We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Joy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocky Acre Farm B&B
Ranked #3 of 10 Mount Joy B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Amazing experience on a farm with wonderful hosts and lots to do. This is particularly great for kids - they love the animals - the tractor rides, the playroom, etc. It is such a great experience that we returned again - and my daughter would like to come back every year!!

Room Tip: This is a large house so you will hear people going up and down stairs - we stayed on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendys7a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    11
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
79
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I visited Rocky Acre Farm at the end of March with my daughter and two grandchildren, ages 6 and 8. R.A. Farm provides a rare opportunity for children to experience real farm life. For instance, my grandchildren got to give a bottle to a 1-day-old lamb, and to collect eggs from the chicken house for breakfast. This bed and breakfast was built in the 1760's with a 2nd addition in the 1800's, and a 3rd in the 1920's. There are 9 nicely-decorated guest rooms. Reserve early as R.A Farm is very popular and has many return guests.
The breakfast bell, rung by young guests, rings at 8:15 each morning and the guests all congregate in the large dining room. The sumptuous breakfast is served family style and in generous portions. My favorites were the fresh scrambled eggs and the crumble cake. After breakfast, the children won't want to miss out on the pony ride or the hayride. And when children are ready for a break from farm activites, they head to the new GAME ROOM. (Adults are also welcome :) Guests can play air hockey, ping pong, pool, skee ball, and shuffleboard.
On your first visit, be sure to ask questions and read over the guide in your guest room so that you don't miss out on any of the fun. Bring small suitcases that you can carry up a flight or two of stairs. No credit cards are accepted so bring your checkbook. And then get ready for a step back in time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jl049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philly, PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay here. Our first time here and absolutely loved it! The staff is wonderful and friendly. We did not meet the owners (they were on vacation) but hope to someday. The rooms are very clean and charming. The breakfast is out of this world! My kids ages 2 and 6 both did NOT want to leave! My 6 year old had a blast making new friends with the other guests' kids and they played together so well from morning till night! I personally appreciated the coffee area for guests, I thought that was a nice touch. I also love how the owners open up the rest of the house for the guests that you can just hang out in the family room or kitchen and get to know the other guests. There is also a game room with skee ball, air hockey, and other games. We fed goats, milked cows, rode a pony, collected eggs from the chickens, and even had a bonfire and made smores at night. Really perfect for families! We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelcoppens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hamburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This was an amazing experience for my whole family!! The accommodations were amazing and comfortable. The activities were more than expected and the breakfast? Well... I have never seen a breakfast like this before! It was large and delicious! Good enough for my teen to not miss it once! lol I would highly recommend this B&B. We are planning our return visit for sometime next year! (We are 9 hours away from this location) Thanks Rocky Acre Farm for the fantastic memories!

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment. The oldest part of the house built in 1776. We absolutely loved it! Havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senoia, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2012

My family loves this place. We are from the Atlanta area and took a Philly/Lancaster/Hershey vacation in June 2012. Rocky Acre was our hub for Lancaster/Hershey. There is so much to do on the farm. From breakfast, the "chores" of bottle feeding the calves, feeding the goats, collecting eggs, to the fun of riding the golf cart, playing in the creek or an impromptu basketball game. Never a dull minute, unless the swing caught your eye :).
The breakfast was fantastic. My 10 year old boy & 8 year old girl have very fond memories of this place! We'd love to find a way to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtogowiththefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Our first trip to Lancaster and we lucked upon this little gem. Our 7 yr old had such fun milking cows, feeding the calves and goats, taking a pony ride, etc. The owners were very gracious and welcoming. Breakfast was fantastic - farm raised eggs, peach cobbler, 3 types of pancakes, hashbrowns with southern gravy. YUM!!! Ask for hashbrowns and gravy - to die for. Rooms were well ekpt - we had the fireplace room and enjoyed the glow of a (gas) fire.

Can't go wrong with this place. Book early though or you will miss out!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is a family friend B7B in Mount Joy, PA. The breakfasts are plentiful and the children have plenty to do. It is a working dairy farm so if you are there at the right time, you can see a calf being born, you can collect eggs from the chicken coop, play for hours with the cats/kittens, go on a pony ride, hay ride and train ride. There is a meadow with a fire pit to enjoy a campfire and kayaks by the stream. The owners, Mr & Mrs Benner are very friendly and welcoming in their home.
This is our 5th year at this bed and breakfast with our son who is now 9. We took our 2 year old granddaughter for the first time this year and she loved it! There is plenty to do in the Lancaster area if you want to take a break from the farm.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: The Fireplace room is spacious and has a jetted tub and of course a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieHerczeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Joy
10.5 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
16.8 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,922 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Bird in Hand
471 reviews
12.8 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
1.8 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Acre Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Acre Farm B&B

Property: Rocky Acre Farm B&B
Address: 1020 Pinkerton Rd, Mount Joy, PA 17552-9242
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Joy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Joy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bring your family to experience the dairy farm. Milk the cows, feed the calves, gather eggs, pony ride, tractor rides and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rocky Acre Farm Hotel Mount Joy
Rocky Acre Farm B&B Mount Joy, Pennsylvania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing