We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came through for 9 families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Came through for 9 families”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently visited the Harrisburg area for a US Junior National Girls Basketball tournament. A group of hotels were arranged for the players and families by the tournament. The hotel we were assigned to was lacking in may ways, not least of which was the condition of the rooms and lack of amenities. It was simply unacceptable. At 10PM on the night of our arrival we went to the Clarion (just a block away) to see if they had any rooms open. They were amazing, finding rooms for all nine families from our team. The hotel was clean, comfortable and offered a very nice indoor pool and a wonderful bar and grill. All for a lesser price that the "group" rate offered by the original hotel. The Hotel and the staff were first class.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    67
    42
    66
    66
See reviews for
117
40
12
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterton, IN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have traditionally stayed at the Clarion for the pool so when our Granddad passed in February we made reservations. When there this passed winter, I had to be moved 4 times before they came up with a satisfactory room that I still would have only given a 3/10. Then we just stayed again while in the area for a family wedding, the hotel was in complete disrepair. Out of Order signs everywhere, the roof in the breakfast/pool area leaked terribly, and worst of all the AC in the guest rooms wasn't working!! So despite moving rooms we didn't get hardly a wink of sleep, because the only relief from the heat management could provide was a fan! We will NEVER Never never ever stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawyergirl2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I decided to take my grandkids away for the Memorial Day holiday weekend and wanted a hotel with an indoor pool. This one offered the best value and so I booked the room. They did allow us an early check-in and a late check-out which I greatly appreciated. With little kids and strollers, the extra time afforded us a little more time to get settled and to pack up. The check-in and check-out was very smooth and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate at the on-site restaurant and the food was superb. There are also several family style restaurants within walking distance. The room was very comfortable. The pool was clean and very nice but the downside was that the pool was cold and that was my main reason for booking this hotel. Also, there is only one elevator near the front desk so if you have strollers ask what part of the hotel you will be staying in as it is a long walk with kids if you are in the back (we were in room 268 which is the farthest away from the elevator). In looking at pictures on the internet, it showed the room with two queen beds to have a small table and sitting chairs (which I thought would be good for the kids to sit at and put puzzles together) but our room did not have that so if you are looking for what is in the pictures, ask before you book. There was a wedding and reception, several birthday parties, and groups of softball families and the hotel was FULL but it didn't seem like it (except pool did have a lot of kids having fun). All in all, for the value, I would recommend this hotel but know that the pool is cold.

Room Tip: Only one elevator at the front. Ask how far of a walk to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for providing some tips for future guests. I apologize for the issue with the temperature of our pool water. As you said, there were a lot of kids using the pool and usually it is necessary for our engineering department to add water to bring it up to the required level. Sometimes, this causes the temperature of the water in our pool to drop below the maintained 80-82 degree range where we keep it. I am happy to know that we were able to assist you with your needs for early check-in and late check-out. Also, I am glad you had the opportunity to try out the Garlic Poet, our on-site restaurant. I agree with you that the food is superb. Thanks for choosing us as your destination to spend some quality time with your grandchildren. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently hosted a 50th birthday party here for our daughter with invited guests who travelled from afar and were most pleased with the accommodations, event planning, food and service. From start to end, everyone involved was professional and a pleasure to deal with. Group rate booking went exactly as planned from blocking a group of rooms to check out. The party room, décor and linens were lovely, but the excellent appetizers and the buffet dinner were the major topic of conversation. We were told that all the food for events at this hotel was freshly prepared with chef involvement and we had no reason to doubt that based on our experience here. A wedding and reception were ongoing at the same time as our event, and the hotel was heavily booked for other events for the holiday weekend. Yet, despite the large groups of guests in the hotel, everything went smoothly and right on schedule. Our attentive server assigned to us exclusively during the party never missed a beat, and our bartender likewise. A situation involving a balky HVAC unit in one of the guest sleeping rooms that resisted all efforts to fix it was remedied by the front desk by moving the guests involved to another room late in the evening, with profuse apologies for the inconvenience. As I said, professional all the way. The bar area was inviting and comfortable. We did not visit the restaurant, but it seemed to be very popular. If the food served at our event was prepared by the restaurant kitchen, it would be worth the trip just to have a meal there. The lobby area was clean and inviting, with a number of comfortable chairs set out for resting and private conversations throughout the lobby area. A sun-filled atrium and adjoining indoor pool were enjoyed by all, particularly the young ones in attendance. The only negative was the included breakfast buffet that could not keep up with the guests arriving for breakfast from about 8:30 a.m. to the 9:30 a.m closing time. Despite serious efforts to keep the hot trays filled with scrambled eggs, fried potatoes, bacon and sausages, along with toast, bagels, fruit, yogurts, cereals and beverages, the numerous pre-teen, teen and adult guests consumed it all quicker than the kitchen could keep up. The scene was not pretty for a while as hungry guests lined up waiting for the trays and coffee urns to be refilled. Some of the trays (bacon) never did get refilled. Tip for future patrons: Arrive for the breakfast buffet early when the hotel is full or nearly full. Tip for the hotel: Better planning for crowded conditions will avoid displeasing hungry guests. We and our guests loved the sleeping rooms, which showed signs of recent renovation and redecoration. The hotel can't be blamed for occasional thoughtless or insensitive guests who paraded down the halls or just outside the guest rooms talking and laughing loudly, but really, everyone there seemed to have a reason for celebrating that weekend and this likely was not typical for this hotel. We definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
I am so grateful that you took the time to share your experience with the Clarion Hotel and Conference Center. I am happy to learn that everyone you came in contact with treated you with the utmost customer service. We are very proud of our banquet department and they plan and put together memorable events on a regular basis for a wide variety of events. I look forward to sharing your review with all of our departments so they will know how pleased you were.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have visited this establishment several times and it keeps changing names. The rooms are big and comfortable. They use the Keurig coffee maker that seems impossible for someone with visual issues to get a decent cup of coffee, because you cannot get to the exact fill line necessary for the machine to start brewing. This is a pet peeve. The hotel was doing a lot of renovations and more need to be done as well as taking care of leaks and power outages in rooms. A heavy rain flooded the pathway to my room near the pool area and over two days was not addressed. One of the banquet rooms we used had no electricity and an extension cord had to be run from the hallway. The wait staff was very friendly and professional and the for was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladynosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review here. I apologize for the issues you had with our coffee maker. A simple tip I have learned it to fill the coffee cup with water, pour that directly into the Keurig, and use the same cup to catch the coffee dripping from the machine. We have not had any leaking near our pool area, so the wet floor was probably caused by the large amount of children using the pool during your stay. We will do a better job of monitor the floor around the pool. We are actively working on a property improvement plan to address the other issues you have expressed. Thank you for staying and we look forward to your return so that you can notice the changes we are working on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We thought we needed 4 rooms ,but ended up needing only 3 this was not a problem to decrease rooms. Some of our party did not arrive until early morning and their rooms were there waiting on them. We had a great time. The rooms were large, clean, well maintained. The staff was friendly, the pool was clean.The breakfast buffet was warm and there was always food.

Room Tip: We stayed on poolside close to buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We are so happy to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to know you found so many reasons to enjoy your stay. Thank you so much for sharing your experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Booked three rooms with two rooms with some issues. One room was fine. another had an issue with the door handle locking. The door handle when turned, did not turn back into its original posistion, leaving the door unlocked. Luckly I noticed that the door was still not locked when I left the first time since I tend to turn the door knob after leaving any hotel room to make sure the door is closed and locked. I didnt inform the hotel staff since I was staying just one night. The second issue was with another room. The platform supporting the mattresses simply broke while laying on bed and pulling the blankets up to make it looser as it was tucked into the mattress. After pulling on the sheets and blankets to loosing it up, the bed platform gave way and bed fell down. My wife called the front desk and the person came up and suggested that the kids broke the bed from jumping on it. That might be a possibility however, I brought them into the room and layed down for about 1/2 hour. When my wife came into room, in about ten minutes, the bed fell down. The staff informed my wife that he was alone and there are no available two bedroom rooms available. He also said the maintenace person was gone for the day and that the kids should sleep laying away from the bedboard since the bed was slanted in a 30 degree angle. I went down an spoke with the man again and was informed of the same info he told my wife. I told him that lets go back up to room and see if we can remove the bottom platform to atleast have the bed lay flat on the floor so you can sleep on it. So we did and lifted the mattress and the remaining part of the platform bed fell down and the mattress was laying flat on the floor. Not too helpful was the person. Who wants to sleep on a slanted mattress. Oh well, never again. The pool was a nice touch however, water was cold.

Room Tip: dont get room 605(door handle issue unless fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSM_Clarion, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I apologize for the issues you had with your bed and the way it was handled. I will personally work with the person who spoke to you and retrain them on the correct way to handle those types of situations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Cumberland hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus New Cumberland Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn New Cumberland - Harrisburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Cumberland
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#1 of 14 in New Cumberland
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South
0.3 mi away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#6 of 14 in New Cumberland
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 148 Sheraton Dr, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070-2440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes south of Harrisburg in a suburb of New Cumberland. Has easy access off of 2 major highways, Interstate 83 and Interstate 76, the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Attractions that are a short drive away from the hotel include Hershey Park, Pennsylvania State Capitol, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex, the Amish (Lancaster County), Harley Davidson Plant, and historical Gettysburg. Enjoy local sports with the following clubs: Harrisburg Senators, AAA baseball, and Hershey Bears minor league ice hockey team for the Colorado Avalanche. Indoor heated pool nestled in a tropical courtyard are just 2 of the amenities that are offered. Guests of the Harrisburg Clarion Hotel & Conference Center can enjoy fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and from-scratch cuisine at the hotel’s on-site restaurant and bar, The Garlic Poet. You will find over 21,000 square feet of flexible conference and catering facilities which provide the ideal setting for many special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg Hotel New Cumberland
Holiday Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing