We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great less expensive alternative dining.”
Review of Betty's Diner - CLOSED

Betty's Diner
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great less expensive alternative dining.”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had burgers and fries which were good. The wait staff was friendly and accommodating. Can't beat $40 bucks for burgers and beers at a casino.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SmilinRon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food was average, prices outrageous, service lovely”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The food was average at best. I was expecting lower prices in PA than I pay at home in NY, but we paid more there for coffee and breakfast.
The servers, however, were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE FOOD”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Have eaten at this diner, located in Mount Airy casino, many times. The food has gone down hill since we first started eating here. After staying overnight for our anniversary, we decided to give Betty's another chance, The food was horrible and I gave betty's poor review during a survey. When I received a response from the manager asking the problems, I explained the lack of consistency (eggs not cooked as ordered, potatoes not fully cooked, bacon cold and all stuck together, etc.) and was told this would taken care of. Deciding to go to Mount Airy again, we are locals, we gave Betty's another chance. Nothing has changed. Will not go to Betty's again and we will be staying overnight this month. As I said, we are locals so we have our favorite places.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyCityTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Diner at the Casino”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Unfortunately I have to say that this place is inconsistent with regards to the quality of the foods served here. The service can be very slow depending on the amount of people waiting online to get in.

It is best to stay with the basics here, burger and fry s or Caesar salad, hot turkey platter or a Pastrami or corned beef Rubin is usually the best choice.

Beware of the specials as they are not usually good with the exception of a Turkey platter or meat loaf. Stay away from the greasy fish and chips and the processed chicken tenders that are from frozen packages and sometimes cold inside when fried. You will have to ask for dressing on the side as they usually forget to place it on your salad.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ittedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The only reason this Diner get's 1 star is for the service. The waitresses were helpful and informative. The food however?... very very disappointing. The fries were soggy and cold, the breakfast platters were sad looking and had no flavor.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Betty's Diner also viewed

Mount Pocono, Pocono Mountains Region
Mount Pocono, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Mount Pocono, Pocono Mountains Region
Mount Pocono, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing