We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but they charged me extra at the end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Stayed there for one night only. The hotel is clean and simple. Breakfast is basic and the area is shared with the guests of other nearby hotels (we saw people coming for breakfast from the hotel next door as well as some people who looked like employees),

When I checked in, the night attendant was gracious and offered me the best rate for 4 adults (one room with two full beds). But when I was checking out the next morning, the front desk lady told me that the rate was wrong and that her job was to make sure that everything was done correctly and charged me $20 more.

Overall, I was not impressed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank simplyfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2008

The real standout about this Days Inn was the friendly staff. I booked through Hotwire not expecting anything special, just a place to sleep, but my room was enormous. This facility is older than some and it is evident that maintenance has been done to correct minor problems -- but I was very happy with this motel and think it is a great value.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank Kresequid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2007

A fresh coat of paint and a THOROUGH, REGULAR cleaning would go a LONG way towards making this hotel a more welcoming place. The place definitely did not live up to my standards for how clean a hotel should be. There were smears on the door leading from the hallway to the parking lot, and they were not cleaned for the entire four days that I stayed there. There was a long hair in one of my dresser drawers, toothpaste on my shower controls, and kids' scribbles on the door leading to the hallway from the room. :( Also, the carpeting in the hallway was very stained. Some of the clientele is dubious, too - there was a fight between two men one of the nights I was there and the police had to be called! Yikes!!!! (But I suppose that might have been an isolated incident.) Oh, and the website makes it seem like this place is located in the pristine countryside, but the reality is that this place is crammed between expressways and adjacent to a strange, half-abandoned motel. And the "pond" is a joke - it's more like a puddle and looked very dirty. HOWEVER, despite the flaws, I actually would stay here again, because (1) the rates are reasonable compared to places directly in Hershey (where I was visiting), (2) the staff was very friendly, (3) the pool was very clean and well maintained, and (4) the place accepts dogs and there was a field nearby where I could play fetch with my two (clean and well behaved) golden retrievers.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triplover01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

I just got back with my family from our stay at the Days Inn at New Cumberland, PA. Speaking for myself and my family, I can say that our stay here at this hotel was bad. For one, the only room available for us to reserve was a smoking room. Which by the way I reserved the day before from there website so I guess I can't really complain too much about that. We had to change our rooms 3 times!

The first room wasn't cleaned yet, there was a used towel under the sink and trash in the trash can. Not to mention, there were ants crawling all over the floor in the bathroom! We told the guy at the front desk and he immediately checked the room out for himself came back and gave us another room.

The second room was ok I guess, except for the tv. The tv was like 30 years old with bad reception. You could barely get any channels on it. So we went back to the guy at the front desk and he gave us another room.

The third room seemed to be better than the last two so we kept it. Everything seemed to be fine, no bugs showed up in this room and the tv was good. But we were wrong, the night before we left our toilet decides to clog up. I call to the front desk and the man (a different one from when we checked in) said that he would check to see if there was a plunger available. We waited for a good 1 hr and a half. Nothing happened so I call back at the front desk and this guy has an attitude with me telling me that he could not find a plunger. Later on, maybe 15-20 mins, he knocks on our door with a plunger. He wanted to leave the plunger with us but i asked if he could unclog our toilet for us instead. Which he did, with an attitude again.

In conclusion, you definitely get what you pay for. I'm only speaking for the smoking rooms from this hotel. I don't know what the non-smoking rooms look like. Avoid the first floor smoking rooms, they are more smelly and dirty with bugs. The soda machine will eat all your money. Missed the continental breakfast, so I don't know how that was. Also, pictures don't really portray what the rooms really look like.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank goin_places_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2006

I have just returned from a two week stay in the New Cumberland, Pennsylvania area and stayed at this days end motel. My daughter and I were treated very nice by the entire staff and the room was fairly priced, nice, clean and well kept. If you are looking for alot of frill...the days end may not be for you...but, if you are looking for a decent, nice room with all the amenities that you really need to be comfortable...this is it...:O) It has a pool that looks like it would be fun in the warmer months and is near lots of resturants, bars, shopping and amusements. It is also near the military depot base where my daughter is stationed. The new cumberland community is a mix of very nice, friendly people and I enjoyed my stay very much and hope to return soon..:O) I will again stay at the days end as I felt very safe, welcomed and at home there..:O) Thank you to the staff at the days end motel and to the nice town folk for a wonderful time in New Cumberland !!...:O) Ella

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Kai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Cumberland hotels
0.5 mi away
Capital Inn New Cumberland - Harrisburg South
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus New Cumberland Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#6 of 14 in New Cumberland
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Cumberland
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#1 of 14 in New Cumberland
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South

Address: 353 Lewisberry Rd, New Cumberland, PA 17070-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in New Cumberland
Price Range: £45 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing