maybe. We heard the food was really good. What a nice addition.
The staff was extremely nice, and I guess we were not on the side with the toll booth becuase we heard no noise.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moiinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2004

Upon our recent stay at this hotel, we were not aware, until we were already in our bed , how loud the toll plaza on the one side of the hotel was even with the air cond/fan on high. The hotel staff offered to switch our room, but even a higher floor on the same side was too loud. We suggest to book a room on the side facing away from the toll road if you like to sleep at night. Otherwise the room seemed spacious and clean.But we had to switch hotels because the noise was so unbearable.

6  Thank drw2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2004

I chose the hotel for our honeymoon. I booked it on the internet (to be honest it was because of the price!) so I didn't know quite what to expect. We were getting married and have a small baby. We didn't want to travel away from home, but just wanted a couple of days together. This hotel was perfect!! The staff was awesome and the room was absolutely gorgeous. We booked a jacuzzi suite and it was literrally our "home away from home". The kitchen area was perfect, the livingroom with the TV was very cool, but the best was the jacuzzi!! Great jet action and they placed little red candles all around the jacuzzi and on the nightstands. Very romantic!!

The only thing bad I would have to say was the location of the hotel and the proximity to the toll booth for the turnpike. But, we were so exhausted from the wedding hussle and bussle, we didn't mind. After all, we were on our honeymoon!! What's a little noise, huh?

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2004

We stayed at the property summer of 2003. I have to say it is very nice. However, be aware that rooms on the backside of the property are within 150ft of the toll plaza and you will here motorcycles, cars and big trucks accelerating from the toll booth all night long. If you're used to traffic noise it probably won't bother you. Otherwise be sure and insist on a room in the front of the building.

5  Thank coastermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Raleigh, NC
18
Reviewed 23 February 2003

I have stayed at SpringHill Suites for at least 4 visits, two of them 5 days in length each. I am developing a loyalty to this chain and here are some of my reasons:1. Friendly desk staff 2. DOWN PILLOWS - No joke!!!! 3. Indoor pool and steaming hot hot tub 4. Exercise facility is nice 5. Free breakfast every morning - danishes and other breakfast breads, pancakes, oatmeal, yogurt, juices, coffee - and tables and chairs to enjoy the meal, with a TV to watch the morning news. 6. Rooms are spacious! you get a small sofa that pulls out into an extra bed, an upholstered chair with ottoman. a kitchen area with a small fridge, a sink and a coffee maker, even provide kitchen towel to dry off your dishes. In the kitchenette area, a NICE office desk and a NICE upholstered office chair in which to catch up with your e-mail and whatnot. 7. 2 TV's.. yep, 2 count -em 2 TV's, one in the bedroom area, one in the living room area (with the couch and chair) 8. The kids love to stay there! I really don't have a bad word about this chain! Enjoy!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monroeville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Monroeville
1 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh Monroeville
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 12 in Monroeville
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville/Wilkins Township
2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh - Monroeville Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville

Address: 122 Daugherty Dr, Monroeville, PA 15146-2710
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Monroeville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monroeville
Price Range: £71 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Monroeville Hotel Monroeville
Monroeville Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing