We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Centre Bridge Inn
Ranked #10 of 19 New Hope B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Me and my family vacationed at the Centre Bridge Inn making it our cental location for traveling to D.C., New York city, Phili, ect. Coming back home not only did we tell of our travels but our stay at the Inn as well. It was wonderful, very friendly staff, great food, spacious rooms with great decor. The most memorable was the scenic view from and all around the Inn and the Deleware river.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acdc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

This is a wonderful Inn with very friendly staff and great food! Over Labor Day weekend, we made last minute plans to travel to Philadelphia with our two year old to visit the Please Touch Museum and wanted to find a place to stay overnight on the way home to NJ. This was the perfect location! We arrived just before dinner and checked into one of the suites on the top floor (rm 10). The room was large with a separate area to put the portable crib. The decor is simple and traditional. After check-in we enjoyed a fabulous dinner on their outdoor terrace overlooking the river. The following morning my husband took our son (who is an early riser) for a walk over the bridge to the quaint downtown shops. We then enjoyed a great continental breakfast. Since I am 7 months pregnant with gestational diabeties, I requested a side order of eggs and the Innkeeper was very accomodating. My husband and son enjoyed the fresh fruit, bagels and pastries. We were so pleased with the friendly service and beautiful location. We will definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lal678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

It seems that not much has changed over the years as the comments in the other few reviews are exactly what you should expect. The location of the Inn is great in New Hope and it's proximity to the river and the bridge is a plus.
However, it is obvious that maintenance of the Inn has not been done uniformly, so some of the rooms such as the one we stayed it was truly in need of repair. The wallpaper is peeling, the carpet is stained, floor tiles in the bathroom are loose and come up.
Breakfast is self-serve buffet continental, as stated on the Inn's webpage. Choices in even this modest classification were limited, but the quality of the food provided was very good.

The inn is also a commercial restaurant, and as a result there were many people who were not staying that were entering and leaving the building. Therefore a bit of the privacy afforded by a typical B&B was missing. In addition, the inn lacks a common living space, library, or game room that can be shared by the guests. This can be a problem if you want to spend some time on-property but out of the room.

As a choice for a short stay for an on-premises function this Inn might suffice, but as a destination it might be wise to look elsewhere in the area. Hopefully they will repair the problems with the rooms, electrical, and plumbing in the future and increase their desirability.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RedBaron62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

My husband and I were married at the Centre Bridge Inn last month. They hosted our ceremony, reception and over night guests. Our friends and family cannot stop raving about the great time they had. Statements such as, "The food was fantastic", "The professionalism of the staff was unparalleled" and "What a beautiful inn!" are plentiful.

As a nervous bride, the events planner walked me through each step of the planning process and alleviated my anxieties. They managed every detail and never missed a beat.

While some have stated that the Centre Bridge Inn is pricey, we found it to be a great value for the quality of the venue and the services provided.

We stayed the night along with our guests and found our room to be clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated with antiques. The Inn Keeper made certain each of our guests had all that they needed and breakfast the next morning was well done.

Everyone is friendly and they really extended themselves to make for a fairytale wedding. I simply can't say enough. It was perfect!

We are relocating to the area and expect to enjoy many more good times at the Centre Bridge Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnAdventureAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We chose this inn because we were in New Hope for a wedding and other guests, including the bride and groom had booked rooms there. We booked a two night stay in one of the inn's expensive suites (the Fetterman Suite) because that's all that was left. The innkeeper could not have been ruder or more hostile on the phone, but against my better judgement we booked anyway because we figured our friends were more important than the innkeeper. What a mistake! The room was on the ground floor on the street corner, which was an intersection of the two main roads in New hope, so we felt like we were sleeping in parking lot. The room was stuffy but the windows didn't open so we had to have the air on, even though it was perfect weather outside.
None of that would have mattered if we had felt welcome, but we were met after a three hour drive with two babies with a nasty remark from the innkeeper about bringing children. I had confirmed that I would be bringing two babies and was assured by a more pleasant staff person that they would be welcome.
The innkeeper also seemed abnormally concerned that our babysitter (again we had okayed a babysitter for Saturday night wedding with the nice staff person), would "illegally" spend the night in our room. As if we would sneak an elderly person in to the small inn to sleep on their disgusting stained carpet...she knocked on the door while we were at the wedding to make sure the woman wasn't going to sleep there. I was horrified!
The "breakfast "was worse than at a Days Inn- stale refrigerated pasteries left out on a table. Not great advertising for what is supposed to be fine dining at their restaurant. Incidentally two other guests with children stayed at a nearby Hampton Inn and were treated like royalty. The hotel brought them milk for the kids and provided free cribs and were thriled to have them. To think we thought we'd splurge and stay in a "nice" place...

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank TheVagabondNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We stayed at the Centre Bridge Inn for one night as we only had one night in our schedule to get away and unlike most inns in New Hope, this inn did not have a 2 night minimum stay requirement...a good thing.

The Inn itself is a 200 year old historic inn right on the Delaware River that has been rebuilt twice due to fires. The last rebuild was around 1959 - when apparently wallpaper was very in fashion...every wall is papered with ornate floral or partridge in a pear tree paper. The restaurant and bar are original to the structure and provide a more quaint atmosphere. We did not eat dinner here but had drinks at the bar - paid $15.00 for 2 oversized glasses of cranberry juice with hardly any liquor, from an somewhat indifferent/unfriendly bartender. The restaurant seemed to attract a large crowd for dinner and offers valet parking. It has great access to the towpath - a 3-4 mile path along the river that takes you into the heart of New Hope. It would be great for walking, running, or biking.

We stayed in Room 7, which offers a queen bed and little space to spare. (We had a chance to peak in Room 5 which was much more spacious but was already reserved.) For the special rate of $99 per night, the room had a river view, a small private bathroom, a tv, lots of wallpaper (of which I am not a fan, even less so of peeling wallpaper and the bathroom had plenty), but the room was very quiet and clean. The bed itself was not comfortable at all and we both tossed and turned from the aching our bodies endured. It sounds exaggerated but its true. The bedding itself was fine, but the mattress just was not comfortable at all. I was grateful to only have to stay for one night.

Breakfast consisted of continental offerings...coffee, juice, muffins, bagels, cheerios, raisin bran, and fruit. Oh, they also had waffles that you could make yourself, but we did not.

We were here in March, and I am sure it is much more beautiful when the trees are in bloom, but those beds would prevent us from staying here again. If you do stay here, at least try to get Room 5. It lacks a river view but you won't miss it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skishell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

My Fiancé and I wanted to spend a scenic weekend in New Hope. 2 weeks in advance, we searched online for a Hotel or Inn along the Delaware River. We settled on the Centre Bridge Inn. It's one of the very few Inns along the Delaware River. Also, it is a Non-Smoking Inn, so that was another plus.

As soon as I entered the Inn, I felt like I had taken a step back into time. It was perfect for a romantic, picturesque weekend getaway. I thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and decor of the Inn.

The Innkeeper gave us a warm welcome. She showed us to our room and inquired if she could be of any more service to us. We thanked her, and she informed us that she'd be available to offer suggestions on where to go and what to do, if needed. Very pleasant lady!

We were told that the Inn was full that weekend, so we were glad that we had made reservations. (FYI: 50% of the fee is due at time of reservation. The rest was charged at time of Check-Out).

We had reserved a Riverside Room. Our room was absolutely charming. Fresh flowers and 2 pieces of wrapped chocolates were placed next to the bed.

Amenities included:

Queen Size Sleigh Bed
Private bathroom.
Clock radio.
Thermostat to control the heat in the winter.
Closet.
Television with remote.
Full-length mirror.
2 wooden chairs.
Thick white Towels. (The towels smelled like new and did not have the typical bleach odor. Nice)!
Small basket of lotion, shampoo, conditioner, mouthwash, and bar of soap.
2 Windows to a great view of the bridge and Delaware River.

There is NO telephone or refrigerator in the room. However, there is a telephone in the hallway with instructions of whom to contact if anything was needed

The bed, pillows, and linens were quite comfortable. I had a very good night's rest.

The continental breakfast was included with the price of our room. Breakfast is served buffet style in the dining room on the Main Floor. I liked that we could sit at our own private table for breakfast. My continental breakfast consisted of a bagel, pineapple, strawberries, homemade blueberry muffins, orange juice, milk, cereal. (Other fruits were made available, but pineapple and strawberries are my fave).

The change of scenery was exactly what we needed. The comfortable and beautiful Inn made it special for us. I was very pleased with our selection.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ck79reddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Hope
3.1 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
258 reviews
4.6 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
3.1 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites New Hope-Lambertville
12.1 mi away
The Brick Hotel
The Brick Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtown
105 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fox and Hound Bed and Breakfast of New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Centre Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Centre Bridge Inn

Address: 2998 River Rd, New Hope, PA 18938-9529
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > New Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Hope
Price Range: £127 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Centre Bridge Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Centre Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Centre Bridge Hotel New Hope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing