We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Indoor/Outdoor Market” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rice's Market

Rice's Market
Ranked #9 of 28 things to do in New Hope
Attraction details
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting Indoor/Outdoor Market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Visited Rice's Market last week. There were plenty of vendors selling all sorts of merchandise which consisted of new items, used/yard sale items and antiques of all descriptions. Also plenty of baked goods, prepared foods, garden grown vegetables/fruits & plants were available. Although it was crowded, the set up allows for a large number of people roaming the various stalls without too much trouble. The vendors I dealt with were all very polite and helpful and the prices are very good. I did notice plenty of tourists enjoying their time there. An ATM and restrooms are available but I didn't use them.

There is no entry fee however they did charge $1.00 for parking. Their two sizable parking lots are located on either side of the market and are grass covered. There are special handicapped parking areas at both entrances. The pathways through the market itself are blacktop so navigating a wheelchair is possible.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    16
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
773 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Crowded and Hot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Tuesday my wife wanted to check out Rice’s Market, and it was CROWDED and HOT! There were a lot of venders with a wide range of sun glasses, household and clothing items for every age and of course there was what I call the yard sell section. Years ago there were a lot more vendors, but that was yesteryear. We did end up getting a good deal on several outdoor plants which made the drive less painful. Rice’s Market is okay as far as flea markets go, unless you want to drive all the way to Englishtown, NJ to see a real flea market.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchPhyllis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Flea Market Evolution”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I've been to Rice's Market countless times over the years and I do recommend a visit if you're in the Bucks County region. Years ago it was quite a hot spot and people would arrive before dawn to be guaranteed parking. Today the crowds are fewer and most of the vendors sell the typical schlock sold at all markets. However, select vendors have interesting and unique items ranging from more tasteful clothing, jewelry, crafts and antiques. Prices are often negotiable. Be careful as some vendors will misrepresent their merchandise. Inspect before buying. Dress comfortably for the weather. Behaved leashed dogs are allowed. Bathrooms and food are available. One dollar per car to park. Have fun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank AnAdventureAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great buys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

There is always something for everyone at Rices. Whether you are looking for something new or antique, you will find it here. Just make sure you are wearing comfortable shoes, it is very uneven ground that you will be walking on!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SherryH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rice's market in Bucks County”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Have been going to Rice's for two decades. It's a beautiful drive in the country and years ago, there would be a line of traffic, slowly inching towards the flea market. Many women came to the market from New Jersey and took days off from work for the Tuesday market. Sadly, it is now a 1/4 of the size it once one. I still visit the market in the summer to purchase plants, flowers and veggies. It's a nice day in the country. Follow a morning outing at Rice's with lunch at Peddler's Village.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sadie1rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rice's Market also viewed

 
New Hope, Bucks County
New Hope, Bucks County
 

Been to Rice's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing