We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not thrilled”
Review of Betty's Diner - CLOSED

Betty's Diner
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not thrilled”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I ate here twice while staying at Mt Airy Lodge. The dinner was ok, having a hamburger and open face turkey sandwich. Breakfast was very bland, with the french toast being very plain and tasteless.
In addition, I think that looking at trays of dirty dishes with the piles of food scraped from them is very unappetizing.

They need to learn to keep the dirty dishes in the kitchen not in full view of the diners.

Also prices were pretty high, for mediocre food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chicagokris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Value and Food”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

They seem to cater to a "getting old" but not "old old" clientele. The pastries are rich but not too gooey and they don't over salt the food. All a plus. My wife was satisfied with the eggs with hard yolk, and my English Muffin was warm and crispy. Cannot ask for more if what you want is a simple breakfast and not go broke. Good prices are always welcome at Casinos. The servers are sweet and attentive. Not a trace of a bad attitude. We sat right in front of a hilarious 3 Stooges display. The plaque below read:

"Never go to Bed Angry. Stay up and Plot Your Revenge."

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmoore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Always a great Breakfast”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Betty's is a great place for breakfast and/or lunch. Fast, friendly service, and food is very good. Omelette's are fluffy and big, potatoes are good and milkshakes are to die for! Had hamburger at lunch and it was also very good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank WaterfallsLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mays landing, nj
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We arrived at the Mt. Airy Casino Hotel famished after a lengthy ride. The only hitch was that our 13 year old granddaughter was with us so we were immediately stopped at the top of the escalator. Security called more security to escort us to the diner. She felt like a rock star. The security guard was personable and we talked on the way passing other families being escorted. We were seated and immediately a large yellow sign in a holder was set on the table announcing to the world that a minor was at this table. Really? This is overkill. The granddaughter have a large creamy, delicious grilled cheese with crispy fries and a pickle. She also enjoyed a milk shake. My picky husband enjoyed a burger. I had the chicken salad sandwich which was fair, no chunks of chicken here, but the sweet potato fries were excellent.
We paid our bill as alas, had to wait for the manager to call security again to escort us back to the escalator.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scranton, pa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great meals”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We ordered room service and dined in the restaurant. Both experiences were very good. Service was prompt and the food was really good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 7kennys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Betty's Diner also viewed

Mount Pocono, Pocono Mountains Region
Mount Pocono, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Mount Pocono, Pocono Mountains Region
Mount Pocono, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing