We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family friendly B&B in Lancaster, PA”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Joy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocky Acre Farm B&B
Ranked #2 of 10 Mount Joy B&B and Inns
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family friendly B&B in Lancaster, PA”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is a family friend B7B in Mount Joy, PA. The breakfasts are plentiful and the children have plenty to do. It is a working dairy farm so if you are there at the right time, you can see a calf being born, you can collect eggs from the chicken coop, play for hours with the cats/kittens, go on a pony ride, hay ride and train ride. There is a meadow with a fire pit to enjoy a campfire and kayaks by the stream. The owners, Mr & Mrs Benner are very friendly and welcoming in their home.
This is our 5th year at this bed and breakfast with our son who is now 9. We took our 2 year old granddaughter for the first time this year and she loved it! There is plenty to do in the Lancaster area if you want to take a break from the farm.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: The Fireplace room is spacious and has a jetted tub and of course a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieHerczeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    11
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We just had our first visit to the Rocky Acre Farm. Strongly recommend this B & B for families with children aged from four into the teenage years. Do not recommend for honeymooners, singles or couples during the non-school calendar year. The Rocky Acre Farm is different from most other B & B's as it encourages the visitor to enjoy the farm during the day and evening hours The owners also encourage visitors to return by asking, while at the farm, whether you are interested in reserving the same days for the following year. While there, many of the families present had been there repeatedly for up the 14 consecutive years. The rooms are well furnished. The breakfast was presented "family style" with an abundance for excellently prepared, variety of eggs, pancakes, waffles, sausages, breads, fresh fruits, fruit cobblers and other goodies. The children and adults have a wide variety of activities available for entertainment at the farm. If your kids like kittens they have LOTS of them. The owners and staff make you feel like "family." We look forward to a return in 2013.

Room Tip: All rooms were very nice. The room on the third floor required some tricky navigating to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven21740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We have been coming to Rocky Acre for the past 6 years with our 2 children. This is an incredible place for the entire family. If you like to relax , play with farm animals, go on hay rides, do farm choars and eat a great breakfast this is the place. They have many different rooms that meet requirements of almost any visitor. There are lots of local places within a 5 minute drive for lunch or dinner and they serve an incredible breakfast at the farm.
The rooms are also incredibly clean.

Room Tip: review thier website. They have wonderful rooms for couples and many rooms can accomidate large fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at the Rocky Acre in September during our kids' holiday break from school. We actually surpised the munchkins. Had all of their little suitcases packed and squeezed into our back trunk. After a long tiring morning, we asked them to relax and take a nap in the car as we decided to go for a ride. They finally woke up and found themselves in Lancaster at this great b and b! The Benners were hospitable from start to finish. We stayed at their Guesthouse which was an apartment which was just a couple of minutes car ride from the main farm and breakfast area. The apartment had a separate entrance and a swingset and trampoline which totally made our kids' stay memorable and enjoyable. The Benner family was so warm and energetic. Mr. Benner took the kids around on a cute "caterpillar" ride and hayrides. He allowed eager kids to join in and help out which was so much fun. They had a beautiful porch swing, electric golf cart (which are free to use to roam their beautiful property) and a farm that they clearly loved. They really tended to the animals, and made sure they were well fed and healthy. The kids all had a chance to collect eggs, and the breakfast was abundant and impressive. Great stay - one of our family's favorites! The kind hearts of the owners was the icing. ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smileymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We wanted to start a family tradition with our grand kids, a place we could go to every year to relax and spend time together, but still get to do the " park" things. We have found it at Rocky Acres. Our kids, 6yr old twins and a 10 yr old, loved being on a farm. They couldn't get enough of the kittens, loved feeding the newborn calves, gathering eggs, wading in the creek, etc. We had hayrides, a pony ride, and rides in a cute little home made tractor. There are plenty of bikes, balls and scooters for the kids, even a golf cart for the grown ups. The atmosphere is most welcoming and the breakfast....the breakfast is out of this world delicious. All homemade food, and plenty of it will start your day off right. You'll love this place as much as we do. ( yes, we are coming back )

Room Tip: We stayed in the Guest house. It's a 10 minute walk from the main house, but it's nice if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I really hesitate writing a review - I don't want anyone else to find this place, and keep me from getting a reservation the next time. A delightful family B&B - kids rule here. The rooms have multiple beds to fit parents and kids. There are pony rides, rides in an adorable "tractor", a nice long hay ride through the neighborhood farms, a swing set, playhouse, bikes, wagons and other riding toys, a petting farm with goats, sheep and a pony. There is a golf cart families can take out to tool around the farm. A hen house and lots of baskets for the kids to take to collect the eggs. If you get up early enough you can help feed the new born calves, stay up until 9pm and assist with the evening milking. Prime ages for kids to visit Rocky Acre fall between 2-10, any younger and they won't get anything out of it. Any older and they may be too cool. Older kids are given extra privileges and are made to feel important. The breakfast was INCREDIBLE. Mrs. Benner and her daughters (and granddaughter) put out a spread at 8:15am to feed an army. I think I counted at least 10 dishes every morning. Go - if you can get a reservation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

I'm not exaggerating. If you want to create fond family memories that will last a lifetime bring your family here. We came from New Mexico to go to Hershey Park and then go on to Washington D.C. the farm was beautiful and the people who run the B&B are very nice. The breakfasts were huge and great! There is a little river/stream a short walk down. You can float down it or use a kayake. My kids loved the little petting zoo and the baby goat. There are kittens/cats outside but they do not come in so there is no problem if you have allergies. The rooms are nice and clean. We even chased lightening bugs a couple of nights. We don't have any lightening bugs in NM. Best place we have ever stayed.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Joy
10.6 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
16.8 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 38 in Lancaster
1,848 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
277 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 7 in Manheim
60 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Acre Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Acre Farm B&B

Property: Rocky Acre Farm B&B
Address: 1020 Pinkerton Rd, Mount Joy, PA 17552-9242
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Joy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Joy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bring your family to experience the dairy farm. Milk the cows, feed the calves, gather eggs, pony ride, tractor rides and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rocky Acre Farm Hotel Mount Joy
Rocky Acre Farm B&B Mount Joy, Pennsylvania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing