We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just O.K.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just O.K.”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This is an old hotel. The room price is cheap for the area. For one night at the last minute its fine. I would not try to stay here for a week. Small rooms, small bathroom. But all in all its what you should expect for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomask9590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM148, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
We appreciate your comment. We look forward to seeing you again the next time that you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    67
    42
    66
    66
See reviews for
117
40
12
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Patchogue, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Oh we're do I start?!
1) the entrance to our hotel which was "entrance D" had no lock on the outside door it was broken so anybody could have walked in
2) spiders and spider webs everywhere!!!! Walking up the stairs felt like a haunted house, spiders in every corner and in every light fixture and I am well aware the spiders come out of no where and can web over night, but when they're dead dried and hanging that's not an over night thing
3) Hotel drapes had MOLD
4)only 1 of the outlets worked! We had to unplug lights and the tv in order to charge cell phones or computer ect...
5)the "convenient" vending machine wasn't working and we had to walk across the hotel to get something to drink
6) the room stunk like an old basement and we had to turn the AC to 45° in order to get some of the smell out
7)the nasty receptionist!!! Our check in experience was great we were greeted with respect and kindness from the receptionist but after she left the next shift of receptionist (short dirty blond ish hair) working the evening shift while we were there, was so RUDE and when I called for the password for the Wifi she was acting like I woke her up from nap and was inconveniencing her with her 2 yr old huffing and puffing. Then I was told at check in from the nicer 1st receptionist that they would send a fridge up(which I needed for my children's medication) i had to call and double checked on it since it had been a few hours and I was still waiting, the nasty 2nd receptionist picked up again and her attitude was so bad I knew she was rolling her eyes just by the tone in her voice, so that's when I walked down to take a peek on what this girl looked liked so I could put a face to this negative experience,
8) there were NO CHILDREN CHANNELS! A long day at chocolate world and Hershey with a 1 and 4 yr old every parent needs a few minutes for the kids to sit and relax and watch TV, well that was impossible since there were NO CHILDREN'S CHANNELS! No Nickelodeon nothing other then the morning up until 10am on PBS, so at night/evening make sure you bring something of your own for them to watch movie or show on

The good things, restaurant was good and the waitress was great and super friendly and the location, but there are closer and better hotels around...and that's about it!

The only reason why I stayed there was because my reservations were non refundable but other then that I would have left within the first few hours...I WILL NEVER GO BACK THERE AND NEVER RECOMMEND ANYONE ELSE TO EITHER!

Room Tip: Don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethanyC946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM148, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
We appreciate your comments. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We have passed this information on to the appropriate managers to look over and address any of your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed at this Holiday Inn May 11-13, 2012 on a business/pleasure trip. When we arrived and went to our room, we were directly above the pool. It was very noisy, and we asked to be transferred but the hotel was full. I just knew there would be no sleep, but the pool closes at 10pm???, and once everyone cleared out, it was very quiet and peaceful. Our room (2Q) had a balcony that overlooked the covered pool area, and gave the feel of a much more expensive hotel. Check-in was quick, rooms were clean and comfortable. We didn't go to the pool, but it looked very nice. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was good. There is a convenience store right by the hotel, and a couple of places to eat(Pizza Hut and Bob Evans). The location is right off I-83 and the Turnpike, easy on/off. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to go to sleep early, request a room away from the pool. It does close around 10pm and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM148, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for those wonderful comments we look forward to seeing you again the next time that you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breinigsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2012

so i booked a 2 bed non smoking room thru hotels.com got the order conf. email and it said smoking. so i 1st called the hotel and they told me to call hotels.com. so i did and hotels.com was NO HELP. so we went to check in. this hotel was sold out. we asked to be switched after looking @ the room. we have 3 kids and we didn't want a smoking room. Tara @ the front desk was able to get us switched into a 2 floor king suite with a pull out. yes i said 2 floor suite.it was very nice. Thanks to the hotel and Tara.... no thanks to hotels.com

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bander148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM148, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
We appreciate your comment. Thank you for those wonderful comments about one of our associates. We try our best to accommodate each and every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Washington, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Confirmed non-smoker room on Friday w/ 2 queen beds. On Saturday, only had smoker room w/ 2 queen beds. Asked that the room be sprayed. Maintenance man, walking ahead of me, opened the door, sprayed one shot of Febreeze, and left. Spraying a room? NOT Several others in my party had their "confirmed" room reservations messed up too.

Room Tip: Want a good room and service? Don't stay at this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM148, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that the request that was made was not able to be honored. We do not guarantee room types, but we do our very best to try and honor any requests if at all possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The hotel is very easy to access an not in the midst of traffic. The room was very comfortable. Front desk is very efficient and helpful. Elevator to all floors. Free wi-fi excellent. Shower worked very well. The pool is inside; well maintained. The onsite restaurant offers a full menu for breakfast well prepared - bottomless coffee cup. (I arrived at 8:00PM and did not have dinner.)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadrun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGM148, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for those wonderful comments. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We hope that the next time you are in the area that you will come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel on 7/21-7/23. We arrive very late (about 2 am). We reserved a two beds room, since we were traveling with my girls. When we arrived to the hotel only single bed rooms with sofa beds were available. Since we were so tired, we took the room. They gave us the bed sheets for the sofa bed, since the sofa bed was not dressed.

The room was located next to one of the secondary entrances of the hotel which was really convenient to upload-unload the baggage. The room was very spacious, even with the sofa bed opened. The bathroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. We get out early in the morning to the Hershey park and arrived late the next night, so we don't use any facility of the hotel, other than the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devotemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM148, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you very much for your gracious comments about our hotel. It is indeed heartening to read positive comments and I will share them my staff so that can be aware of your comments and feel appreciated. We certainly hope that next time you are in our area, please come and be our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Cumberland hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus New Cumberland Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn New Cumberland - Harrisburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Cumberland
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#1 of 14 in New Cumberland
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South
0.3 mi away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#6 of 14 in New Cumberland
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 148 Sheraton Dr, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070-2440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes south of Harrisburg in a suburb of New Cumberland. Has easy access off of 2 major highways, Interstate 83 and Interstate 76, the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Attractions that are a short drive away from the hotel include Hershey Park, Pennsylvania State Capitol, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex, the Amish (Lancaster County), Harley Davidson Plant, and historical Gettysburg. Enjoy local sports with the following clubs: Harrisburg Senators, AAA baseball, and Hershey Bears minor league ice hockey team for the Colorado Avalanche. Indoor heated pool nestled in a tropical courtyard are just 2 of the amenities that are offered. Guests of the Harrisburg Clarion Hotel & Conference Center can enjoy fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and from-scratch cuisine at the hotel’s on-site restaurant and bar, The Garlic Poet. You will find over 21,000 square feet of flexible conference and catering facilities which provide the ideal setting for many special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg Hotel New Cumberland
Holiday Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing