We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Hope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porches on the Towpath
Ranked #3 of 19 New Hope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

When we first pulled up to the Inn, we were a bit disconcerted as it is up an alley near a Verizon storage unit of some sort. However, upon going to the main house and being shown our room in Cone of the outbuildings, we were pleasantly surprised. Lovely room, very clean. carol was very friendly and made us feel quite comfortable. Breakfast is adequate and served in your room if you request it. Would love to see the garden when in full bloom, and plan to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_J_B922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    101
    23
    15
    10
See reviews for
44
324
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Level Contributor
263 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

My wife and just spent a marvelous night at Porches..We stayed in Room 9 and were treated to a very attractive accommodation..quite unique and a very comfortable California King Bed. The staff were friendly, very helpful and gracious.Porches is in a terrific location just up from Main St, but secluded enough to be very quiet.Thanks to some personal research and help from Carol at Porches we made the most of our short visit. I highly recommend and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the separate dwelling which includes Room 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardomnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyside, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband and I were looking for a quick getaway from NYC and I was lucky that Porches had a one night stay available--so we jumped on it.
Fabulous location--we parked the car and did not get back in it until we left--in walking distance to everything in town and to the bridge to Lambertville.
We stayed in room 12--WHAT A ROOM! Great bed--amazing claw-foot tub--just amazing and comfortable. My only complaint is that it adjoins to another room and we could hear the family with children as clear as if they were in our room--but that's traveling with kids--I'm sure it would be different if it was just adults in the room.
The breakfast in the morning--my husband and I agreed was the best B&B breakfast we have had--it was great!! A great size portion and hearty!!
The staff was friendly and helpful--We could not have asked for more!! We would definitely recommend it and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTfromWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at Porches last week and had a perfect time. John and Carol could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The room was beautiful, and location the best-right in town, but private. We will be back !!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 07834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had our fingers crossed before we arrived. We made a reservation for one night and stayed 1 nights in room # 4. Small but delightful. We asked to stay another night and lucky for us they had a one night cancelation and we stayed a second night in room #3. Larger and delightful. This B&B is a delight. We enjoyed our time in New Hope and Lambertville. Please, consider this home for your stay.

Stayed October 17 - 19, 2013.

Room Tip: Want a room with two queens? Consider room 11. Wow this was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernest S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband & I stayed at Porches on 10/10/13 and really enjoyed it. Our room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. I loved all the statues that were around the property. John the owner was very accommodating letting us check in at 1:00 pm because we had just been to another B&B and checked out of there at 11:00am. He also gave us an umbrella because it started to rain but luckily we did not need it the entire day. Breakfast in the morning was very good. I highly recommend this place and will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were so fortunate to have this beautifully appointed bed & breakfast recommended to us by a shop owner in New Hope. How lucky we were indeed! The room was charming and the oversized tub was a relaxing end to a adventure-filled day. John, the owner, was very helpful, and his suggestions were right "on target". If you're looking for a quiet respite in a quaint, garden location, this is for you! Breakfast on the "porch" overlooking the gardens was a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHeitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Hope
0.4 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
4.3 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Temperance House Inn
0.1 mi away
Logan Inn
Logan Inn
#7 of 19 in New Hope
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porches on the Towpath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porches on the Towpath

Property: Porches on the Towpath
Address: 20 Fishers Aly, New Hope, PA 18938-1313
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > New Hope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious country house located directly on the Delaware Canal in the heart of New Hope.  Ten beautifully furnished guest rooms, all with private baths.  Two story, wrap around porch overlooking the Delaware Canal and perennial gardens.  A full country breakfast is served daily.  Central air, private off street parking.  Walk to shops, galleries and restaurants.  Mid week discounts available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porches On The Towpath Hotel New Hope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing