We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dependable Holiday Inn but has a Pool in the Lobby!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morgantown
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Dependable Holiday Inn but has a Pool in the Lobby!”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This was an "okay" Holiday Inn, however, I really did not like that this one has a large swimming pool just beyond the check in area... and that night it was full of loud kids. Probably really good for families, but not for a single traveler. Elevator landings overlook the pool, so you don't "get away" from it, until you are in your room.
Rooms very comfortable and large, very comfortable bed, as always - Great WI-FI connectivity, so i could plan all my "Amish Country" sight-seeing, and the location was close enough to most of the places I wanted to see, and close to Valley Forge. Right off the Turnpike.
There was some night-time "noise" from the train passing fairly nearby (close enough to hear, at least). I booked the room on Priceline, but usually stay in Holiday Inns for business. This time, I wish I had paid more, and stayed in a B&B though...

Location seemed to be "Center of the City" and within easy walking distance to many restaurants,

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    64
    61
    12
    16
See reviews for
52
39
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

First I will say that we got a really good deal w/ an online travel site, so for what we paid we were not totally unhappy -- however if we would have paid the "regular" rate that this hotel charged I would have been unhappy. Our room was dark and by the window the wallpaper was coming down it looked to be stapled into place & there looked to be water damage around the window - the sheet-rock was crumbling off. The beds & bathroom looked fairly clean, so that was good. The lobby was strange! The pool is in the lobby -- not closed in (a short 4 ft wall around, but that was it) so it was hot in the lobby & one night there was a kids-baseball-travel-group & there was at least 20-25 kids & parents in the pool & it was very very LOUD! The clerk @ the desk was not helpful until we finally acted irritated with her behavior. We had never been to the area before & booked this hotel since we read it was within 25 minutes of the Lancaster area. When we got to the front desk, we asked if we could get some information about the area. She asked 'what kind of information?" we asked for something letting us know about all the things to do around the area, she said "all we have is a walmart, there isn't much here". I said "then, can you tell us where to get to the closest welcome center, we'd like to get more information on the Lancaster area". She said "well, eveyone really has disliked the welcome centers when I've sent them there" -- I was shocked!!!!! Finally -- she gave us a map & full information sheet about the WHOLE area from behind the counter!!! Really? Couldn't they have just given that to us up front?!?!?! The map/pamphlet were very helpful...and you can't tell me she didn't understand that it what we were looking for! Also, the price are a little high to eat there -- so we decided not to, so I can't say if the food was good or not. It was nice to have internet & free parking!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meamaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We traveled as part of a group which took 16 rooms in the hotel for a weekend. The rooms themselves were clean, quiet and odor-free, and seemed newly-decorated. The design of the hotel is bizarre - the indoor pool/sauna/jacuzzi is located directly in the main lobby, and there is a large bare atrium behind the elevator banks - but the facilities are clean and quite well-maintained. Even though the hotel was 100% booked with soccer teams in town for a large tournament, the staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. The location is good, right off the PA Turnpike, and there are plenty of places to eat and do basic shopping (WalMart, etc.) nearby. I would stay here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArlingtonVATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlantic city nj
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

The hotel is well maintained, clean, quiet & comfortable. Close to the Morgantown exit of the PA Turnpike. On the edge of PA Dutch area and near Adamstown which is well known for antiques. The hotel is "pet friendly" although there is an additional charge. I made the reservation through the Holiday Inn reservation phone number. I told the reservationist that although this trip was for pleasure, our show dog would be travelling with us. I also told her I was going to "rough her up a bit", and asked if they charge extra for children in the same room. They do not. "Then why do you charge extra for 4 legged "children"? She said she was at a central reservation an could not change individual hotel policy. I knew that was correct, but reminded her that my dog doesn't run in the halls, jump on the bed, pee in the pool, and you don't have to give her a free breakfast. She said she would pass the information along. I will not try to sneak my dog into a hotel/motel that is not pet freindly. I may not agree with their policy, but the owner or manager has a right to be wrong. I checked in stating 2 adults and 1 dog. I did not have to pay the extra charge. Sometimes it pays to speak your mind

  • Liked — convenient location
  • Disliked — extra charge for pets
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cranstonsnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Hotel is old, but they offer "Executive Level" rooms (for an additional charge) that have been renovated. We were glad to pay a little extra for a renovated room.
Judging by the large number of semi trucks at the hotel each night, the hotel apparently caters to trucking companies. Smoking is permitted in the bar which is in the open lobby area and is exposed to the open hallways of all 4 floors. When the bar was busy, the smoke was overwhelming and was aparently picked up by the hotel's central air conditioning system. Our non-smoking room on the "non-smoking" floor would occasionaly be permeated with the smell of smoke coming from the open lobby and bar area.
Also, our room was not cleaned after the first night and we had to request it each day thereafter. The front desk personnel said that they were not able to keep up with housekeeping since the hotel was full.

  • Liked — Large size rooms
  • Disliked — smoking permitted in bar area which is located in open lobby area and upstairs hallways
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BlessedTraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Morgantown hotels

Taylors, SC
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights for a wedding. This is a great hotel overall - rooms were very clean, well decorated, fresh, and very roomy. The hotel also has free Wi-fi, which is a definite plus. The pool and jacuzzis are wonderful, but they close way too early (10p.m.) and are in the middle of the lobby (no privacy).

The major bad thing about this experience was that the cleaning staff just randomly used their keycards and waltzed right into our rooms without knocking. This happened to us twice! So make sure you lock your doors. The only other bad thing was the price - a little high.

  • Liked — Clean, giant rooms and great pool
  • Disliked — Staff walking into our room without knocking (twice)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank esd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2008

This hotel was very nice. We stayed for one night on Saturday, May 3 and were impressed. We were in a king room on the fourth floor. The bedding was comfortable, the room was clean, and the people at the desk were great to deal with. In the room (possibly because this considered as being an executive king) was a refrigerator and a coffee pot with coffee packet. All in all, the stay was great.

  • Liked — Very clean and well kept!
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cindyryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morgantown
4.5 mi away
The Waynebrook Inn
The Waynebrook Inn
#1 of 1 in Honey Brook
99 reviews
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
14.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Amish Country
Comfort Inn Amish Country
#1 of 3 in New Holland
131 reviews
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wyomissing
13.5 mi away
Inn at Reading
Inn at Reading
#5 of 7 in Wyomissing
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike

Property: Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike
Address: 6170 Morgantown Rd, Route 10, Morgantown, PA 19543-9564
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Morgantown hotel is conveniently located and easy to find. The Gateway to Amish Country Only minutes from the Reading and Lancaster Outlets. Also the hotel is adjacent to the PA Turnpike exit 298, and only minutes from Interstate 176, 422, Route 23, Route 10, Route 896 and Route 322. Hosting a special event and need overnight rooms for your out of town guests? The Holiday Inn Morgantown hotel is the perfect place for your guests to relax in one of our over sized moderately appointed guest rooms. Berks County only full service Holiday Inn Hotel. We re also the place to be when it comes to area sports tournaments, including baseball and soccer. If it is sightseeing in Amish Counrty, Kitchen Kettle, Lancaster, Reading Outlets or watching a drag race at MapleGrove Raceway we are here to make sure your stay is perfect.We just don't do weddings, we cater dreams. Our professional wedding consultant will assist you with creating a day to remember with one of our special wedding packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Morgantown / Pa Turnpike Hotel Morgantown
Morgantown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing