We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the worst but not the greatest by far.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Reviewed 25 June 2011

My sister and I stopped at this hotel on our way from Michigan to the Jersey Shore. I've always trusted Comfort Inn properties but was rather disappointed by this hotel. Another sister and her husband stayed here on their way home in January, so I knew the property was under renovation. When we arrived, the lobby was uncomfortably warm; the desk clerk said that there was no A/C in the lobby (I thought due to renovations but after reading other reviews, maybe not). The corridors leading to the rooms were also very hot. I was told the room was a newly renovated room and the decor was very nice. However they were apparently still using the same old mattresses, as they were obviously well worn and not very comfortable. The fridge in the room didn't appear to be working and when I checked, found that it wasn't plugged in properly. Someone had also left food in there, which housekeeping didn't bother to take out. Note to housekeeping: You may want to double check the fridge when cleaning the room.
I checked the bed for cleanliness and discovered that the blanket on one of the beds appeared to have some kind of little specks on it. I don't think they were bugs, but wasn't about to take any chances and requested a clean blanket, which was provided. Another note to housekeeping: Please wash the blankets and quilts from time to time.
The complimentary breakfast was fine, but once again, the lobby was warm and it was uncomfortable to sit there and eat. Note to owner: you may want to invest in some air conditioning for your lobby and guest room corridors. I've stayed in worse places, but I've also been in better Comfort Inns.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodExpurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2011

It was so very hot at 10:30pm when we checked in (June 2011). 88 degrees! The girl at the desk (who was nice) was embarrassed and apologized and said the owner wouldn't use AC. Our room was 80 degrees and took hours to get down to 76 degrees. We'd been driving all day, and it was too late and we were too tired to get another hotel, tho we should have. I've always enjoyed Comfort Inns in the past. What's with this owner where he's too cheap so we're very uncomfortable???

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodyPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I stayed at this property. I was in newly renovated room. What a excellent room. Management has done an excellent job in renovating this property. Nice decor, selection of granite, furniture, drapes, wall color, carpet everything flows into very well cordinated. Nice work...keep it up.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmartinez6900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel which is under renovation. Nice clean comfortable rooms with healthy breakfast. Front desk person toured me few renovated rooms...they are excellent. According to front desk person, they have changed everything in the room. It was looking great & I am sure after renovation, this will be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slevongton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Was there for on tuesday night in march. For two nights in the middle of a renovation there where pallets supported by romex wire and deck screws so you dident fall 2 stories. Ok this shouldn't reflect the room right? Well you wouldent think. The room looked like it hasn't been cleaned since it was built in the 70s there was so much film on the windows. You could barley see out if them. Bathroom was way worse. I really dident even want to take my shoes off. If I wasent with a group of people I would have left. That night. All the other people I was with had a similar experance. Stay away! the best western was cheaper had a gym indoor pool and the rooms where updated and clean. I am going to goto the doctors and check for bugs!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joefrompittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

very dirty room. we just went in to sleep and wake up. bad smell in bathroom. did not use the pool as it was small and right next to the car park. exhaust fumes etc. avearge breakfast. only good location for amish country. note. everything is closed on a sunday in amish country. i mean everything.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

My reservation was made by my colleagues. Arriving at the hotel, found out that hotel is under renovation....thought this might be a problem. At check in staff was great, informed about renovation and signs were posted all over. Room was clean and comfortable, slept well. Morning looked at the renovation, it looks this hotel is going through major renovation. I am at completion of renovation, this hotel will be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda551976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Cumberland hotels
0.1 mi away
Capital Inn New Cumberland - Harrisburg South
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus New Cumberland Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisbu...
#10 of 14 in New Cumberland
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#6 of 14 in New Cumberland
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Cumberland Hotel

Address: 130 Limekiln Rd, New Cumberland, PA 17070-2428
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range: £62 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Cumberland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a place to stay near the Defense Distribution Center, Harrisburg International Airport or Hershey park? We look forward to welcoming you to the New Cumberland Hotel, a beautiful and comfortable hotel in New Cumberland PA. Our completely smoke-free hotel is located just off the Pennsylvania Turnpike and is perfectly positioned to be minutes from Harrisburg East Mall, Ski Roundtop and many other local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Cumberland Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing