We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The pictures do not lie”
Villa Belong Dua - Pool at dusk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Belong Dua - Pool at dusk
Villa Belong Dua - Pool and bale Villa Belong Dua - Bale across the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Villa Belong Dua - Pool at dusk
Villa Belong Dua - Pool and bale
Villa Belong Dua - Bale across the pool
Villa Belong Dua - Dining room table setting
Villa Belong Dua - Outdoor living area seating
Villa Belong Dua - Living area dining table
Villa Belong Dua - Master bedroom view to veranda
Villa Belong Dua - Master bedroom veranda
Villa Belong Dua - Master ensuite
Villa Belong Dua - Master bedroom
Villa Belong Dua - Media room
Villa Belong Dua - View from garden bale
Villa Belong Dua - Pool
Villa Belong Dua - Traditional life
Villa Belong Dua - Aerial - Proximity to the sea
Villa Belong Dua - Hindu religious offering
Villa Belong Dua - Garden view of pool
Villa Belong Dua - Pool and gardens
Villa Belong Dua - Pool chairs and bale
Villa Belong Dua - Pool lights
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pererenan, Canggu, North Kuta, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MrOyvind
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“The pictures do not lie”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

I admit to a degree of trepidation in leaving the known Seminyak for the unknown Seseh, especially as the cab ride ticked up to almost 30 minutes.

What if it wasn't what I was hoping for?

No need to worry. The second you walk in to the villa you will be amazed. The pictures online look great, but I have to say it looks better in real life and changes throughout the day. I especially liked it from about 3pm when the light became dappled through the tall palms but really, all times of the day had gems somewhere, be it the huge main pavilion or the open shower rooms. It would be a hard judge to not be mightily impressed.

The actual buildings themselves are absolutely beautiful and the decor and dressing from art to artefact is done with great and restrained skill. The way pieces are placed steer you subtly to the stairs rather than the garden and guide your eye to interesting items or views. It's really very clever and effective. The two sleeping pavilions are absolute luxury with very generous spaces allocated for sleeping, dressing and bathing. The air con, should you want it, is excellent.

The villa itself is practically impossible to fault, although travellers should be warned that there is nothing in Seseh aside from three small local shopkeepers who can sell you the absolute basics. You can't eat or drink out that we were aware of. That said, when we needed more Wayan was more than happy to have me dink with him on his motorbike. A lovely experience through the fragrant rice paddies. We also walked easily down the beach (at low tide only) to Echo Beach which was a great place for an afternoon refreshment.

What can be faulted is the service. I have seen mixed reviews from other travellers here and I tend to agree with those that find the service odd. If you are used to the more friendly, smiling, welcoming, proactive, nothing is too much trouble service you get in a lot of Bali villas you may well be disappointed. Some individual staff display this but overall it isn't the tone. We had to ask for most things most of the time and it was us who proactively managed meal times and other services. That isn't to say it wasn't done, it all was and at the first time of asking, but on a hot day if the guests are by the pool and it's 3pm, wouldn't it occur to you to offer them a cool drink?

Perhaps more upsetting for some guests might be the small but obvious spats between staff that we witnessed. This didn't bother us that much, but it does create something of an uncomfortable atmosphere at times. I would not ordinarily mention this but as I have seen other reviews reference this it tells me it is an ongoing problem rather than a one-off that I otherwise would have left out.

My take on it is it's the manager who I understand to be the owners daughter. I'm not convinced her emphasis is on the guests. I often I felt we were being looked at rather than looked after, and watched rather than watched out for, and that her priority was an almost precious protection of the villa over our enjoyment. In my assessment, it was this that put the rest of the staff on edge.

Many positives have been written of Frans cooking and I have to agree with most of it, although you could tell when he was in the mood and when he wasn't. Reheating in the microwave what were delicious fresh pancakes first time around for desert the next night is simply not good enough. Nor is omitting the peanut sauce from the sates just because one night we didn't eat much of it. Really, you can put this under the general patchiness of the service that as a guest you have to manage yourself.

Regardless I have rated the villa as excellent as despite having allocated a lot of words to the faults: they weren't that bad and easily qualify as the now cliched 'first world problem'. I just think it's important to share with other travellers my experience which is not exactly what you normally get in Bali villas. But I think if you go in with open eyes you won't be disappointed. It isn't hard to take on the quasi-management of the villa yourself, you just may not feel you should have to or want to.

This is a fantastic villa that is ever so close to being true perfection and I genuinely hope they can iron out some of the management and service issues so it hits the heights the grounds, location and buildings deserve.

I am more than happy to be contacted for further information.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The actual buildings, fixtures and fittings. Everything was excellent.
Liked least: Villa management which was reactive and oddly cold by Balinese standards.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being there, it is all fantatsic
Liked least: Not being there
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Evelyn R
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolute Bliss!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Belong Dua was amazing. The property grounds are stunning as is the pool area. The day bed is an absolute highlight. We spent hours relaxing on that and it comfortably fit 4 adults and an active 9 month baby. We loved the property so much that we literally didn't leave except to stock up on drinks at the local shop.

The food prepared by Frans was delicious and I highly recommend the seafood banquet and local Indonesian dishes.

There is one area where I believe there could be improvement. The manager needs to be more pro active in the small things. An example is that we had to request mosquito coils to be set up every single night. I would expect things like this to be done without the guest asking for an elite property like this.

I didn't find the roosters and dogs to be too annoying but in saying that we were put in the villa furthest away as we had a baby with us.

I highly recommend this property, we would all love to come back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The day bed and pool
Liked least: Mosquitos
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pensivege...
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, spacious villa”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Great for families with kids as villa has two bedrooms, garden space and private pool (with shallow end). One of the bedrooms was right next to the neighbouring property and we were woken all night the first night by barking dogs and crowing roosters (yes roosters crowing in middle of night!). We also felt a bit insecure with our young kids sleeping across the garden away from us so parents may want to bring a baby monitor. We all squeezed in the other bedroom (further away from the neighbour's wall) and slept soundly for the rest of the trip and the noise wasn't a problem anymore.

Kids had fun swimming all the time, playing board games in the spacious interiors of the pavilions when it rained , walking round the garden at night with their torch lights looking for frogs and colourful snails! We parents enjoyed very affordable priced massages in the villa, and time to just chill and relax simply because the kids could entertain themselves.

We had lots of meals cooked by the in villa chef and they were all excellent and very reasonably priced. Our seafood barbecue at the villa was better than a meal at Jimbaran!

The villa is far from most of other places of interest or shops and restaurants (at least 30min drive) but this wasn't a problem for us as we did want a place to stay that was away from it all. Seseh is a truly quiet and peaceful village and staying there helped us to know the real soul and heart of bali.

Cleaniless was kept but I do have to say more could be done for the comfort of the guests, example maintaining the rooms/furnishings/bathrooms better with more thorough cleaning, providing better toiletries, bedroom slippers etc as you can start seeing the age in the property. But others would say it s just the place being so rustic.

The staff are kind and attentive and it was nice getting to know them thru chatting with them. They were also very mindful and caring towards the kids.

Overall it was a great stay. Thank you all at villa belon dua!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pooksta10...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful Bali retreat”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Villa Belong Dua is a rare thing - a truly peaceful retreat away from the hustle and bustle of tourist Bali.

We enjoyed a fortnight of reading, swimming and excellent food interspersed with the occasional trip out. The villa team, lead by Sainna the House Manager, kept the property in an immaculate state in an unobtrusive and friendly way.

If you are an urban-sensitive then you'd be advised to pack ear-plugs to dim the dawn chorus of roosters and village dogs. It was a small price to pay for a visit that was totally relaxing.

Should you need an endless stream of entertainment, bars and beach parties then this villa is not for you. If you relish luxurious surroundings which are in touch with a quiet Bali village going about its everyday business, then this is for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJ M
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Better options at this price point.”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A mixed bag this one. We are regular visitors to Bali and are familiar with what one might expect from villas in this price range. Out review reflects this.

The promotional pictures of this place do not lie, it's stunning. Sleeping pavilions are private, spacious and well appointed. Dining and daybed areas encourage relaxation and contentment. The pool is sensational and the gardens, although not the prettiest, complete this nirvana inside a compound. The little things do matter and his place has them in spades, almost authentic.

Wi-Fi is OK and there is a great media room that is separated from the rest of the place. If I knew about this beforehand, we would have extended our stay by a few days and still kept up with the office. No pool fence but we had one installed as we had a toddler with us. Should not have bothered, fence was a dud.

Franz the chef is tip-top. Takes some encouragement to get him to stray off-menu but well worth it. BBQ fish and his roast duck were worth the trip alone. House staff were happy and helpful. Should have been a good little team but there was/is a problem with the on-site manager who happened to be the owners daughter. It was obvious to us the this team just did not communicate or get on. Lots of confusion and instructions not followed. We got sick of asking for little things to be done that should have happened like clock-work (eg breakfast time, setting mosquito coils, cleaning up after the birds and rodents had made a mess, laundry, etc). Bad energy affected our vibe...... No real sense of co-ordination or thinking ahead. She will get there with time but during our stay we got the work experience kid. Hope your week is better.

Don't buy your drinks through these guys, go up the street to the local shop.

Seseh beach is still a quiet little village with a couple of shops but that's about it. If you don't want rancho-relaxo, try elsewhere up the coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Layout of the beautiful compound. Excellent deign
Liked least: On-premises manager
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing