We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It went downhill quickly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Was at the clarion again for work. Staff are still very nice. However several in the group had room problems including dog hair and stained sheets. Breakfast not as good. Housekeeping not so great towels looked sloppy. In my room one of the lamps was broken. The bathtub did not drain. Unfortunate as it seemed improved for awhile

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amw0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Please allow me to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We will use your input to make the necessary improvements as we move forward. Thank you for your response and your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

The name has changed, the people have changed so they need to get to know you! And that is exactly what they did. We had our dog with us so house-keeping got a break. We exchanged towels daily, emptied trash, etc. and they couldn't do enough for us. The room was rather warm, so they sent engineering over within mins to "fix the problem" and we had air conditioning in November. Exactly what we wanted. The breakfast and morning staff were excellent! There were some logistical problems setting up the hotel and the ballroom for our convention but it didn't take long for the staff to figure out what we needed. Being a Type A person this lead to some stress, but they tried to help and give suggestions and in the end, made it work! Thursday's buffet dinner was awesome. I was last in line and there was plenty of food! Many had seconds. If you want freshly prepared quality food rather than institutional frozen "stuff", then patience is required. Friday's dinner had some problems with replentishing the food trays, but the lead staff quickly converted two buffet lines to one and within 15mins had the problem solved but some diners did have to wait. Saturday's sit down dinner was very good. We had a fish, chicken and steak choice and from those at our table everything was great. The lead staff was on top of things, unfortunately there was one waitress that didn't get the memo about having lots more rolls in the kitchen...but that was solved post haste. Overall the 5 days were a success. The staff was accessible, they listened to our concerns and genuinely attempted to fix any issues we had.

Room Tip: Have stayed in three different rooms over the course of 12 months and all were very good...two doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BZKHAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do appreciate your kind words and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This past week I went to a fun filled convention. It was a Clown Convention, and we always have a wonderful time. The banquet./event manager had just started the first day of the convention.Our first planned meal was a Thursday. I was sitting at .Table 1 and by the time Table 2 had reached the banquet style table there was no more salad, and everyone was waiting on the meat dish. The staff and manager apoligized for the trouble and said they would do better on Friday, and Saturday. The same type situation happened. People waiting for food, cannolis that had been frozen and filled into wet crust. The third night which was the night we received awards and had a show planned was the same. This time we were being served, and some of us that had fish had to wait about 20 minutes for our entree.
We know how to have fun so we were disappointed, but clowns can always laugh off anything.The reason I am writing this is because I do not want anyone else to go through such
a problem. If you are considering having a wedding or some other memorable affair...BE VERY CAREFUL where you book your event. Maybe next year they will get out some of the kinks I saw. If your event is a one time affair consider somewhere else .

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are excellent for convention purposes, The rooms upstairs are ok. There is an elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polkaidot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Please allow me to apologize on behalf of our entire staff for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your survey response with all department heads so that these issues are not repeated in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were a little late in arriving, but the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was neat and clean, and the cleaning staff were very accommodating when we asked for extra towels. The breakfast was very nice with lots of assortment, including multiple hot options. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgilbert1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

It was great having you with us for the weekend. Looking forward to you coming back soon. I am so happy you found our staff to be so accomodating in meeting your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Hotel may have changed franchise names, but they seem to be doing even better than before. Top-notch front desk, nice quiet room. Plenty of electrical outlets. Excellent wireless system that was easy to connect and really fast. Hot shower with plenty of pressure. Comfortable bed.

OK, the room is a little aged, and little signs of wear are evident. But they had a Keurig coffee machine in the room, so that's a great balance (see photo). I'll return any time I'm back in the area.

Room Tip: Be mindful of nearby interstate when choosing room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAMan804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We appreciate your kind words about our hotel. Glad you found so many things you liked about your stay here. Hope you will chose us again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We arrived at this hotel around 8PM. As soon as we arrived the staff was fantastic. Very helpful with explaining exactly where our room was located and answered any questions we had. We loved the breakfast. Had at least 5 hot items as well as the usual breads, coffee, and cereals. My boys were extremely excited about the pool. It was very clean. I love that it was fenced off for safety. We were located on the first floor so we did not have far to to go to the pool or breakfast. There was a restaurant located right in the hotel which will be nice if we stay longer. There is also many other restaurants located within walking distance. We only stayed one night but will definitely come back to stay for longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

I really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. So glad that we filled the bill to meet your lodging needs. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just was here on 11/1 to 11/3 and was pleasantly surprised. This is our first time we took dog on road trip and first time at this type of hotel. It was clean and everyone was courteous. It does need some updating but for the price we paid we expected that. My only complaint was it said entrance B was locked at all times. It was never locked when we came through at all different hours.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

We do appreciate you taking the time to review us on trip advisor. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Just wanted to let you know, we have ordered the necessary parts to repair entrance B and it should be back in service very soon. We look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Cumberland hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus New Cumberland Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Cumberland
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#1 of 14 in New Cumberland
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capital Inn New Cumberland - Harrisburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West
0.2 mi away
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisbu...
#10 of 14 in New Cumberland
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#6 of 14 in New Cumberland
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 148 Sheraton Dr, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070-2440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range: £53 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes south of Harrisburg in a suburb of New Cumberland. Has easy access off of 2 major highways, Interstate 83 and Interstate 76, the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Attractions that are a short drive away from the hotel include Hershey Park, Pennsylvania State Capitol, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex, the Amish (Lancaster County), Harley Davidson Plant, and historical Gettysburg. Enjoy local sports with the following clubs: Harrisburg Senators, AAA baseball, and Hershey Bears minor league ice hockey team for the Colorado Avalanche. Indoor heated pool nestled in a tropical courtyard are just 2 of the amenities that are offered. Guests of the Harrisburg Clarion Hotel & Conference Center can enjoy fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and from-scratch cuisine at the hotel’s on-site restaurant and bar, The Garlic Poet. You will find over 21,000 square feet of flexible conference and catering facilities which provide the ideal setting for many special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg Hotel New Cumberland
Holiday Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing