We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Executive Chef and Banquet Manager should be embarrassed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in New Cumberland
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Executive Chef and Banquet Manager should be embarrassed!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This past week I went to a fun filled convention. It was a Clown Convention, and we always have a wonderful time. The banquet./event manager had just started the first day of the convention.Our first planned meal was a Thursday. I was sitting at .Table 1 and by the time Table 2 had reached the banquet style table there was no more salad, and everyone was waiting on the meat dish. The staff and manager apoligized for the trouble and said they would do better on Friday, and Saturday. The same type situation happened. People waiting for food, cannolis that had been frozen and filled into wet crust. The third night which was the night we received awards and had a show planned was the same. This time we were being served, and some of us that had fish had to wait about 20 minutes for our entree.
We know how to have fun so we were disappointed, but clowns can always laugh off anything.The reason I am writing this is because I do not want anyone else to go through such
a problem. If you are considering having a wedding or some other memorable affair...BE VERY CAREFUL where you book your event. Maybe next year they will get out some of the kinks I saw. If your event is a one time affair consider somewhere else .

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are excellent for convention purposes, The rooms upstairs are ok. There is an elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polkaidot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Please allow me to apologize on behalf of our entire staff for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your survey response with all department heads so that these issues are not repeated in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    67
    41
    61
    65
See reviews for
114
38
11
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were a little late in arriving, but the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was neat and clean, and the cleaning staff were very accommodating when we asked for extra towels. The breakfast was very nice with lots of assortment, including multiple hot options. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgilbert1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
It was great having you with us for the weekend. Looking forward to you coming back soon. I am so happy you found our staff to be so accomodating in meeting your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester
Level Contributor
313 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Hotel may have changed franchise names, but they seem to be doing even better than before. Top-notch front desk, nice quiet room. Plenty of electrical outlets. Excellent wireless system that was easy to connect and really fast. Hot shower with plenty of pressure. Comfortable bed.

OK, the room is a little aged, and little signs of wear are evident. But they had a Keurig coffee machine in the room, so that's a great balance (see photo). I'll return any time I'm back in the area.

Room Tip: Be mindful of nearby interstate when choosing room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMan804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We appreciate your kind words about our hotel. Glad you found so many things you liked about your stay here. Hope you will chose us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lock Haven, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We arrived at this hotel around 8PM. As soon as we arrived the staff was fantastic. Very helpful with explaining exactly where our room was located and answered any questions we had. We loved the breakfast. Had at least 5 hot items as well as the usual breads, coffee, and cereals. My boys were extremely excited about the pool. It was very clean. I love that it was fenced off for safety. We were located on the first floor so we did not have far to to go to the pool or breakfast. There was a restaurant located right in the hotel which will be nice if we stay longer. There is also many other restaurants located within walking distance. We only stayed one night but will definitely come back to stay for longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
I really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. So glad that we filled the bill to meet your lodging needs. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just was here on 11/1 to 11/3 and was pleasantly surprised. This is our first time we took dog on road trip and first time at this type of hotel. It was clean and everyone was courteous. It does need some updating but for the price we paid we expected that. My only complaint was it said entrance B was locked at all times. It was never locked when we came through at all different hours.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
We do appreciate you taking the time to review us on trip advisor. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Just wanted to let you know, we have ordered the necessary parts to repair entrance B and it should be back in service very soon. We look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just celebrated our High School reunion at The Clarion Hotel in New Cumberland. They did a fabulous job. Sarah Combs was our contact person and with her assistance we had a wonderful dinner buffet including prime rib, scrimp scampi and seafood newburg. The food was delicious and the price included soup, salad, fruit, an assortment of desserts as well as hot tea, coffee and iced tea. A cash bar and beer was on tap. There was a dance floor with room and time for a DJ. Would definitely consider going there again. The staff was professional, capable, pleasant and easy to work with. Thank you all for a job well done.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for raving about your experience here at the Clarion. It was our pleasure to host your reunion and provide you with such a memorable experience. We are quite proud of our banquet team and we are glad you found them so helpful in meeting your needs. We hope to see you back here for your next reunion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I attended the medical banquet there Monday and Tuesday .. The Hospitality was phenomenal. . As I was entering facility I was greeted by front desk staff. The food was outstanding . I was very blown away on how clean the restrooms were through out the day for the amount of people that were there. 2 different times throughout the 2 days when going to the bathrooms .. the janitor was about to walk into the ladies room to clean it but when saw me heading in .. He stepped back and said " Go ahead mam" He was very well mannered and he did and Amazing job keeping the bathrooms clean.. So my overall experience was great.. I really hope they decide to have more events at the Clarion because it was such a warm and welcoming environment.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baldeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
it is so nice to hear what a positive experience you had during your time with us. I am glad you found our staff to be so friendly and accommodating. As for the food, everyone says how great it is...glad you thought so too. We look forward to having your group back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumberland
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS New Cumberland Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisburg West
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn New Cumberland - Harrisburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Cumberland
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#2 of 13 in New Cumberland
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#4 of 13 in New Cumberland
79 reviews
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 148 Sheraton Drive, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes south of Harrisburg in a suburb of New Cumberland. Has easy access off of 2 major highways, Interstate 83 and Interstate 76, the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Attractions that are a short drive away from the hotel include Hershey Park, Pennsylvania State Capitol, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex, the Amish (Lancaster County), Harley Davidson Plant, and historical Gettysburg. Enjoy local sports with the following clubs: Harrisburg Senators, AAA baseball, and Hershey Bears minor league ice hockey team for the Colorado Avalanche. Indoor heated pool nestled in a tropical courtyard are just 2 of the amenities that are offered. Guests of the Harrisburg Clarion Hotel & Conference Center can enjoy fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and from-scratch cuisine at the hotel’s on-site restaurant and bar, The Garlic Poet. You will find over 21,000 square feet of flexible conference and catering facilities which provide the ideal setting for many special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg Hotel New Cumberland
Holiday Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing