We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Hope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porches on the Towpath
Ranked #3 of 19 New Hope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cozy Stay”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This was our first time at a B&B so I have no other inns to compare it to. We stayed in room #7 (nautical theme) for a 1-night stay. The room was pretty unique; it is in private quarters off the main house and had 2 floors with plenty of windows. We found ourselves enjoying the coziness of the loft with a queen day bed built into an alcove. The room was clean and the breakfast was very good. Since it was winter, breakfast was served in an intimate dining room where you can meet with other guests. Staff member, Jennifer, was very friendly, helpful and ready to offer anything we needed.

Room Tip: Check their website to see the décor/features each room as they're all different. They have roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBandFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    101
    23
    15
    10
See reviews for
44
324
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was one of the best bed and breakfast experiences we have ever had. It is a wonderful unique and distinctive B&B with marvelously and carefully decorated rooms. You will never regret your stay here. The folks are kind and caring and every need was attentively cared for. The Best! Six Stars.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garyinprinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

What a great experience! The accommodations, hot breakfast and room 1 exceeded our expectations. What a great place to remove the stress of the city, honeymoon, or enjoy a special occasion. Private entrances and bathrooms were an added surprise. This is small quant compound is one of a kind and has 4 or 5 separate detached cottages from the main house.

Park you car and picture yourself hanging around reading a good book while listening to the sounds of the train. The Inn Keeper (John) and his staff were friendly and welcoming. Consider this spot for your trip to New Hope.

D&T

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed in this unique inn for the first time as a local vacation close to NYC. We spent three days bike riding, walking, and taking in the charm of New Hope & the surrounding area. There could not be a better home base for all of it. Overlooking the towpath, with a manager who simultaneously attends to everything, but gives a sense of total privacy, we particularly enjoyed sitting on the upper of the two porches. In fact, we ate meals there, read, looked at the treetops & passers-by. There are books in every room, a statue in our bathroom. You are brought back in time to an earlier era.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jshiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Four of us went to watch Washington cross the Delaware successfully on Christmas Day, and wanted to stay in the area. We'd seen Porches in warmer weather and decided to try it out. We had Room 2 in the main house, cozy and beautifully appointed with antiques, etc., and 11, a two-bed room in an adjacent building that was luxurious and private. John the host was extremely helpful and called around to find an open restaurant as the town was buttoned up for Christmas night. The breakfast he served in the main house dining room was wonderful. We hope to go back to take advantage of the proximity to town and the canal path, and walk around or sit out on the porches for which this elegant B&B is named. An in-town experience we'd highly recommend!

Room Tip: In warm weather, an upstairs room will afford pleasant access to the porches and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCfromNorthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend decided to take me to a bed & breakfast for my birthday. As we love making day trips to New Hope, we came across Porches on the Towpath during a visit and decided to give it a try. I can't rave enough of their perfect location. We parked and walked everywhere; shops, restaurants, galleries, and pubs were all in walking distance! The best part was that we were in the middle of all the excitement but in a private location, which gave us the relaxing getaway we wanted when we decided we were done gallivanting through town. Porches in itself is absolutely breathtaking! I literally felt like a princess the whole weekend! The house was built in the 1800's and is absolutely charming.The room was tastefully decorated with beautiful pieces of furniture and art work(we stayed in room#6). The staff are friendly and dedicated to making you comfortable and feel right at home. The owner, John, welcomes you with a smile and is very resourceful on what is going on in town and assists you on picking out places to visit and eat. I simply did not want to leave this place! As my sister-in-law and husband were unable to make this trip with us as planned, we are looking forward to another stay and coming back in spring or summe to enjoy their garden. I will highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to stay in the New Hope/Lambertville area.(Side note: breakfast was delicious!)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blizkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great bed and breakfast in the heart of downtown New Hope. My wife and I stayed two nights in room 5 and had a wonderful experience. The rooms were charming and the breakfast each morning was delectable. You can park your car for the weekend and walk everywhere - shops, restaurants, and Triumph Brewing. John and his staff were warm and attentive to all of our needs and those of the rest of the guests. We can't wait to go back in the spring!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rulandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Hope
0.4 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
232 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
4.3 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
101 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Temperance House Inn
0.1 mi away
Logan Inn
Logan Inn
#7 of 19 in New Hope
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porches on the Towpath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porches on the Towpath

Property: Porches on the Towpath
Address: 20 Fishers Aly, New Hope, PA 18938-1313
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > New Hope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious country house located directly on the Delaware Canal in the heart of New Hope.  Ten beautifully furnished guest rooms, all with private baths.  Two story, wrap around porch overlooking the Delaware Canal and perennial gardens.  A full country breakfast is served daily.  Central air, private off street parking.  Walk to shops, galleries and restaurants.  Mid week discounts available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porches On The Towpath Hotel New Hope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing