We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Hope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porches on the Towpath
Ranked #3 of 19 New Hope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here for one night in Room 12. The price is reasonable and booking/check in were easy. We had people staying above us and I know the building is older but you could hear EVERYTHING... and at one point it sounded like they were rearranging furniture. Our room was beautiful and I loved the tub for 2. It was clean and decorated very nice. The only issue with the room itself was the TV. They did tell us if you turned it off by the remote that it's a hassle to get it back on (which we did by mistake). We ended up with no TV to fall asleep to as we both like to do AND it would have maybe drowned out the elephants above us. I would maybe stay here again if on a budget but would probably try a second floor room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen91610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

A group of five women all 20-30yrs decided to get away from city life and head to New Hope to celebrate our friend/sister's 30th birthday. We stayed in rooms 11 and 12. Everything about our stay was wonderful. The hosts were very gracious and accommodating. I am a nursing mother and the management went out of their way to make sure I was able to store my milk over the weekend. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. I even got a chance to soak in the gorgeous tub. If you are looking to get away from NY/NY or DC, this was the perfect place. We also all agreed that we will return with our spouses/partners to enjoy the place as a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacayjunkie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

John is a wonderful host and Porches is a lovely getaway in the romantic town of New Hope (with the edgier Lambertville right across the bridge)... no need for a car but certainly, rent bikes or hike the great paths along the Delaware River.

enjoy...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfiore8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

This seems to be the general consensus here, amazing location with some small negative things that really make Porches just an average B&B.

The Pros:
You just can't beat the location.
1-3 blocks from everything and a 10 minute walk to Jersey. The rooms have an excellent charm about them and are tastefully decorated. Also the porches are fabulous as well. The staff will assist you with pretty much the basics, where to go what to do. Nothing too exemplary about them.

Cons:
They need to do some landscaping. It's not that it looks bad, just unkept. Most rooms are small, very small. Honestly, the breakfast wasn't worth writing home either.

We stayed 2 nights and it was okay. The food in town is amazing. Almost anywhere you go is notch food/wine/beer. Porches is a nice B&B, no frills but it does what it's supposed to. It wouldn't be my first choice when we go back, but I would stay there again in a less expensive room for the location alone.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SleptInYourBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

When we first pulled up to the Inn, we were a bit disconcerted as it is up an alley near a Verizon storage unit of some sort. However, upon going to the main house and being shown our room in Cone of the outbuildings, we were pleasantly surprised. Lovely room, very clean. carol was very friendly and made us feel quite comfortable. Breakfast is adequate and served in your room if you request it. Would love to see the garden when in full bloom, and plan to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_J_B922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My wife and just spent a marvelous night at Porches..We stayed in Room 9 and were treated to a very attractive accommodation..quite unique and a very comfortable California King Bed. The staff were friendly, very helpful and gracious.Porches is in a terrific location just up from Main St, but secluded enough to be very quiet.Thanks to some personal research and help from Carol at Porches we made the most of our short visit. I highly recommend and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the separate dwelling which includes Room 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricardomnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband and I were looking for a quick getaway from NYC and I was lucky that Porches had a one night stay available--so we jumped on it.
Fabulous location--we parked the car and did not get back in it until we left--in walking distance to everything in town and to the bridge to Lambertville.
We stayed in room 12--WHAT A ROOM! Great bed--amazing claw-foot tub--just amazing and comfortable. My only complaint is that it adjoins to another room and we could hear the family with children as clear as if they were in our room--but that's traveling with kids--I'm sure it would be different if it was just adults in the room.
The breakfast in the morning--my husband and I agreed was the best B&B breakfast we have had--it was great!! A great size portion and hearty!!
The staff was friendly and helpful--We could not have asked for more!! We would definitely recommend it and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTfromWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Hope
0.4 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
123 reviews
4.3 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
0.1 mi away
Logan Inn
Logan Inn
#7 of 19 in New Hope
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fox and Hound Bed and Breakfast of New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porches on the Towpath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porches on the Towpath

Address: 20 Fishers Aly, New Hope, PA 18938-1313
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > New Hope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Hope
Price Range: £72 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious country house located directly on the Delaware Canal in the heart of New Hope. Ten beautifully furnished guest rooms, all with private baths. Two story, wrap around porch overlooking the Delaware Canal and perennial gardens. A full country breakfast is served daily. Central air, private off street parking. Walk to shops, galleries and restaurants. Mid week discounts available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porches On The Towpath Hotel New Hope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing