We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service, good price”
Review of Mountainhome Diner

Mountainhome Diner
Cuisines: American, Diner, Italian, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good price”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Had breakfast here twice during a vacation down the road in Canadensis. Yummy blueberry pancakes -- real berries, not the goopy canned stuff. Decent coffee. Big pile of crispy bacon. Two good waitresses, cheerful. And there's Jimmy's Ice Cream right next door...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    27
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good diner experience”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We decided to ride down the road from our lodging and came across this diner. We were warmly greeted and quickly seated. The menu was extensive and we both found something we wanted. I got the Cowboy steak. I ordered it medium rare but it came more medium. Still, it was good. My wife had chicken and shrimp over linguine. The waitress was attentive and pleasant. Even had a nice talk with the cashier on the way out. We left full and satisfied. Will return when back in this area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djc575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Family friendly atmosphere, fantastic food, friendly staff. Absolutely, hands down one of the best "on the road" meals we have had. We went on July 24th for my husbands birthday. It was the only meal we had out on this vacation, the rest being cooked over the fire at our campsite. If we were going to eat one meal out, we picked the right place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, MD
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Food Good Value”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Visited three times during our area stay. Initial stop was for carry out coffee. Service prompt, coffee okay. Notice that the place was crowded. We went back for dinner and were not disappointed. We all had different entrees and all were good and plentiful. Only disappointment was they management did not have home made cheescake and some other deserts were home made. Some of us when back for breakfast. Service again prompt and pleasant. Food good too. Great value. Surprised at low prices. If we lived in the area, we would be regulars..

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeBelAir_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cresco, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This Place Rocks”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Yes it's a Diner...but is a FANTASTIC DINER and being a former New Yorker I know a thing or two about Diner's and what makes them good or not. :) and this place ROCKS. I have been there for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and just for coffee, and in the Summer months Rina's Soft Serve Ice Cream is Fantastic too!

The food is phenomenal and plenty of it so if you are going to stop there make sure you are hungry. Service is New York Minute fast but not rushed. Meaning they serve you very quickly but allow you to take your time and eat talk and have fun. It has the atmosphere of a diner but thankfully they left the RUDE in NY!

Their pancakes are wonderful and their panini's are YUMMO and filling!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountainhome Diner also viewed

Mountainhome, Pocono Mountains Region
Canadensis, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Cresco, Pocono Mountains Region
Swiftwater, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Mount Pocono, Pocono Mountains Region
Canadensis, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Mountainhome Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing