We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff made up for room issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Moosic
GreenLeadersBronze level
Plains, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff made up for room issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The staff at this hotel is what makes it. We were greeted Friday night by an individual who actually enjoyed his job and made us feel very welcome. The overall appearance form the outside did not reflect the updates to the inside. The entire stay we were given nothing but the best from employees at all times. The room on the other hand had some flaws. The sliding door to the balcony's lock mechanism was broken and would not work. Instead of fixing it, it appeared someone from maintenance added a bar (much resembling a curtain rod, and not very sturdy) to hold the door closed. This was not the most safe design. When you put the bar down, in order to slide the door open, you physically had to grab both the handle and the opposing end of the door and slide it open. This did not effect us too much though since the balconies are not big enough to sit on anyway. Another major issue was the air conditioning unit in the room. When you turn the unit on the blower motor would actually spool up and make a horrible squeal all night long. Luckily the weather was cool so we really had no need for the air conditioner and just ended up turning it off. Overall the experience was pleasant, but had the weather been warmer, it could have been very uncomfortable and we would have requested a room change. Although they have updated the hotel, there are some items that definitely need to be updated as well to match the decor (i.e. ac units, doors, etc.) Don't change a thing with the staff, I haven't felt this welcomed at a place in a long time.

Room Tip: We had the larger king bed room and it was extremely nice having the chairs and couch with the expan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    67
    38
    23
    16
See reviews for
64
55
12
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms are what you would expect from a Courtyard and the bistro food was very good. The staff was exceptional! Close to ball park for minor league baseball and lots of food & shopping options. An hour and a half gets you to Philly area and NYC

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank A. J. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Check-in was pleasant and staff was helpful. Some of the fastest free in-room Wifi we have seen.

But, room charging sockets were worn out, AC/Heater was way too loud, even for a low-end unit, needs newer style toilets, tub was chipped. Breakfast staffing in this type of hotel, where you cannot even serve yourself coffee, was inadequate -- at peak time of the morning, 2 employees were overwhelmed. This type of Marriott, a Courtyard, (where you depend on servers) is a guest-hostile tactic by Marriott which doesn't appear to save much money in terms of food prep and staff, but creates significant irritation for people hoping to get back on the road during a long trip.

No extra blanket in closet package -- and like all of these style hotels, if you open the window for fresh air, the bed coverings are meager.

Spring Hill Suites has a better model for consumer-friendly serve-yourself meals.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agetech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I just want to start off by saying that the cleaning personnel appeared to be very overworked and the interaction between management and staff seemed very taxed. With that being said, I want to compliment the housekeepers who took care of our room while we were there. They were always cheerful, got us what we needed and were always smiling. Our room was impeccable. The rest of the staff was also very friendly and accommodating. I think the housekeeping upper management should take a look at how the housekeepers are being treated by their supervisors. I will not go into specifics, but I overheard a conversation that I was tempted to intervene in but chose not to do so. Unless they are recognized and appreciated, the great staff you have will not stay. I plan on staying there again in the near future. I enjoyed our stay and hope that this serious situation gets resolved before we do.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed there this past weekend for the Beer Fest. The staff was exceptional. Our housekeeper, Jesika, was adorable, efficient and did a great job always with a smile. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psawka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The Courtyard by Marriott on Montage Mountain in Moosic, PA is in an awesome location. Easy on-off access to Interstate 81. The shops at Montage Mountain (which are really great), many nearby, well known national chain resturants, and only minutes to Old Forge, PA - home of "The Best Pizza in the USA". The hotel is located next to the MLB farm league PNC Park, home of the baby Yankees. And of course, Montage Mountain Skiing. On a more boring note, there is an office park here, and I am sure many business travelers. So, having said all that, why only four stars? This place is quite dated. Nasty old cookie cutter furnishings - the 70s called and want their color scheme back! Smallish flat screen TVs. Bathroom fixtures woefully out of date. HVAC is LOUD! So you may still be wondering why four stars, then? Well, the bedding is fine. Nice pillows. Very quiet and clean room. Slept like a baby. Top notch staff - very professional, very courteous and welcoming. Location really is fabulous. Price was right. I'd stay here again in a second.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here for weekend basketball tourney. The front desk staff was outstanding! Maria took very good care of us. Large, clean room. Good water pressure in shower. Complimentary breakfast was average. The staff seemed to handle the large crowd well. I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moosic
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Scranton Wilkes-Barre
3.2 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre

Property: Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre
Address: 16 Glenmaura National Blvd, Moosic, PA 18507-2126
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Moosic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Moosic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for business or fun, the Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre provides you with exactly what you need to make all of your travels successful. Directly off Interstate 81 at Exit 182 our Scranton PA location at the base of Sno Mountain in northeastern Pennsylvania makes us one of the closest hotels to the Sno Mountain Ski Resort and SnoCove Water Park as well as Bank of America, Cigna and Prudential. Our hotel in Scranton PA offers 120 spacious guest rooms with plush bedding and cotton-rich linens designed for comfort and productivity with separate sitting areas, free high-speed Internet access and free in-room coffee. Start or end your day at The Bistro with our healthy menu featuring Starbucks coffee, then relax by the fireplace in our lobby or unwind in the indoor pool and whirlpool. The Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre also offers a 960-square feet meeting room, making it an ideal location for small meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Scranton Wilkes-Barre Hotel Moosic
Courtyard Moosic
Moosic Courtyard
Courtyard Hotel Moosic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing