We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my best B & B experiences”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Olde Square Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Mount Joy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of my best B & B experiences”
Reviewed 21 March 2009

I was a bit hesitant to book a B & B because my husband likes all the amenities of a hotel. But let me say that we would stay here again! We felt welcomed from the moment we arrived. We enjoyed our stay in part to the organization of the owners. They had a binder in the "lobby" which had menus and maps of where to find just about everything. Our room was perfect (we stayed in the Ivy room), it was quiet, clean and had a beautiful gas fireplace. Off street parking was available.We also had a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. It is a short easy drive to and from many attractions. The owners recommendation of a nearby winery (Nissley Vineyard) was greatly appreciated. Next time, I'd take a picnic lunch there and buy a bottle of wine for a relaxing time.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    18
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
53
228
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Fl.
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Our stay was just the best...We enjoyed it so much we hope to return when the weather is warmer and we can take advantage of the pool and well tended garden. Our lovely hostess Fran was so friendly and was a wealth of information about the many sites not to be missed in the Amish countryside of Lancaster County that my husband and I wanted to explore. We also had a fun day at Hershey Park which is only about 20 minutes away. This also applied to the many choices of restaurants to be enjoyed in the clean and quaint town of Mt. Joy. And last , we especially enjoyed the wonderful breakfast that you would be hard pressed to beat anywhere else. The word "yummy" comes to mind! We are certainly looking forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cromwell333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing NJ
Level Contributor
186 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

We gave my in-laws an Olde Square Inn gift certificate for Christmas last year, and they finally had a chance to visit. They can be picky, and had never visited a Bed and Breakfast before.

They had a wonderful time, the Inn was immaculately clean. Their hosts were warm and friendly. Their room was very comfortable. They truly enjoyed their time at breakfast with the other guests.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2008

My husband and I have stayed at the Olde Square Inn on numerous occasions. We have stayed in at least 3 of the rooms as well as the Cottage. This place is the Gold standard by which we judge all lodging away from home. It is clean and beautifully decorated. The Inn keeper treats us like family!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank tomeeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2008

My husband and I have stayed at the Olde Square Inn on several visits to Lancaster County. The room has always been spotlessly clean, The decor is attractive, and the bed very comfortable. The best of all, though, is the breakfast. There is a large selection of food--baked oatmeal, egg casserole, cottage potatoes. We have always left the table very full. The hosts have been wonderfully accomodating and pleasant to talk to. It is a treat to come to this wonderful B&B.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank PennsylvaniaWiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mechanicsburg, pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Enchanted Cottage on 1/6/08. This was our third time staying there, and it was excellent as usual. We have stayed there in both the winter and summer and both times were just as nice. The place was clean and everything was laid out for us on our arrival.

We had actually re-scheduled this most recent trip from December. Our son had come down with the croop the morning of our romantic getaway. One phone call to Fran and our plans were re-scheduled. Nothing to worry about. They were excellent in helping us.

The breakfast delivered to the cottage was, once again, excellent. It's a tasty surprise every visit.

  • Liked — fireplace
  • Disliked — traffic was a little noisy in the morning, but it was a Monday, so traffic was weekday
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boneill81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2008

Our experience at the Olde Square Inn in Mount Joy was a great one. The first floor room that we had was beautifully furnished and decorated, and exceptionally clean, the furniture was classic, polished brightly. There was a settee in the room and chairs, upholstered and comfortable, spacious end tables, a bright room with lots of windows and Venetian blinds to shut out the sun if desired. A warm fire glowed from gas logs. Provided was of course TV and VHS with a lot of titles in the library to choose from. The living area was decorated beautifully also. The food is delicious and plentiful: waffles, oatmeal, fresh fruit, eggs and sausage, GOOD coffee, fruit juice and good conversation provided by the owner. A past president of the Mount Joy Chamber of Commerce and a booster of the area, she’ll help guide you to local and regional attractions – Longwood Gardens are not far away plus many other sites. Definitely a great place to stay, close to Harrisburg, Lancaster and York.
[--]

  • Liked — The friendliness and the comfort of the Inn and its owners.
  • Disliked — Nothing qualified to dislike.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Buelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Joy
10.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 7 in Manheim
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
305 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
10.2 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Square Inn

Property: The Olde Square Inn
Address: 127 E Main St, Mount Joy, PA 17552-1513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Joy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Joy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Olde Square Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olde Square Inn, our Lancaster County bed and breakfast, is a beautifully restored architectural gem of the Colonial Revival era. Setting our accommodations apart from other area B&Bs, we offer a hot, three-course breakfast, coffee and treats available 24 hours, an in-ground pool during the summer months, and handicap accessibility in the child-friendly Carriage House. The Inn is also a beautiful venue for hosting retreats, small weddings, and special celebrations. A pleasant departure from hotels, Olde Square Inn is conveniently located on the historic square of this quaint, but expanding, town. We are just minutes from Highway 283/30 that leads to Hershey, Lancaster, Spooky Nook Sports, York, and Gettysburg. Amtrak, slotted for a $27.5 million update, is located only two blocks away. Our lovely suites and rooms include private baths, mini refrigerators, TV, wireless internet, queen or king beds, air conditioning, and fireplaces or stoves. If you are planning a special occasion, anniversary, or birthday, be sure to check out the Carriage House as the ultimate in privacy and luxury for your Lancaster County getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Olde Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Square Inn Mount Joy, Pennsylvania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing