We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel and Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We started a little late on a cross country trip west. We decided to stay here. This place is absolutely fantastic! It is a few miles off the Interstate. The hotel looked great. We were the last ones to check in.

The rooms were just beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable. The room itself had high ceilings. The breakfast was nice. Pool was a good one for kids.

Wow. It was a great experience overall. Good staff and very good hotel. We were well rested and continued on our trek west.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust-in-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIENewColumbia, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2010

Thank you for your kind words and for your time for reviewing our hotel! We are proud to serve our guests and happy to provide an exceptional service experience. Our team looks forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2010

Even though this is the first time I have ever stayed at a Holiday Inn Express, I have to give them high marks. They really impressed me.

Check in quick and courteous. The room was clean and had everything you would want and expect from a three-star hotel. They also had an indoor pool which we used with the kids. It was clean and, while not heated, the water was very comfortable.

The property is just off Highway 15, so you don't have to veer too far off the path.

The most impressive part though was our dealing with a gentleman at the front desk.

Unfortunately, we found ourselves in the position of no milk for our baby. After finally setting in after a 300 mile drive, the last thing I wanted to do was get back in the car. The hotel serves breakfeast in the morning, so we called downstairs to see if we could somehow purchase a container of milk from them. The man at the desk declined. He said that we could not purchase it, but we should come downstairs and he would give it to us. When we got downstairs, he actually gave us four pints of milk. In an age where many would not have wanted to be bothered with such a request, this gentleman showed, not only customer service, but genuine kindness. I believe his name was Tom Miller, and because of Tom Miller we will put Holiday Inn Express at the top of our hotel research list when travelling.

Regardng the other reviews, this particular hotel is not designed to be a vacation resort hotel with sprawling pools, palm trees, and multiple four-star restaurants. It is a clean and safe place to lay your head during a trip or while visiting the area. And it is a good one at that.

Thanks again Tom for helping out a very tired couple with young kids!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buzliteyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIENewColumbia, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2010

Thank You so much for your kind words about our hotel! We are proud to provide our guests with excellent service that exceeds expectations. Tom has been with us for a while now and we will recognize him for his extra efforts. We thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Express in New Columbia!

Thank You,
Canon
Director of Operations
Holiday Inn Express New Columbia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We were traveling to Lewisburg from the Pittsburgh area and needed a hotel room for one night. I had made reservations at the hotel next door, but upon stopping at a roadside rest and finding a coupon for the Holiday Inn Express ($69.95/night), we stopped to see if it could be honored. They did honor the coupon, so we cancelled the other reservations. The hotel has gone through one wave of remodeling with a second to come. The rooms are spacious, attractive, and clean. There is an indoor pool and hot tub, as well as a nice exercise room. The continental breakfast has something for everyone. The staff are friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Browneyes31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

I spent two nights in the Lewisburg area because my son was at Bucknell Universitiy's Elite Soccer camp. The first night, I (unfortunately) spent at the Days Inn (1 mile from the Univ). The Days Inn was a D-I-V-E! This hotel, on the other hand, was P-E-R-F-E-C-T.
The proximity from Bucknell University is an easy 7 mile drive north on the 15. The Holiday Inn Express had easy on/off access to the expressway and although it's above the expressway, I didn't hear any traffic noise at all. This hotel was a better value ($20 per night more than the Days Inn, but it had 2 queen beds, breakfast, it was clean, etc...) than the Days Inn as well as being a better hotel. The Holiday Inn Express has: an indoor pool and whirlpool where we enjoyed watching the birds and 8 bunnies from the solarium window, there are guest laundry facilities that work well and are reasonably priced ($1.50 for wash, $.75 for dry), the room had the nicest smelling shampoo/conditioner/lotion available for use, the room also had a coffee maker, refrigerator & microwave. It was mentioned in another review about the bedding. IT WAS GREAT! Very comfortable and two types of pillows (soft and firm)! In the morning, we were able to enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast with a lot of yummy foods! One of the best features was the computer and printer located in the lobby that was available for (complimentary) use. This enable us to print our boarding passes and enjoy our drive back down to Harrisburg's airport for departure.
If I were ever in the Lewisburg area again, I would definitely stay here again. Wonderful experience, very clean, great night's sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrlpSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We stayed here one night while passing through. There was a coupon for a reduced rate in the coupon books that you pick up along the highway, so we got a great price. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable...I love the Holiday Inn pillows and shower heads. The breakfast was the standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast with cereal, muffins, bagels, eggs, etc. and was very nice. The only complaint I have is that there was no microwave or refrigerator in the room. We ate at the steakhouse up the road and it was also very good.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travling4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We stayed one night with three children and it was very nice. Pool was clean. Room was spotless and cot was provided on the house. Staff was very pleasant. Pets are allowed and out puppy was welcome. Only complaint was that the oj was like orange flavored water. Rooms were quiet and cleans and beds were comfortable.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank Chabrro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

We ended our day at Knoebels with a frantic search for hotels. We ended up at a Holiday Inn Express near Elysburg and were told that they had a room available for $130, other hotels around the area were full or more expensive, so we unpacked the car and went in to book the room. As we walked in, the manager looked embarrassed as she had to explain that the room wasn't actually available. We had them call this Holiday Inn Express and we were quoted an excellent rate of $75 so we drove the extra 20 minutes.

This property is a bit old, and there was A LOT of noise from the elevator and people walking though the halls. The lobby and rooms look to have been recently renovated, and the rooms had new HTDV's which was a welcome sight! The room itself was a bit old, the bathroom could have been a bit more touched up but in the end, it was far from "bad". The sheets and showerhead sported the "stay smart" design which is leaps and bounds ahead of most hotels in their price range. I love not having a comforter to deal with (since you're in a hotel room, run the heater if you're cold, dont trust some nasty old pink velux or the like!)

All in all, it could use a bit of soundproofing and the exterior could use some paint, but indoors the place looks new enough and you can't go wrong for $80, especially with the new HDTV's!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JoshandIssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Columbia
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Country Cupboard Inn
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 2 in New Columbia
167 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#3 of 8 in Lewisburg
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Lewisburg
Comfort Suites Lewisburg
#4 of 8 in Lewisburg
165 reviews
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lewisburg
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia

Address: 160 Commerce Park, New Columbia, PA 17856-9580
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > New Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Columbia
Price Range: £85 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have exciting news! The Award Winning Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia has completed its comprehensive 1.5-million dollar renovation and recently joined as an "Official Hotel Partner" of Bucknell University Athletics’! Located in a quiet, rural setting, this superb hotel has re-established itself as the premier choice of corporate travelers. The updated lobby concept takes a new twist on the traditional feel, incorporating rich colors and that home-like feel. Our guestrooms feature a fresh, contemporary design, striking a delicate balance between comfort and efficiency. Additional room features include new flooring and wall coverings, comfortable furnishings, our Simply Smart Bedding, soothing lighting, and 32-inch High Definition LCD flat screen TV’s. Our redesigned accommodations are also ideal for family vacations and group getaways. Our Holiday Inn Express is the Place to Stay for Business Centrally located and convenient for business travelers to commute to many local businesses/attractions - Bucknell University - ConAgra - Oil States Energy - Marcellus Shale - Norfolk Southern Railways Relax and explore the Lewisburg/South Williamsport Area Guests enjoy a variety of things to see and do. From cultural activities to family-fun, our Holiday Inn Express puts you close to many entertaining attractions - Knoebels Amusement Resort - Reptiland - Little League World Series Stadium/Museum - Woodward Camp - Museums/Art Galleries - Antiques ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia Hotel New Columbia
Holiday Inn New Columbia
New Columbia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing