We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Joy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Mount Joy B&B and Inns
Michigan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We recently enjoyed a two night stay on the "farm." We have two daughters ages 16 and 13 and they really enjoyed helping with the animals. My oldest even tried to milk a goat. Room was very comfortable for the four of us. Breakfast was very filling with a ton of food. The location was very handy for getting to the Hershey area and also Amish country.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitravelinfamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We were actually guests at the house a year ago and my 3 kids, who were ages 9, 9 and 6 at the time still talk about staying at the house and farm as one of their FAVORITE experiences of all time (and we travel quite a bit). They seriously rank it with our week spent at Disneyworld. Our 2 nights on the farm were part of an east coast trip for a family wedding in Baltimore. The kids got up at dawn to play with the kittens and honestly did not want to leave. Jenna prepared delicious breakfasts both days and gave us plenty of helpful information to get us off to Hershey Park (with information on where to buy discounted tickets at a nearby grocery store). They loved every moment and we loved watching them have so much fun.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed two nights there in April. The first night and morning we had to ourselves and Jim and Mim were so warm and welcoming. Breakfast was incredible. So much home cooked food. We were stuffed. Jim even said a prayer and some scripture verses before the meal. Very nice. My two teenaged daughters loved helping Jim feed the goats and sheep, collect eggs (finding a green one) and going on a hayride to the neighboring dairy farm. The girls had so much fun they didn't want to leave and go to Gettysburg for the day. The next night and morning the house was packed with guests. Still a wonderful breakfast. The rooms are quaint and comfortable. I was surprised they had wi-fi and tv. I was hoping to escape that being on the farm. We had so much fun just sitting on the porch and enjoying the animals, even the new kittens, we didn't even use the tv. Highly recommend the home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2homeschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I understand and celebrate that lots of people are religious. But I really see no justification for this place's prioprietors to insist that Jesus ought to be part of all their customers' breakfasts. The cold, rubbery pancakes weren't right for me or my family, either.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jtx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed two nights there in June. Room was clean, house was well kept, and breakfast was yummy! Tractor ride and animal feeding were a big hit with our son. Both the room and the bathroom have A/C, which was much needed in those warm summer nights. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scubamate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
178 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Our family of 5 had the priviledge of visiting the farm for a night. When we arrived, there was a note on the door stating the owner was busy but to make ourselves at home and settle in. We unloaded our bags to our room and headed out to the yard where we were greeted by kittens. Our 3 kids loved the kittens, including our teen boys! There is a swingset in the yard as well as a trampoline. There are rockers on the porch. About an hour after our arrival, Farmer Jim rode up on his scooter to greet us. Instantly, we felt like he was our grandpa. He is very welcoming and makes you feel at ease. The kids played outside with the kittens and other guests until late in the eve. Our family of 5 was very comfortable in our room with 2 double beds and a pull out bed. We had our own bathroom with a shower and there was a microwave in the room too. There was a window unit for air conditioning(a must in 100+degree heat) which also prohibited us from hearing any other guests during the night. Farmer Jims granddaugther, Jenna, was actually the one onsite for the night if we needed anything(which we did not). In the am, we had a huge breakfast with the other 3families staying at the farm. The food was great and there was a wide variety! We then were greeted by Farmer Jim who let everyone feed the goats. After that we went on a hayride. Farmer Jim stopped several times along the way to explain various things to us ie telling us about the acres of corn or the house from the 1700's. When we got to his brothers neighboring cow farm, he taught us all about the process of milking cows, etc. We were fortunate enough that there was a cow birthing at the time we rode through and we got to watch a baby calf being born. Amazing! When we returned from the hayride, Farmer Jim let everyone gather the eggs from the chicken coop. We felt like we were saying goodbye to Grandpa when we left. This was such a special family experience, esp. coming from visiting NYC!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank NC5Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This was our family's first bed and breakfast working farm stay and it was such a memorable one. Even though our stay was awhile ago, our memories are still vivid and pleasant as ever.
Jim and Mim are very hospitable. When I say "hospitable" I'm speaking of people who are genuine, warm-hearted and caring and treat their guests like family. My family can tell who is "sincere" and who is putting up a show. Jim and Mim are real. This couple is sweet as can be and keep their home so cozy, clean and inviting. Jim is very patient and kind to all of the children guests and takes his time to explain how to tend to the animals. He gives a nice narrated hayride to the kids and assigns fun farm chores to those who are willing. He speaks and teaches the children with such excitement and passion, you would think he was spending time with his own grandchildren after a long hiatus. Mim's breakfast was home-cooked and elaborate - even to the home made strawberry jam, which we will never forget. She cooked the very eggs our children help gathered the day before which was a nice and meaningful touch. Every dish was delicious and dainty, and bold with flavor. You would think she had 3 sous-chefs to assist her. She prepared this whole spread in a snap of a finger for a full house without a drop of sweat shed. Instead, she was all smiles. The kitchen was immaculate and charming.
We loved every minute of our stay here. We've tried to book them several times, but they are always full. We will try again for sure; it's definitely worth the effort and patience!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smileymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Joy
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
12.3 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
6.0 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 7 in Manheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.2 mi away
B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1175 Flory Rd, Mount Joy, PA 17552-9048
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Joy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Joy
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in the New York Times, this lovely farm and quiet setting captures the essence and heart of Lancaster County. You will enjoy a homemade family-style breakfast followed by a hayride with Farmer Jim. Relax on the porch or play in the spacious yard. Your family can also experience the farm life by feeding the sheep and goats, playing with the cats and kittens, or gathering the eggs from the henhouse. Our bed and breakfast is conveniently located between Hershey and Amish country! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Log House And Farm Hotel Mount Joy
Country Log House Farm Bed And Breakfast Mount Joy, Pennsylvania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing