We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome breakfast - Good location to use as a touring hub.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Olde Square Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Mount Joy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome breakfast - Good location to use as a touring hub.”
Reviewed 3 August 2009

During last year's trip to Hershey park we found that the lodging prices had increased at hotels close to the park, so we decided to look around a bit for a more economical place to stay.  We found the Olde Square Inn bed and breakfast about 25 minutes from the park and decided to give it a try.

It turned out to be a perfect fit for us. The inn is located in Mount Joy, is small, but friendly.  We had a comfortable room overlooking the garden and pool area.  The Garden Room was immaculate and the adjoining bathroom had some of the original fixtures, but still had a small whirlpool tub.

The location in Lancaster County allowed us to explore more of the area. It's only a few minutes from a major highway that got us quickly up to Hershey and Harrisburg or down to the Lancaster outlets and Amish country.

Each morning we enjoyed the substantial breakfast the inn provides.  It was delicious and hearty enough that we were able to skip lunch. After a busy day out and about, we would come back to the inn and take a dip in the pool and then decide where we wanted to go for drinks and dinner.  We found we could walk to several different restaurants close by, have our dinner and come back and relax on the porch with the other guests.  All in all, it makes for a great little vacation, and the Olde Square Inn is a wonderful addition to our annual trip.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    18
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
54
233
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Olde Square Inn. The room was lovely, the original bathroom (except for the newer bathtube) was clean, and the bed comfy. The breakfast was outstanding and the owner sitting to chat was a nice change from the usual B&B owner running around, she made us feel relaxed. The inn keepers were very nice and had alot of knowledge of the area, unfortunately the inn is up for sale as they want to retire. The location is great as it is away from the bussle of Lancaster but close enough to drive. We visited Bube's Brewery where they always have something going on, on our week end there was a Victorian Murder Mystery, 70's disco night, an art show, as well as the catacombs for fine dining, and dinner in the brewery either in or outdoors.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank respbill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2009

On a recent trip to Hershey to see the new museum, we found it convenient to stay at The Olde Square Inn in Mount Joy, which is right in the heart of the Hershey Lancaster tourist area, without being caught in the high traffic areas. While we chose this bed & breakfast for its central location, we were pleasantly surprised to find that this is the BEST place we've ever stayed! The bed was so comfortable, the room was gorgeous, the breakfast was tremendous and the hosts as friendly as can be. If you're going to Hershey or Lancaster, don't feel like you have to stay right there. Mount Joy is a lovely town, and easily accessible via major routes or you can enjoy a short ride to tourist attractions. You will love it!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NumberOneFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

I was a bit hesitant to book a B & B because my husband likes all the amenities of a hotel. But let me say that we would stay here again! We felt welcomed from the moment we arrived. We enjoyed our stay in part to the organization of the owners. They had a binder in the "lobby" which had menus and maps of where to find just about everything. Our room was perfect (we stayed in the Ivy room), it was quiet, clean and had a beautiful gas fireplace. Off street parking was available.We also had a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. It is a short easy drive to and from many attractions. The owners recommendation of a nearby winery (Nissley Vineyard) was greatly appreciated. Next time, I'd take a picnic lunch there and buy a bottle of wine for a relaxing time.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Fl.
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Our stay was just the best...We enjoyed it so much we hope to return when the weather is warmer and we can take advantage of the pool and well tended garden. Our lovely hostess Fran was so friendly and was a wealth of information about the many sites not to be missed in the Amish countryside of Lancaster County that my husband and I wanted to explore. We also had a fun day at Hershey Park which is only about 20 minutes away. This also applied to the many choices of restaurants to be enjoyed in the clean and quaint town of Mt. Joy. And last , we especially enjoyed the wonderful breakfast that you would be hard pressed to beat anywhere else. The word "yummy" comes to mind! We are certainly looking forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cromwell333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing NJ
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

We gave my in-laws an Olde Square Inn gift certificate for Christmas last year, and they finally had a chance to visit. They can be picky, and had never visited a Bed and Breakfast before.

They had a wonderful time, the Inn was immaculately clean. Their hosts were warm and friendly. Their room was very comfortable. They truly enjoyed their time at breakfast with the other guests.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2008

My husband and I have stayed at the Olde Square Inn on numerous occasions. We have stayed in at least 3 of the rooms as well as the Cottage. This place is the Gold standard by which we judge all lodging away from home. It is clean and beautifully decorated. The Inn keeper treats us like family!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank tomeeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Joy
10.8 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
4.2 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 7 in Manheim
73 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
10.2 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Square Inn

Property: The Olde Square Inn
Address: 127 E Main St, Mount Joy, PA 17552-1513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Mount Joy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Joy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Olde Square Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olde Square Inn, our Lancaster County bed and breakfast, is a beautifully restored architectural gem of the Colonial Revival era. Setting our accommodations apart from other area B&Bs, we offer a hot, three-course breakfast, coffee and treats available 24 hours, an in-ground pool during the summer months, and handicap accessibility in the child-friendly Carriage House. The Inn is also a beautiful venue for hosting retreats, small weddings, and special celebrations. A pleasant departure from hotels, Olde Square Inn is conveniently located on the historic square of this quaint, but expanding, town. We are just minutes from Highway 283/30 that leads to Hershey, Lancaster, Spooky Nook Sports, York, and Gettysburg. Amtrak, slotted for a $27.5 million update, is located only two blocks away. Our lovely suites and rooms include private baths, mini refrigerators, TV, wireless internet, queen or king beds, air conditioning, and fireplaces or stoves. If you are planning a special occasion, anniversary, or birthday, be sure to check out the Carriage House as the ultimate in privacy and luxury for your Lancaster County getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Olde Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Square Inn Mount Joy, Pennsylvania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing