We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Mt. Gretna Inn

Mt. Gretna Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Gretna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt. Gretna Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Mount Gretna B&B and Inns
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was a first time B&B experience for us and our friends (another married couple) who were looking for a cozy, weekend getaway. The Mt. Gretna Inn exceeded our expectations. We were there in the off season which was so nice because we had the place to ourselves. Harry was so accommodating and welcoming. The breakfast there is top notch! The breakfast is a whole experience within itself! The rooms were each unique and clean. We had such a wonderful weekend away with our friends enjoying wine by the fire. Looking forward to seeing Mt. Gretna again during the in season. I would definitely recommend staying at Mt. Gretna Inn!

Room Tip: Their website includes a description of each room that you can choose ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This inn is an ideal combination of old and new: historical architecture and decor, and modern mattresses and plumbing. The downstairs public rooms and porch are very pleasant and welcoming, and there is a pantry with refrigerator on the second floor near the bedrooms so it's possible to have refreshments without going up and down the stairs. Highly recommended for anyone with reason to be in the area. We were in town to see a play at the Gretna Theatre, and the Inn is very conveniently located for that purpose. And the breakfast was outstanding. My husband and I had a room with its own porch (Weeping Pines); my mother had a lovely room as well (Wild Cherry).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I love old houses and this one is AMAZING. Gorgeous Craftsman, and the owners have done an amazing job furnishing it with period pieces. I stayed in the Gables, which is the sweetest girly-girl room you could possibly imagine. Had to leave early, so "only" experienced a Continental breakfast, which was a lovely fruit bowl, homemade scone, and coffee. Had a chance to visit with Harry when I arrived late the night before; he was super friendly and I wished I'd had more time to get to know. Definitely worth an extra drive to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mttraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night stay to celebrate our anniversary and to attend the Kurt Elling concert at the Playhouse. What a wonderful place to land after a long, hot summer drive! Expansive porch with lots of fern and spacious seating area. Our room, the Chestnut, is the only room with a king bed. It was superbly comfortable. Each room is delightfully different with an eclectic decor throughout. DON'T MISS BREAKFAST! It will be one of the best dining experiences EVER! Harry, one of the proprietors, goes out of his way to make everyone feel welcome and special. He recommended a special restaurant in Lebanon for our anniversary dinner and we were glad we took his advice! While Mt. Gretna is small, it is beautiful with many lovely homes. A small lake in a park gave us a chance to get cooled off before our concert. This is a lovely getaway for anyone seeking a quiet, lovely rural retreat! We will try to come back soon! Thanks to our hosts at the Mt. Gretna Inn!

Room Tip: The Chestnut Room is the only one with a king bed. Reserve early if you need extra sleeping room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha14057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My husband and I had a good experience; however, our friends tried to book there too with their two children (8 and 11) while we were there and we're declined in August of 2009.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank googlesoozel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We stayed at the Mt. Gretna Inn for a dear friend's wedding weekend. I can't say enough good things about the warmth, hospitality and cooking skills of the owners. THe keep the place and environs very beautiful and we felt very welcomed and well taken care of. It was a treat to go down for breakfast each morning, and they keep complimentary snacks and water on hand as well.

It's relaxed and low key. The only down side was that there were a lot of objects and furniture in the rooms which made them feel a little less spacious, and it seemed as though there may have been a little more dust and must in the air than my sinuses were used to.

Loved relaxing on their huge wraparound porch.

That area of Pennsylvania is beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGoddess123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

If you are going to the central Pa area,Lancaster,Hershey,Lebanon or thereabouts, I highly recommend this place,Mt Gretna, a summer place largely but it could be great for other seasons as well, especially the fall. Close to many towns of interest,including the Penna. Dutch area, this is a location apart. It is a part of a community that has been around for a couple of hundred years and is still going strong. TheMt Gretna Inn is the only facility that one can rent by the night,the others being houses or cottages for longer stays. In summer, one can walk or bike everywhere,to the lake,the ice cream shop, the theater,restaurants,etc. It is designed for this. During the season there are many options for entertainment ; plays,music,etc. If you seek quiet, it is there.If you need more action, this is available too.

Now,for the inn itself. It has been brought into this century very beautifully by two partners who have made the choice of which room to stay in very difficult. Each has its own beauty and character and each is uncommonly large.Ours had its own very large porch with plenty of seating and a table and chair if we wanted to eat outside. Our room also had a gas fireplace which was cosy on the chill mornings. We left our door open to the porch to enjoy the wonderful bird song and breezes in the morning. For those who had no private porch,not to worry. A huge front porch wrapped around the property for all to sit and rock or glide.

Coming down to breakfast was a delight. The food was yummy and the service impeccible. Each meal started with fresh fruit aplenty,followed by coffee cake and juice.Then came the hot food : my favorite was the French Toast stuffed with what seemed to be ricotta cheese with a wonderful sauce and the biggest and juiciest sausage I have had. I would like to be eating there right now. Of course,one had plenty of coffee and tea.
Speaking of coffee, right outside our room was a wonderous contraption for our use : a machine which made several kinds of coffee and tea and chocolate in a couple of minutes any time.There was also a refrigerator always stocked with water and soda. We kept our picnic supplies in it as well.

I would highly recommend this inn without any reservation.
Coleridge

  • Liked — Its location and our wonderful room and the food
  • Disliked — would like a computer for the use of guests
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coleridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Gretna
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Manheim
Hampton Inn Manheim
#4 of 7 in Manheim
635 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Manheim - Lebanon
6.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Palmyra/Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
9.0 mi away
White Rose Motel
White Rose Motel
#2 of 25 in Hershey
567 reviews
1.7 mi away
PA Dutch Country RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Gretna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Gretna Inn

Property: Mt. Gretna Inn
Address: 16 Kauffman Ave, Kauffman and Pine Streets, Mount Gretna, PA 17064-6078
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Gretna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Gretna
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Mt. Gretna Hotel Mount Gretna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing