We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“typical highway hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our stay at the HI express was fine — the room was clean, the bed comfortable, the breakfast okay. Also the pool was adequate and warm and the staff was polite. At the same time, it did not have the charme of a Holiday Inn but seemed more like the typical roadside hotel à la Best Western oder Comfort Inn: The interior was less modern than that of other HI express hotels, and the artificial smell of cleaning materials was lying in the air. Breakfast was served on those horrible disposable plates with plastic cutlery. Thus, we felt the place did not justify the holiday inn premium price.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank jacapsicum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear jacapsicum,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were tired and pulled off highway . We thought we would be in luck as not many cars and not many widows had lights on (early evening). Reception advised only one room left and it was a smoking room. We asked to view. It was smelly but staff advised they would spray it. The stench was right through the whole room including the bedding. There was no ventilation and we felt quite ill. We left feeling we were covered in smoke. Not a good sleep. Breakfast was ok and dining staff friendly.
We wondered if a couple of floors were closed off as it certainly was not busy.
For the price $173 for a double room - terrible
We travel the route a lot but this will be bi passed in future.
When is America going to up date anti smoking in public places ??

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osprey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXGibsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Osprey2013,

I apologize that you had a poor experience at our hotel. Our smoking rooms are used frequently, so they can be quite a shock to a non-smoking guest that stays in one. We appreciate your honest comments, and will learn from them so the next experience is a better one.

I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast and our breakfast attendant. She, like all our staff members, is what really makes this hotel great. Thank you for recognizing her.

I hope that we can move past this bad experience and you give us the chance to serve you again on your next trip through the area. Give us a call to reserve your room before you get here, and we will do our best to meet your requests. Thank you again, and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked this motel based on TA suggestons.
The Good:
Motel was clean, quiet and may be fairly new. Bedding was normal Holiday Inn quallity which is to say good. The bathroom was spotless and everything was in good order. The receptionist was very nice and helpful by recomending a local place to eat.

The bad:

IInternet was not working at all in the room. We use email to stay in touch as we travel as I am sure many do, and we could not get on the wireless internet at all. MS said we were connected, but nothing worked. I finally had to go to their business office and use their computer, which, after a long day of travel, was something I had not anticipated.

Sineage, as others have noted, is poor. Even their directions on their site are incorrect. If you travel with a smart phone, Google Maps directions will take you in circles. This interstate exchange is only a dozen buildings. When you get off the interstate, regardless of direction, look for the big fire works store, Their driveway goes to the motel right along side the fireworks store.

Room Tip: DO NOT USE GOOGLE MAPS! It will take you to the worong exit and have you gong in circles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gramps-nanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXGibsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear gramps-nana,

Thank you for writing such a great review for our property. We truly appreciate your feedback as it helps to make us better. Also glad to see that TripAdvisor was the reason you booked with us. We take pride in the cleanliness of your rooms, and our friendly staff is what makes us stand out.

I apologize for the technology issues you had while staying at our hotel. As for the signage and Google Maps, I assure you that we are working to rectify these issues quickly.

Thank you, and I hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The only thing keeping this hotel from getting a 5 star review is the location...which is awful! As someone else said, it is very hard to find...the signage is awful!
Once inside everything is great for the price...the staff is as friendly as can be...the beds and pillows are extremely comfortable...breakfast was great!
Shay (sp?) at the front desk was delightful...and Jen (the breakfast lady) did a great job.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qqqqqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

When we dropped in to the hotel on our way home, we were thankful to find a hotel on a Friday evening. It was difficult to get to the hotel due to the bad signage and took a few tries to find the road to enter the hotel. The women at the desk was very nice and quite helpful. The price was decent at $129 for two queen beds. It was a good start. Unfortunately, when we got to our room, in the bathroom, there was a wet, dirty towel on the counter, a used soap, the toilet was used and not flushed!, and the toilet paper roll was empty. It was explained to me that they were training new people, but that was no excuse for what we found. The beds were comfortable and the pillows quite nice. The internet was very adequate. There is a decent indoor pool and a good exercise room. We were awoken early in the morning due to the thin walls, as we could hear the people next door packing up at 5:30 in the morning. The breakfast was the typical eggs, bacon, coffee, juice, yogurt and a continental selection. There is not a lot of restaurants nearby, but there is a Denny's next door. Overall this is an OK hotel to stay by for one night on the way to somewhere else.

Room Tip: Take the top floor to help reduce the noise around you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXGibsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dera Glen007_11,

Thank you for giving us such great constructive criticism. I apologise for any difficulties that you encountered while staying with us. I want you to know that we are deeply sorry for giving you a room that was not ready for you yet, and do our best to make every stay as great as it can be. Unfortunately though, mistakes happen and we take those as opportunities to learn and make your stay better the next time. Thank you for the compliments about our staff and the comfort of your room. I sincerely hope that you will give us a second chance to make your stay great, and, when you do, we will show you how great we really can be. Thank you again, and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I haven't been a fan of Holiday Inns for many years and this is the first I've stayed at In at least 10 years. This stay was a very pleasant experience. The staff were exceptional and the hotel was definitely well above average. The hotel was very appealing, rooms were spacious and very nice. The staff was very good and greatly exceeded our expextations. It was a very pleasent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXGibsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear William G,

Welcome back! The Holiday Inn Express brand has changed quite a bit over the past ten years, and I am glad that we were able to give you such a great experience after being away for so long. Thank you for all the compliments regarding our staff and property. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here for a camp visiting day back in June and we were quite pleasantly surprised by our stay. It literally is 1 minute off the highway but we still missed the entrance in the dark as there is absolutely no sign which is strange. Obviously if you look around, you can see the hotel by the fireworks store but strange there is no sign by the entrance. The employees are some of the most friendly we have ever encountered. Even though it was only for one night, we were a bit nervous to see what an actual room looked like at a Holiday Inn Express as we don't usually stay at this type hotel chain. The room was perfect for what we needed. The room was very clean and much bigger than I thought. Even the hallways and elevator seemed new & clean. We got a great night sleep and happy to see that they had a complimentary breakfast buffet in the lobby in the morning starting at 6am. It had everything we needed for breakfast and the lady working in the room with the food kept cleaning and checking if more food/drinks were needed. The receptionist behind the main counter even offered us better directions to get to the camp for visiting day. That was nice because mapquest is wrong half the time and my gps on my phone has spotty service in this area. We left here feeling great that this cheap Holiday Inn Express did us right. We will definetely be back next year!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smas34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXGibsonGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gibson, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear smas34,

Than you for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review. While we are still seeking a more permanent solution, we have taken the opportunity to put up several signs to better direct our guests to us. We are very glad to have given you such a great stay! Especially when you do not stay with our brand very often. We hope that you come to visit us again so we may give you a repeat performance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milford
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown
22.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
24.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
#4 of 13 in Binghamton
205 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarks Summit
Hampton Inn Clarks Summit
#1 of 6 in Clarks Summit
419 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gibson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gibson

Address: 1561 Oliver Rd, I-81 at Exit 219, New Milford, PA 18834-7515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > New Milford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Milford
Price Range: £91 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gibson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Gibson, recipient of the 2007 Quality of Excellence Award. This beautiful hotel is conveniently located off I-81 at exit 219 Gibson. Centrally located between Binghamton, NY and Scranton, PA the hotel is ideal for business or leisure. The hotel is located in the heart of the Endless Mountains and is only minutes from exciting attractions. The Holiday Inn Express features the most up to date services and facilities and offers an indoor pool, fitness center, business center, refrigerators and microwaves in all rooms, and free high-speed Internet. Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express Gibson! Smart business! The Holiday Inn Express Gibson will make your business trip care free. The hotel is located just minutes from Montrose, Conklin Industrial Park, Frito Lay, Kirkwood Industrial Park, Maines Paper & Food, and the Flying J Travel Plaza, just to name a few. Smart getaway! This hotel is the perfect place to get away and visit great local attractions such as Elk Mountain, Harford Fairgrounds, Mormon Monument-Joseph Smith Home, Old Mill Village, Valhala Castle, Nicholson Bridge, Upper Delaware Scenic & Recreational River Center, Pocono Mountains, Pocono Raceway, Jem Car Classic, and many more! Stay Smart and experience this beautiful hotel with outstanding services and amenities. Many beautiful golf courses nearby! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gibson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gibson Hotel New Milford
Holiday Inn New Milford
New Milford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing