We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Illegal Charges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Illegal Charges”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We have been going to the Corvettes at Carlisle show for the past 20 yrs. We were unable to get a room at our normal hotel so we found the Travel Inn in New Cumberland last minute and the price was reasonable. The stay was okay until we returned home when I noticed an additional $50 charge from the hotel on my Visa. When I called the hotel manager, Mr. Patel, he told me that after we left a cleaning person said we had stolen 2 pillows and ruined some linens. I told him he was mistaken - I would NEVER steal a pillow or ruin linens from a hotel and the cleaning person must have mixed up the room numbers. He said too bad and hung up. I was so upset I had my wife called and speak to Mr. Patel. She explained that I never stole pillows or ruined linens and never would. When he refused to look into the matter any further she told him he would file a complaint and he hung up on her. She has been in customer service for 30 yrs. and has never received such terrible service from anyone. I have served in the military for 25 yrs. and I do not steal from hotels. If I did ruin linens I would have told someone at the front desk. The hotel has your Visa card on file and can charge anything they want and there is nothing you can do about it. I would NEVER stay there again and recommend no one else does either.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank osow1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    20
    9
    9
    22
See reviews for
26
19
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Place was dirty & run down. Sink in room was disgusting! Staff was not helpful. I did not even stay, but still had to pay because i did not provide them with 24 hours notice. I did not know 24 hours before i got there how gross this place was. How was i supposed to cancel in advance?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AT124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I have stayed at the Travel Inn a few times and have always been treated kindly by the staff. The rooms are clean and have plenty of space.
Some rooms do have mirrors over the bed which I don't care for. If you don't as well just reguest a room with no mirrors.
There is a new vending machine with many types of drinks. Its nice to see so many non soda choices.
The beds are comfortable tho the pillows are flat.
It's always been very quiet here, I don't hear anything from other rooms which is a plus.
A hair dryer, microwave, mini frig is in each room.
The pool is clean and had seating.
I do recommend staying at the Travel Inn

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and I were looking for a room the night of our wedding. The best man offer to get us a room, so he called Travel Inn for us. We booked the room with a credit card. When the reception was over my husband and I went to Travel Inn to check in, the clerk told us because we didn't answer our phone, he cancelled our reservations and gave our room to someone else. Then my husband and I left because who wants to stay at hotel with that kind of service. How are you suppose to answer a phone when you are in the middle of a reception?

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We needed a place to stay since our power was out a couple days. Found out our power was back so we called booking agency to cancel the last day (front desk does not credit there, you have to call "Peggy"). After looking up the checking account, saw that instead of crediting us the last day they CHARGED us an extra day. Took 6 phone calls to get them to finally comfirm they will cancel the last day. General Manager gave an major attitude over the phone after letting them know we would be calling back if the charges are not removed. Horrible customer service makes this place not worth it. Will get the bank involved if not resolved.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeepers73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

A buddy of mine booked this motel through Priceline to stay at while going to a car show in Carlisle, PA. Though the cost was cheap, but there were several reasons for that. This place was a very cheap motel. There were no shampoos offered for guests. The sink was located outside of the bathroom, which makes things awkward. Plus, it means that you have no place to leave your clothes within the bathroom / shower room itself. The TV in the room looked (and sounded) like it belonged in a Staples store furniture display instead. Next time, I'll pay the extra to stay at a nicer place like the Radisson hotel in Camp Hill, PA.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foodman1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The room was clean, hot water worked and good water pressure. The beds felt fine and the sheets and bedspread were clean. There weren't too many other travelers there that weekend and the location felt safe. The heater worked great...a little too hot but it was easy to adjust.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pr108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Cumberland hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn New Cumberland - Harrisburg South
0.4 mi away
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus New Cumberland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Cumberland
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#1 of 14 in New Cumberland
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Clarion Hotel & Conference Cente...
#10 of 14 in New Cumberland
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Inns New Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inns New Cumberland

Property: Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Address: 300 Commerce Drive, New Cumberland, PA 17070 (Formerly Travel Inn Harrisburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inns New Cumberland 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish Inns New Cumberland offers all of the necessities at an affordable price. At Scottish Inns New Cumberland we are located just minutes from the Pennsylvania Turnpike and a short drive from downtown Harrisburg. We are also conveniently located near Harrisburg International Airport and Capitol City Airport. Whether you're traveling on business or for pleasure, there is something for everyone to enjoy including: the National Civil War Museum, Hershey Park, Cars at Carlisle, the Pennsylvania State Farm Show Complex and Ski Roundtop Mountain. There are also several corporate locations nearby including Penn National Insurance, Pinnacle Health System, Brinjac Engineering and the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. We offer guests extreme comfort, excellent amenities, and a convenient location to area attractions and local businesses. We have TV, WiFi, an outdoor pool. laundry facilities, and 24/7 desk clerks. We hope to see you soon at Scottish Inns New Cumberland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scottish Inns New Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Inn Harrisburg Hotel New Cumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing