We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to par”
Review of Hollander Motel

Hollander Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hollander Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Holland
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this place was the manager, and for his sake I wish I could say something positive about the place. Oh, wait--plenty of hot water and an iron tub that held the heat, for a nice bath. In addition, this is what we experienced.

On entry, very musty smell. Cold room, then too hot. The heater thermostat wasn't working properly, and to get the room hot enough, we had to turn it to a temperature that was too hot through the night snd left us with swollen, dried out sinuses the next morning. The overhead heat and the general heat in the bathroom didn't work; they were taped off. The only way to get heat in the bathroom was to leave the door open. The weather was very cold and windy; wind blew in under the door, which was not sealed.

My husband said his bed was not comfortable; the bed linens didn't seem fresh--not dirty, just musty and stale. Bath linens were thin.

Another family member had a room there, too. They had heat issues as well, and their shower would not drain properly.

The whole outfit needs updating badly.

I honestly don't like giving poor reviews, but The Hollander was far below a reasonable standard of comfort, in my opinion.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Traveling4Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

The motel is dirty, smelly, rundown and the air conditioner is dirty. We booked 2 rooms. One for us and the other for our elderly aunt. Pillow cases in our room were dirty and looked unchanged. Pillow case in our aunt's room had noticeable blood stain. When this was gently highlighted to the owner/manager, she said "it can't be dirty, I cleaned it myself. I'll investigate it." and walked away from us. There was not even an apology. On looking at the prices, this turned out to be more expensive than other better motels nearby. Just making money by giving the impression that it is Amish owned - see their business card. Real dump. Drive on, stay elsewhere and save money and trouble.

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Don't believe the friends and family reviews this place is a dump. I don't mind an older hotel but this place has not been maintained. The sign out front says clean and cozy rooms ... Wrong on both counts. The place is in such bad shape I can't believe the board of health let's it stay open. There are holes in the walls that aren't patched cracks in the tile, tub sinks and walls in the bathroom. The light over the sink is bare bulbs screwed into a rusty fixture. The only thing that I can say positive is that the beds were pretty comfortable. The problem though is that the bedding is old and gross. Don't stay here I don't care how cheap it is you're better sleeping in the car.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank JKirk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Kind of outdated motel. We loved the way of parking in front of our room, but the rooms were very outdated, although management tried their best. The bed was too old I think. Breakfast was almost non existant. We took a coffee and left. Wifi only available while sitting on a particular spot on the bench in front of the room. Oh well...It was cheap...and we booked this place because most other motels/hotels were already booked when we arrived in this region.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marleen1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Older motel, but clean and well kept. Staff was very friendly and accommodating . We would stay again, next time we go to Lancaster. Only bad thing was the continental breakfast wasn't available until 8:00 am on Sundays, and we were leaving early to beat the traffic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mario_purcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have stayed at this motel for years. We come to an annual sporting event that the time varies, but is usually in late Summer early Fall. We have seen three different owners since we've been coming and these are, by far, the most accommodating. They are friendly, helpful, and always on site. Yes this isn't the most up to date facility, but for us it works quite well. It's clean and serves the purpose for our visit. We just need someplace to shower and spend the night so amenities aren't a priority. Our room did have a small refrigerator (very handy) and microwave. A small continental breakfast is served and was a good way to start our morning. It's conveniently located in town with several restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I did not make a reservation and was looking for a place to sleep. The price was a bit high for a small space that was very out dated. The room was very clean and the staff was friendly. I assume the "staff" was the owner.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fnash4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Holland
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Amish Country
Comfort Inn Amish Country
#1 of 3 in New Holland
141 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
5.4 mi away
Harvest Drive Family Inn
Harvest Drive Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Intercourse
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,261 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Revere Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollander Motel

Address: 320 E Main St, New Holland, PA 17557-1302
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > New Holland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Holland
Price Range: £55 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollander Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hollander Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollander Motel New Holland, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing