We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Marcella's North - CLOSED

Marcella's North
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We made reservations here and still had to wait. In comparison would not visit again. If you go in the winter do yourself a favor and do not sit near the fireplace it will smoke you out.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    1
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Intimate”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Very small indoors with some premium New Hope outdoor seating.
Intimate with a varied menu.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lvillejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming and cozy atmosphere with delicious menu items”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stopped here on a Sunday night for an anniversary dinner with hubby. What drew us in was the beautiful fire in the fireplace we saw roaring through the front window. We sat right next to the fire and were promptly tended to by the bartender/waiter. The atmosphere was quiet, subdued, lighting was low and music was just right for the place. Exposed beams, hard wood floors, plastered walls, all very rustic and charming. I had the fennel and mushroom salad - excellent! Hubby had caprese salad - also a great choice. The tomatoes were out of this world for January! We were served warm crusty bread with oilive/spices for dipping. My entree was shrimp scampi over capellini- perfectly done and the shrimp were huge! Hubby had Fradiablo shellfish over capellini. Very generous portion and good, but it lacked the space that you typically expect from a fradiablo dish. We were fully from dinner but were served complementary berries with fresh cream and a drizzle of grand marnier - awesome! Would definitely go back anytime!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyWomanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We had 70 guests in New Hope for our Civil Union weekend. Four of our guests ate lunch at Marcella's (not in the same groups or same times) and all reported how bad the experience was. The most common comment was that the only thing worse than the service was the food. I have to agree. My only experience there was equally bad.
It is really too bad as the restaurant is cute, in a great location and could be a special place.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerrrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and unprofessional”
Reviewed 2 April 2011

My girlfriend and I recently tried marcellas for the first time. The night started out ok, we thought we may have found a great place that we will go back to and recommend to friends and family. We quickly found out that this was not the case. I've never before seen whole grain garlic bread, very strange with not much flavor and a hard texture. The "roasted pork loin with an apple-cranberry demi glaze" was nothing more than a dry, tough, overcooked, not to mention $24 pork chop with maybe a teaspoon of the Demi glaze and a side of rice and broccoli. Wouldn't have been a bad dish, had we been eating at Denny's and paid about $8. The wait staff was extremely unprofessional, especially when you can hear them talking about you with other staff members from where you're sitting. The prices we paid for this experience were what should be paid for a very nice meal out, instead we received a chain restaurant-quality meal delivered by chain restaurant-quality wait staff. The only thing that was remotely good was the salad, everything else was pretty terrible, not to mention the 25 minutes we waited for our entrees to come out after we were finished with our appetizers. Fortunately for us, we will not be going back to marcellas nor will we be recommending this place to anyone we would want to have a great dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdlits44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marcella's North also viewed

 
New Hope, Bucks County
New Hope, Bucks County
 
New Hope, Bucks County
New Hope, Bucks County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing