We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel ok, but noisy, smoky and understaffed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morgantown
South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel ok, but noisy, smoky and understaffed.”
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Hotel is old, but they offer "Executive Level" rooms (for an additional charge) that have been renovated. We were glad to pay a little extra for a renovated room.
Judging by the large number of semi trucks at the hotel each night, the hotel apparently caters to trucking companies. Smoking is permitted in the bar which is in the open lobby area and is exposed to the open hallways of all 4 floors. When the bar was busy, the smoke was overwhelming and was aparently picked up by the hotel's central air conditioning system. Our non-smoking room on the "non-smoking" floor would occasionaly be permeated with the smell of smoke coming from the open lobby and bar area.
Also, our room was not cleaned after the first night and we had to request it each day thereafter. The front desk personnel said that they were not able to keep up with housekeeping since the hotel was full.

  • Liked — Large size rooms
  • Disliked — smoking permitted in bar area which is located in open lobby area and upstairs hallways
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BlessedTraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    62
    61
    12
    15
See reviews for
51
37
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taylors, SC
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights for a wedding. This is a great hotel overall - rooms were very clean, well decorated, fresh, and very roomy. The hotel also has free Wi-fi, which is a definite plus. The pool and jacuzzis are wonderful, but they close way too early (10p.m.) and are in the middle of the lobby (no privacy).

The major bad thing about this experience was that the cleaning staff just randomly used their keycards and waltzed right into our rooms without knocking. This happened to us twice! So make sure you lock your doors. The only other bad thing was the price - a little high.

  • Liked — Clean, giant rooms and great pool
  • Disliked — Staff walking into our room without knocking (twice)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank esd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2008

This hotel was very nice. We stayed for one night on Saturday, May 3 and were impressed. We were in a king room on the fourth floor. The bedding was comfortable, the room was clean, and the people at the desk were great to deal with. In the room (possibly because this considered as being an executive king) was a refrigerator and a coffee pot with coffee packet. All in all, the stay was great.

  • Liked — Very clean and well kept!
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cindyryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

I was pleasantly surprised with this property. The lobby was very clean and inviting. The pool was right in the lobby, which was a bit weird, but it wasn't bad. The rooms were great. We stayed on the 4th floor (Executive Level). Very spacious, incredibly clean. I was really happy with our stay. One complaint though ... they don't serve complimentary anything. No breakfast, no coffee ... NOTHING. That wasn't good. But Mc'Donalds is right in the parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nickylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2007

When I walked in I was really surprised to find the swimming pool inside the lobby, this I have never seen before! The whole area looked a bit old fashioned and out-dated. The girl at the reception wasn’t very forthcoming. We had a hotel coupon and there was a room available. However to have a refrigerator would cost 10 dollars extra and also for a microwave the same amount. I said that we would only take the fridge and we didn't want the a microwave. The fridge would be brought in the room.

The hotel room was good for a one-night stay, just the usual hotel room, nothing special. We left to do some shopping; there is supermarket a 10-15 minute drive away. When we returned we found the refrigerator and a very old microwave in the room. We agreed to pay for the fridge but we were not willing to pay another 10 dollars for the microwave. When I walked to the front desk, the same girl who checked me in said she didn’t know, but would take it off our account. To me it seemed, they just tried to let me pay the extra money, not very customer friendly. I asked to send an employee to remove the item out of the room because we didn’t want and didn’t need it. (Also just to make sure they won’t charge us for this after all.) After one hour, no one had come yet, I had to call the front desk again and than it was removed finally .

The next morning with checkout there were other employees and they were very friendly, gave me good directions and maps, so they made it good for the unpleasant approach the day before.

  • Liked — Could do for an overnight stay
  • Disliked — Expensive extra facilities
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BA-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at this hotel. The hotel staff was very nice and the rooms are large. Our kids loved the pool, and the hot tubs were in good working order, though my wife complained that the pool was too cold. The hotel is fairly convenient to many local attractions, including the Reading outlets, the Amish country, the Shady Maple buffet and there is a new shopping center with a huge Walmart and a Sonic restaurant. My only complaint was that the room was not as clean as it should have been. There was trash on the floor in several places from a previous occupant and the room needed a good vacuuming. Would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schmutaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2007

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding night, as well as several of our out of town guests after our wedding. We were all pleased with the hotel's service, the comfortable rooms and the overall value at the Holiday Inn.

It has recently had an overhaul renovation, so if you stayed here a few years ago and hated it, its time to give it a try again!

The rooms: surprisingly spacious, comfy beds, and clean bathrooms. As far as I can tell, half of the windows point inward, that means you won't see the sky, you'll see the lobby, but the lobby is nice and we didn't mind missing the scenic view of the parking lot :)

Service: the front desk staff is courteous and helpful. They arranged a wonderful rehearsal dinner for us - top notch taste and huge portions! Toni, our event coordinator was a dream to deal with! She made the whole event planning process go swimmingly from coordinating bows for the candles to selecting each course of the meal.

Food: they have a resaurant on site that has good food at a great price, especially for a hot breakfast or lunch. Room service is also available. There is also a bar on site that was also great in the price department and open every night after 6.

Overall, It's a good hotel at a great price, we enjoyed it and reccomend it!

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanandErica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morgantown
4.5 mi away
The Waynebrook Inn
The Waynebrook Inn
#1 of 1 in Honey Brook
98 reviews
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
12.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Amish Country
Comfort Inn Amish Country
#1 of 3 in New Holland
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Pottstown
14.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
14.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West Chester Exton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike

Property: Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike
Address: 6170 Morgantown Rd, Route 10, Morgantown, PA 19543-9564
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Morgantown hotel is conveniently located and easy to find. The Gateway to Amish Country Only minutes from the Reading and Lancaster Outlets. Also the hotel is adjacent to the PA Turnpike exit 298, and only minutes from Interstate 176, 422, Route 23, Route 10, Route 896 and Route 322. Hosting a special event and need overnight rooms for your out of town guests? The Holiday Inn Morgantown hotel is the perfect place for your guests to relax in one of our over sized moderately appointed guest rooms. Berks County only full service Holiday Inn Hotel. We re also the place to be when it comes to area sports tournaments, including baseball and soccer. If it is sightseeing in Amish Counrty, Kitchen Kettle, Lancaster, Reading Outlets or watching a drag race at MapleGrove Raceway we are here to make sure your stay is perfect.We just don't do weddings, we cater dreams. Our professional wedding consultant will assist you with creating a day to remember with one of our special wedding packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Morgantown / Pa Turnpike Hotel Morgantown
Morgantown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing