We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mosby's Pub

Mosby's Pub
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Mount Joy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mosby's Pub, established in 1984, is a cozy and friendly bar and restaurant, popular for its sandwiches and salads, known for its steaks and seafood, and famous for its wings, having won Lancaster Newspapers Readers' Choice Award as "Favorite Place for Wings" for ten consecutive years. The full menu is available all open hours at the bar, in the Pub Room and dining rooms, on our screened-in deck, and for take-out. Weekend dinner specials are listed on our Facebook page. We hope to see you soon!
Elizabethtown, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Always enjoyed whatever dish I ordered at Mosby's! Most of the time service is good but sometimes it seems servers have too many tables and service suffers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    41
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
376 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Pub grubby”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

There is no option for giving a 2-1/2 star review, so moved it up to average as we didn't have the burgers or steaks which many of your reviewers say were very good. Once we parked our luggage at a local B&B, we headed into town for a light supper (nothing fancy, just a few appetizers or light fare). My itinerary included Mosby's Pub based on it's very good reviews. We were not impressed. Maybe this was an off-night, but first impressions are crucial to repeat business. The selection of appetizers was more of a fried-foods frenzy. My friend and I had 2 small average salads (how can you ruin a salad?), 12 wings (hot spicy oil on the bottom, waitress didn't ask us what type of wings & sauce) and a decent blue cheese french bread. We paid extra for blue cheese and celery. My daughter had a cream of potato soup which she thought came from a can (probably didn't, but...) and shared with us her over-fried cauliflower. The wings tasted like wings from many other good places, but we didn't know they had other flavors llike garlic. The problem is the waitress we had. Perhaps she was new, perhaps not. She didn't ask what type of wings we wanted, nor did she supply us with a sauce for the fried cauliflower although we asked numerous times. Service was very slow and we felt we were dealing with a dim-wit. Sorry, but poor waitstaff reflects badly on even the best restaurants. We asked for some garlic sauce for the wings and she gave us garlic chips. This went on for a bit until we slowly reiterated our request for a side of garlic wing SAUCE (which was good, by the way). The place itself could use the services of a Restaurant Impossible just in decor alone. Looked like a run-down VFW hall. Maybe the burgers and steaks are good (and we're willing to try one more time should we be in the Mt. Joy area again), but our fried appetizers and small fare were not pleasing to the palate. However, the french bread with blue cheese was yummy and my travel mates did love the pumpkin beer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toadsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek
2 reviews
“pub grub”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I don't usually eat pub grub, but those in our group that had burgers were happy. Not much of a selection in Mt. Joy

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manheim, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok choice- but needs something...”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Overall, I'd say it was a ok experience. The steaks were perfect. But something is amiss here. Maybe a interior lift, new table cloths, dinnerware, lighting, flooring. But the crab soup was pitched as spicy, it was not spicy, no Old Bay involved. Lame.
Our server seemed more interested in chatting with the locals & regulars that showed up than with servicing tables. I was served a dry salad & our drinks ran dry. The hallway between the dining room and bar has a slope to it right in front of the menu board & there are steps everywhere.
It is an ok place if your first & second choice are full but it will be some time before I return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George V, Owner at Mosby's Pub, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Glad your steaks were as expected. NO excuse for less than attentive service. Other than our Caesar & Greek salads, all salads are served dry with all dressing on the side. Not sure what was up with your Crab soup, that's usually spicy for most. As far as decor, that's totally subjective, a matter of personal taste, with many folks telling us they find our dining rooms "cozy." Perhaps you would have been more comfortable in our newer Pub Room. Sorry we didn't do better for you. We really do try to please every customer, every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walked in and back out.”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

My family moved to the area. We are trying to find new places. We walked in to a musty smell and outdated place. The room is dark, the tables had plastic covers on them. Then we opened the menus to almost faint at the dinner prices. We excused ourselves and left the table. Needs an update if you expect people other than local regulars to come in and pay those prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George V, Owner at Mosby's Pub, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Our full menu & prices are posted online at our website and other sites. Our building is over 100 years old, and our entryway sometimes shows its age on a hot, damp, humid day. Many of our customers, old & new, tell us that our menu items are a good value. Sorry you were disappointed without really giving us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mosby's Pub also viewed

Mount Joy, Lancaster County
Mount Joy, Lancaster County
 
Mount Joy, Lancaster County
Mount Joy, Lancaster County
 

Been to Mosby's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing