We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Mount Joy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 May 2007

We just returned from a long weekend with Farmer Jim and Mrs. Farmer Jim (Mim). The farm was very clean and the rooms clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. Jim & Mim were extremely nice and friendly and made us feel very welcome. My son absolutely loved staying at "Farmer Jim's House" and has asked repeatedly to go back. Every morning the kids got to gather eggs in the henhouse and feed the goats and sheep. This was followed by a hayride to the neighboring dairy farm owned by Jim's nephews. Today, Farmer Jim took the kids on a special ride on his ATV and Lawn Mower. Our family had a wonderful time. This was a great experience for my son and we plan on going back soon.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Andrews_Mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2007

This was our second stay at the Country Log house and Farm. Our hosts made us feel as part of their family. After a well cooked breakfast, it was off to do our regular chores for the day (feeding the goats, sheep, & lambs). Afterwards we went on a Hayride into the countryside and visited another farm close by where we saw how milk was obtained, and even got to see a few newly born calves. Once back we went into the hen house to gather eggs for the next day's breakfast.
This location is ideal if you wanted to visit Hershey one day and Lancaster the next. We are planning our next visit in September.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank c2m60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2007

We spent a night at Country Log House and Farm in early April during a family vacation to NYC and Pennsylvania. We were in the heart of NYC, Philadelphia and Chocolate World in Hershey but the highlight by far, especially for our kids (11 and 7) was our stay with Jim and Mim. When we were there, there were 3 other families with children (aged 5-about 14) so it was a very kid-oriented experience. Several of the other families were repeat guests and there was a very friendly, open vibe - everyone enjoyed breakfast together (which as other reviewers have said is exceptional - Mim served a lot of traditional Pennsylvania Dutch dishes - baked oatmeal, etc.- as well as eggs, pancakes, ham roll, french toast, and a fruit plate) and then headed out for chores, which all the kids enjoyed tremendously. The hayride was chilly - it was snowing that morning! - but we all piled in and Jim took us to a nearby dairy farm and chicken co-op and drove us around, explaining what we were viewing. The B&B is part of a family farm that extended members of Jim's family are operating so it felt like a very authentic experience, unlike some other "farm B&Bs" I'd read about that are in suburban areas! The thing that made our stay exceptional though is Jim and Mim's warmth and friendliness. We will be back!

BTW, if you can, have dinner outside Mt. Joy, which we thought had little to recommend it. We went to a family diner, but people were turning around and staring at us (clearly could see we were out-of-towners) which was a bit uncomfortable and it was very smoky. The other dining options were limited, according to the other guests at CLHF.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank M&CMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2007

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank SummerBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank snaleor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2006

14  Thank goldstreak32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Ann Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1175 Flory Rd, Mount Joy, PA 17552-9048
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Joy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Joy
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in the New York Times, this lovely farm and quiet setting captures the essence and heart of Lancaster County. You will enjoy a homemade family-style breakfast followed by a hayride with Farmer Jim. Relax on the porch or play in the spacious yard. Your family can also experience the farm life by feeding the sheep and goats, playing with the cats and kittens, or gathering the eggs from the henhouse. Our bed and breakfast is conveniently located between Hershey and Amish country! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Country Log House Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Log House And Farm Hotel Mount Joy
Country Log House Farm Bed And Breakfast Mount Joy, Pennsylvania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing