We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location; mediocre, overpriced food; not impressive staff for this class of restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centre Bridge Inn

Centre Bridge Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Centre Bridge Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 88 Restaurants in New Hope
Price range: US$29 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location; mediocre, overpriced food; not impressive staff for this class of restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We went there for a high school class reunion dinner, for which we paid $60. While the facility did provide valet parking -- an essential service in a location where parking is notoriously at a premium -- the guy who was parking our car started to pull away while the trunk was open, and my husband was still retrieving something. (He stopped after I let out a little shriek of alarm.) Their valet staff could use some safety training! Drinks were included at this particular banquet, but the bartender told us we could not drink at the bar, and that "the party was inside". Not particularly friendly or inviting! The chicken was dry as a bone, but the sauce was its one saving grace. The dish included a side of naked, lukewarm vegetables, and decent, plain wild rice. The waitress who served us was friendly, but clueless. When asked what the vegetarian entree was, she didn't know. When asked what the dessert was, guess what? Same answer. One of the dessert selections turned out to be cheesecake, the slices of which were no more than a finger's width. Its two redeeming features are its beautiful, easy-to-find location right on the Delaware, with a view of the bridge to Lambertville, NJ and the tow path, and a very talented jazz singer-pianist in the bar, whom I would have like to have heard better, but we were not welcome to hang out in the bar (smh) despite having paid $60 pp for dinner.

Based on our experience dining there, we would not probably not go back. It certainly makes us think twice about possibly booking a room to stay there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank justmy2cents4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    6
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

A voucher brought us to this lovely setting in New Hope. Very few diners on a Friday night, but service still sporadic. Only bottle beer, none of it my husband's favorite IPA. My wine fine but pricey. His scallops unremarkable, my short ribs Wellington much better. Perhaps, if they adjusted their menu prices, they would enjoy the popularity of other Local Spots.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
168 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Romantic inn on the Delaware”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We had a lovely dinner about a month ago and the restaurant was just lovely in a colonial type of way. Colonial, but not old. Dark bar, tall candles, working stone fireplace made for a beautiful setting. We were so taken by the setting that we considered it for our upcoming wedding - but it's a little too tiny for us. Our meal was wonderful as was the service. They also have 9 guest rooms (with breakfast) above the restaurant for those who want to make a visit to the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
410 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Good............but not Great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Our party of six arrived 30 minutes before our reservation so that we could enjoy a drink at the bar, but the staff immediately walked us to our table..........really??? It took our server a bit of time to get our drink orders, so we would have really preferred sitting at the bar and letting the bartender attend to them.

Once we got to ordering our meals, things moved more smoothly.

As for appetizers, two members of our group ordered the Caesar Salad and were OK with it. Another person ordered the mushroom appetizer and was not happy with it. I shared the Solebury Salad with another in our group..........NOT the best salad that I have had.

As for our entrees, two people in our group ordered the Strip Steak..............only to be told later by our server that there was only one portion left.............at 7 PM on a Saturday night???? We thought that they were kidding! So one of our guests selected the Filet Mignon instead..........making it 3 Filet Mignons at our table. All four steak eaters said that the beef was fine. Another person ordered the gnocci entree .....said that it was good, but there was a lot of it that she wasn't eating. I ordered the Scallops & Grits...........to die for!!!!!!!!!!!

We all had dessert, but I would recommend saving both your calories & money by not ordering them. Carrot Cake was the choice for two of us.........not a good choice! The other four ordered the same dessert........Cheesecake with Raspberry Sauce & Fresh Berries. All four cheesecake pieces arrived.........drizzled with the sauce..............but NO fresh berries. Our server said that she would get them to add to their cheesecake slices, but when she brought an equivalent of a half cup of fresh berries for four people to share............that was the last straw!

Will we return here for another dinner? Probably not............too many wonderful restaurants out there wihout these issues!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LivinglifeinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa. USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pretty location, food is a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Went there to celebrate a friends birthday. Very pretty inside, true Bucks County atmosphere. The food however was a big let down. I had the crab cakes, they tasted as if they were filed with everything but crab, almost like the cheap frozen kind, plus super expensive for the quality (or lack of) . Drinks also pricey, the cesar salad was good. Would not go back....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MTMx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Centre Bridge Inn also viewed

New Hope, Bucks County
 
New Hope, Bucks County
New Hope, Bucks County
 
New Hope, Bucks County
New Hope, Bucks County
 

Been to Centre Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing