We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, Ltd.
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MacNeil's Motel(North Sydney)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Dart Lodge(Baddeck)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MacNeil House(Baddeck)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kow's Inn(Little Bras d'Or)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clansman Motel(North Sydney)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
69
27
9
2
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
27
9
2
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageslocal ingredientsnova scotiascreened in porcha lovely place to staystayed here for three nightshalibutblueberry pancakestwo nightscomfortable roomhummingbirdschanterellesfragrancelotionfogsceneryhost
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I am conflicted to whether to rate this as average or very good. It would likely be in between if that option were offered. Lovely and peaceful setting but I left somewhat disappointed. We stayed in the main Inn and our room seemed a bit cramped and dark for the money. Although it looked out over gorgeous countryside the only window was relatively small and high up so you had to stand in front of it to see the spectacular view. In such a great setting a room with a view would have made a difference, The common areas downstairs were very nice and we had a lovely dinner on the screened in porch where there was a good sense of community among guests and hummingbird darting between feeders. As others have commented the menu is limited but we were each happy to choose from the three mains offered and enjoyed our meal. Breakfast (included in our room rate) on the same porch was somewhat disappointing notwithstanding the glorious morning. When we came down at 8:30 we were told that the hot food had been taken back into the kitchen to keep warm - that was quite understandable. Regrettably when it came back out the "quiche" was lukewarm at best and one hot item is not what I would consider to be a hot buffet. I am not looking for a lavish spread but this was underwhelming. Cold buffet included granola, local plums, fruit cut up on a plate, yogurt, preserves, bread to toast and apple butter in a container that was disappointingly almost empty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVLTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for taking time to review the Inn. We always appreciate feedback. In answer to your comments:
Windows high. Yes, 'tis true. The inn was built maximally to reduce its environmental footprint: the entire structure and setting were subordinated to the requirements of the solar panels covering the back roof. The roof design determined the window height. The greatest view is from the verandah, which affords a 180 degree view of the North River Valley and where guests like to sit and where we serve both dinner and breakfast.

I am not totally clear what your expectations were about a "hot breakfast" . Small inns and B&Bs do not have the staffing to do "short order" cooking when it has 15+ guests for breakfast. I apologize for the quiche being only lukewarm. Keeping eggs of any sort hot for over an hour is challenging. As to the apple butter container being empty: It would have been such a simple matter to have let me know (as I made several jars of it last fall from the wild apples). I would have been pleased to know that you enjoyed it.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Pretty views and quiet location. Rooms were clean and pleasant. Having explored the rest of the Cabot Trail, we would have been better to stay further north up near the national park. Our biggest disappointment was the food. Their chef who had been highly rated was not there as far as we could tell and most of us found the food to be very average to poor. The breakfasts were also mediocre. We had quiches one morning...a nice idea but all of them were way over-salted. One of the propreirers, Keith was pleasnt one minute and officious the next. He didn't make us feel comfortable. Overall we enjoyed ourselves because we were holidaying with a large group but wouldn't stay there again. We also agree with another visitor about the "sampler package"... better to decide what you want once you a drive as it's a lot of driving if you have limited time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeBretonFresh, Owner at Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for taking time to review the Inn. Your review contained a couple of "firsts" for us over 14 years of being in business: 1) the food was poor to mediocre and 2) the breakfasts were unsatisfactory. I am puzzled in that most of your group joined us for dinner for three nights. (Yes, our chef was here: is the implication that I misrepresented our staffing?) Too, we never knew whether to expect your group for dinner on any of the evenings. When the food is created in-house rather than obtained from a restaurant supply truck, food service for a large group becomes difficult. As to what does and does not qualify as a "hot" breakfast, I do not know. Small inns and B&Bs do not have the staff to do "short order" cooking when they have 15+ guests.

As to one of my staff being "officious": yes, he has to be when guests bring their own liquor down from their rooms into the commons area. Neither our liquor license nor our insurance allow this. We could, in fact, lose our insurance and/or our license if we allowed this practice. He also has to monitor behaviours that indicate excesssive drinking for the same reasons. It is unfortunate that you felt uncomfortable because of it.

Sampler package: Typically, I sit down with guests on the first morning after their arrival with the vouchers, a map and a weather report, the purpose of which is to plan the activities to minimize the driving and maximize the experiences. Your group chose not to take advantage of the information I was prepared to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Chanterelle is pleasantly located on a hilltop overlooking St. Anne's Bay on the Cabot Trail. It is named for the mushrooms that grow wild on the property. The food is excellent. Earlene Busch, the proprietor, uses fresh ingredients, mostly local, and all sustainable to concoct original and innovative dishes for both dinner and breakfast. Of course, chanterelles are often featured. We had a chanterelle flavoured strata for breakfast one morning that was absolutely superb.

The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast veranda very pleasant. Hummingbirds and Blue Jays flitted around the veranda while we enjoyed our meals. Check out the main staircase. It is Earlene's design and was built in a unique way with small,curved wooden pieces fitted into the treads at the base.

Baddeck is a short drive away so this makes an excellent location to visit Baddeck from and to start of finish a trip around the Cabot Trail.

One caution, there is no air conditioning. Temperatures in Cape Breton don't usually require air conditioning and rooms have fans but we were a bit uncomfortable one night due to high humidity. Cell phone service is also very poor but we considered this a benefit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebusch, Owner at Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for your review and for the positive energies you brought to the inn. I am glad you were here in "chanterelle season" and that you enjoyed them. It is unfortunate that you were here on such a warm night---it was one of only three this summer as the nights since have been exceptionally cool. We hope on day you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We - a family of four with 2 young children - enjoyed our 1-night-stay a lot. We can recommend the inn for its wonderful setting, its peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, and the excellent food they serve (both for dinner and breakfast).

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank RaffaelZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebusch, Owner at Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review. You have such lovely and sophisticated children! We are pleased to know you enjoyed your visit and hope you return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We just stayed for a few days in one of the cabins at the Chanterelle Inn and we absolutely loved it. The cabins themselves are unassuming, but spotlessly clean and well-equipped and the view across the forests down onto the river and onto the mountain ranges beyond is absolutely breathtaking. The cottages are surrounded by fragrant meadows, and the smell of flowers and herbs came wafting into the windows all night. The property is set far enough back from the street below and any traffic noise there is not a nuisance. The location is ideal for day trips up the island, i.e. a boat tour to the Bird Islands or a day-long drive all around the Cabot Trail with a stop for a whale watching tour in Pleasant Bay at the northwest corner. (We did the Cap Breton sampler package, which included all entrance fees and tours – more offers than we could actually take advantage of.) Earlene Busch is a very intelligent and caring host, and the way she runs her business is with the greatest concern for the environment. We ate at her restaurant in the evenings and the food was of absolutely stellar quality. Her young Montreal-trained chef surprised us with each and every dish, and the exquisite menu includes vegetarian choices and lists all the local and mostly organic sources the kitchen draws from. (We live in Chicago and are used to star-studded restaurants but she sure rivals those.) What topped off her and her manager Keith’s kindness: we had to leave a day earlier than expected and not only did they take one of the dinners off our bill but also gave us a gift certificate in case we can come back – even though it was of no fault of theirs that we had to cut the trip short. One thing other visitors might not like: the cabins don’t have wireless. We didn’t mind it since you can sit all night on the beautiful screened-in porch or in the sitting room of the main building only a few steps away from the cabins and have wireless there (or end up watching the hummingbirds at the feeders instead). I was actually happy to be away from 24 h email access and got some reading done. It’s a bit far to get to any real grocery store so if you plan on using the kitchen to do your own cooking, you better buy what you need before you get there, but I would recommend that you don’t miss out on the culinary mastery of Earlene and her staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doro1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebusch, Owner at Chanterelle Country Inn & Cottages, Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Your warm and generous comments truly touched our hearts and that feeling will stay with us for a long time to come. You not only contributed to my love of innkeeping but inspired me to continue to strive to give our guests the happiest memories possible. Your positive energy was infectious! Thank you and thank you for taking time to write. I look forward to the possibility of your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews