We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A big thank you from Mike & Josephine Oddy from Ilkley, West Yorkshire” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Creevagh Heights

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Creevagh Heights
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A big thank you from Mike & Josephine Oddy from Ilkley, West Yorkshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed - Mary 2014

The moment you step into the hallway, you feel like friends that have been invited into a very welcoming family home. Harry and Carol are the perfect hosts, there incredible skills lies in making a visit a memorable stay. Carol is an outstanding cook, the breakfasts and evening menu is extensive like the best home cooking on dinner party days.,

Location, Location, absolutely sunning is the only way to describe 'Creevagh Heights' situated on Lacken Bay it is a heaven of peace and tranquillity. A perfect place to unwind and appreciate the glories of this corner of Ireland. We are already looking forward to a return visit 2015.

posted on behalf of Mike & Josephine Oddy, Ilkley, West Yorkshire, UK

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, Owner at Creevagh Heights, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Mike & Josephine, it was our pleasure to host you both for a week and delighted you have already booked another week next year. You were the first guests this year to enjoy breakfast on the patio overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in the beautiful Irish sunshine (see photo on our website). We are delighted your experience was positive AND relaxing; that's makes us very happy. Take care and see you again in July 2015. Carol & Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
150
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballybofey, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Excellent place to stay in. Harry and Carol are great hosts, their home in stunning and each room is finished to a very high standard. Very comfy and relaxed. The location is remote but is steeped in vast amounts of history, in which Harry and Carol have a great wealth of knowledge about and will advise you on the best places to visit. Such as Downpatrick Head, Cèide Fields visitors centre, Pullathomas Loop and Belmullet just to name a few places we went to, all of which have outstanding views of the Atlantic Ocean. Waking up in the morning to the sound of the ocean then heading down stairs for a wonderfully cooked breakfast. Great selection for breakfast that will suit everyone's needs and wants. Stunning place 10 out of 10. Thanks Harry and Carol, from John and Michelle, Donegal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shellymcmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, Owner at Creevagh Heights, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
We are so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay in Creevagh Heights and the beautiful area with so many interesting attractions not to mention unspoiled beauty. Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback which we greatly value. Best wishes with the special upcoming event. Carol and Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

What can I say! If I could give it 6 stars I would. This B&B surpasses 5* hotel on every level.
Carol and Harry were the most welcoming and convivial hosts, and the home-cooked meals: they deserve a michelin star.

i cannot wax lyrical enough about this place, from the outstanding location with views that
photography doesn,t do justice to, to the exceptional food, to the warmth of the welcome (and the
most ipressive fire lighting skills in irelad) this place has it all. it will live in my memory for ever.
i couldnt' recommend it highly enough: it's simply the bees knees.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent I stayed in the green room great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommsy1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, Owner at Creevagh Heights, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Oh my - thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay in Creevagh Heights. We are so happy with your enthusiastic comments and are glad that we contributed in a positive way to your holiday in Ireland. When our guests are happy - we are happy! I hope we will see you again in the west of Ireland. Again thank you for taking time to share your experience with us and with potential guests. Kind regards, Carol and Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Creevagh Heights just before Easter 2014, a great house with beautiful views in a stunning, remote part of Ireland. Hosts Carol and Harry were very helpful with their local knowledge and could not have been kinder in their hospitality. The food they served us was fantastic, especially the lovely four course dinner! They were the right balance of always being willing to help, without being intrusive and always giving us our own space. Thanks to them, we discovered many places we didn't know of. Would highly recommend staying here for a little piece of heaven!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, Owner at Creevagh Heights, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review here and also on Air BnB. We so enjoyed meeting you both and are delighted you enjoyed your three nights in Creevagh Heights and in discovering the hidden treasures in this beautiful part of Ireland. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. With best wishes, Carol & Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stopped at Creevagh Heights for just one night on our journey and I wish we could have stayed longer. First of all, the location of this place is out of this world breath-taking! Carol and her husband were the most lovely hosts we could have asked for. They chatted with us but also gave us privacy. Their advice was perfect and helpful. The breakfast Carol made us was delicious! The room was spotless and beautiful! We cannot wait to come back some day!

Room Tip: The Green Room has the best view and the most space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, Owner at Creevagh Heights, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you indeed for providing feedback for our benefit and for potential guests. We are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us. It was our pleasure to meet you both and to be included in your first trip to Ireland. Thank you also for your personal email. We wish you both well and hope to see you again one day in Ireland. Kind regards, Carol & Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Maine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed for four nights in March ,of a 13 day trip.We so wished we had stayed right there.The views were breathtaking!I had the most amazing walks.Left towards Lacken Strand,or right towards Downpatrick Head.It was just heaven.There was not just beauty everywhere you looked,you feel something.Lacken is a special place.Carol and Harry were wonderful!Such warm and gracious hosts.We so enjoyed hearing about the history of the area.They were both so pleasant and informative. Carol makes the best"fresh" scones.We had a turf fire in the lovely sitting room,with sweeping views of the ocean,every night.Breakfast was over the top! My husband had the salmon omlette.No skimping on the salmon.It was all so tastefully prepared and presented.Forget the castles!You will not get a more royal treatment anywhere.The room was beautiful and spacious,superb.The bed was most comfortable.
It was just the best!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, Owner at Creevagh Heights, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
We feel humbled and honoured by your wonderful review of Creevagh Heights. It gives us a great feeling of satisfaction and pride that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that the effort we put in to ensure our guests have a positive experience has delivered the desired result. Thank you for including us in your trip to Ireland and thank you for your feedback which is very much appreciated. We hope you will return to Ireland and to Creevagh Heights in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Carol & Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Trust me if you want a relaxing break in a lovely house with lovely people go to this bed and breakfast. I was in the area for one night and was welcomed warmly by Carol and Harry. The rooms (and beds) are so comfortable, the views are spectacular (albeit a stormy day on the west coast of Ireland) and the breakfast was the best I have ever....It is 15/20 minutes away from nearest town so no noise at night. Seriously I cant wait to go back, hopefully in the summer where I can explore further this little piece of beautiful Ireland. The hosts go well beyond the call of duty here and you can see they are passionate about their business and promoting Mayo.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBallNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedandb99, Owner at Creevagh Heights, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
We really appreciate you taking time to review your stay at Creevagh Heights just one day after you were here. It was heart-warming to read your comments and to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. Our goal is that all our guests have a positive experience and feel that they are 'home from home'. and we are delighted your experience was so positive and that you plan on returning where a warm welcome awaits you. Best wishes, Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrowmore-Lacken
9.0 mi away
Diamond Coast Hotel
Diamond Coast Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enniscrone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
12.3 mi away
Belleek Castle
Belleek Castle
#3 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
17.0 mi away
Mount Falcon Estate
Mount Falcon Estate
#1 of 9 in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
8.7 mi away
Waterfront House
Waterfront House
#1 of 3 in Enniscrone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creevagh Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creevagh Heights

Property: Creevagh Heights
Address: Carrowmore-Lacken, Killala, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Killala > Carrowmore-Lacken
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Carrowmore-Lacken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 'little piece of heaven', this family run luxurious, warm and comfortable bed and breakfast enjoys spectacular views of Lacken & Killala Bay on the North Mayo Coast. Situated 30km from Ballina on the Killala-Ballycastle coast road, it is the Perfect setting for those looking for a real get-away. Secluded, breathtaking, unspoiled beach and magnificent countryside, and minutes from the beautiful Downpatrick Head and Ceide Fields.The only problem is...........you won't want to leave!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Creevagh Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing