We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Providence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Musser's Historic Country Suites
Reviewed 13 September 2012

There are some hidden gems you would better not share, because they are so precious and should be kept as a secret----but staying at Mussers B&B is to be shared to put a smile on everyones face after their stay. Barbara is not only very friendly, but skillfully doing delicious organic breakfasts with many fresh fruits, her delicious baked oatmeal and lots more, but she is also maintaining a beautifull little appartment upstairs , thoughtfully decorated and spotless clean with two bedrooms, a kitchen and a nicely decorated living room,the bathroom is small, but with everything you'll need, even organic soap and shower products are provided.But most of all it is ever so quiet and only a stonethrow away from many sightseeing points and barbara will give you all helpfull hints to find them(eg Amish farms, a school and covered bridges)But what I will remember most is to hear the "clipclop "of the Amish little buggies while sitting on the porch of the beautifull former Post Office, while enjoying the evening sun.For us as German rational minded people this was pure wellness.We would love coming back while visiting our son, who spends a year at Mercersburg Academy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GudrunRot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

This is the 4th time we've stayed at this charming home away from home while visiting our son at Franklin & Marshall College. We've stayed in the Post Office Suite, historic and modernized with large, airy and delightfully decorated rooms. Barb's organic breakfast is a feast of fresh fruit, waffles, bacon, egg dishes, baked oatmeal and so on, all much beloved by our teenaged son.We eat on the outdoor patio, surrounded by peaceful gardens and listening to the clopping of horses and Amish buggies passing by. Barb is an exceptional hostess who's made us feel like a guest in her home. She's an all knowing guide who goes our of her way every visit to make our trip special.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Our experience at Musser’s Bed and Breakfast was truly exceptional. My husband and I have enjoyed staying at B&B’s as our first choice accommodation ever since we were married. Over the years our family has developed some pretty significant food allergies and many severe dietary restrictions. We thought our days of staying at Bed and Breakfasts were over until we met Barb. She was able to accommodate even the strictest of diets and we still ate well! Along with that the accommodations were beautifully decorated and neatly maintained. But the most remarkable part was her generous hospitality. I have never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast where I felt more like a true guest in someone’s home. It is not just a business for Barb she truly cares about people and extended herself to our family in ways we have never seen other proprietors do. Our children particularly loved her and did not want to leave. My oldest son still talks about her and looks forward to a return visit. We could not more highly recommend this establishment.

The Wainio Family

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The region's only organic B&B. Wonderful hospitality and fabulous breakfasts: local fruit and yogurt, home-made waffles and much much more! We were treated like royalty, and at the same time felt like personal guests rather than nameless consumers. We stayed in the suite that had once been a post office, with 200-year-old slate and wooden floors and modern touches like the big loft bed (several beds to choose from, actually). From here we explored the Amish country for a few days. This B&B also has a big common room and enormous selection of books -- made us almost wish we would be snowed in. Beautiful grounds with trees, flowers, rabbits and birds. Really a wonderful get-away place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My husband, two young sons, friends visiting us from Madrid, and I spent a long weekend at Mussers' B&B. It was not my family's first time to the area but the first time we actually loved where we stayed. Mussers' is historic - nearly 200 years old yet it's been very well maintained and modernized. The decor is beautiful and the suites are quite large - rather that of a full-on apartment than what one would expect from a B&B. The breakfast was delicious, healthy (lots of fresh fruit and yoghurt and other yummy stuff) and all came from local farmers. They were also able to accommodate my son who has severe food allergies.

The best feature was Barbara, the owner, who was so friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Before arriving, she provided us with a number of suggestions she thought would be fun/interesting given we had a brood of young kids and visitors from Spain with us. We followed her recommendations and I feel we had a truly unique Lancaster County experience. One of the highlights was our visit to the New Holland Stables where they auction off horses every Monday morning - Amish, Mennonites, farmers, etc. all under one roof to purchase livestock. Interesting, indeed! She also drove us (we followed her) to several PA covered bridges as she wanted to make sure we were able to see a few of the special ones without getting lost.

We had a truly wonderful experience. We hope to head back this fall.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We have stayed at Musser's Organic B&B a few times and can't wait to return. Bab puts extra care and attention into each stay, from freshly squeezed juice awaiting you in the fridge, to breakfast made with local organic fruits, even berries from her property. The suites have private entrances, and are beautifully and detailed decorated in local history. She cleans with organic products and uses only organics in the breakfasts. This is very important to us. She is also family friendly, my son started staying here at one and a half and Barb has been so wonderful with him. Playing with him at breakfast, inviting us for walks with her in the evening on the back property. My son also to play all over the big back yard. Location is great for those going to local attractions or historic sites. Barb has a lovely library too where one can curl up with a good book and soak in the refreshing PA Dutch air. She puts extra care into every aspect of your stay while giving you all the privacy you need or want. She has even wrapped lovely cake to part with in beautiful papers and bow. If you want a wonderful B&B experience in the area, this is the place. Barb will make you feel as if you are an old friend coming to stay.

Lastly, my son has multiple severe food allergies and she has gone out of her way to make us things that he could eat and avoids bringing out things he has to avoid. No other place I know would go out of their way to make a person feel so included.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pietrosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We recently visited the Lancaster area to see a show at Sight and Sound. instead of the usual vanilla motel chains, we decided to try a Bed and Breakfast. I found Musser's and liked that it was a historic home, could accomodate all three of us, and had an outside private entrance. We had a wonderful stay and were thrilled by the historic feeling of the home in a charming village. Several times we heard Amish buggies drive by the road.
Barb was very nice and welcoming. The home was exceptionally clean and we had plenty of room. We slept great on a very comfortable bed and breakfast was awesome. We had a delightful gourmet breakfast of fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, waffles, and bacon. The granola cereal (a secret Musser recipe) was terrific and the bacon was the best we had every had.

Room Tip: The upper suite had two bedrooms, a living room, a kitchen, and a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Musser's Historic Country Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musser's Historic Country Suites

Address: 56 Main St, Post Office Box 26, New Providence, PA 17560-9774 (Formerly Musser's Organic Bed & Breakfast)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > New Providence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Providence
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch Amish buggies clip-clop by your front windows. Look out the west windows at peaceful views of the barn, gardens and Amish-farmed fields. Read one of the library’s books. Fix meals in your private kitchen with local fresh produce and meats. Fall asleep in a lofted king-sized bed & listen to the sound of rain on the tin roof. Sit in the backyard and hear the birds sing, watch butterflies and hummingbirds in flight, enjoy the flowers and gardens. Venture out to visit the “down-home” goodness of pastoral Lancaster County and beyond.Join the Musser family at their restored home (the village’s former General Store & Post Office) where they’ve spent nearly three decades together. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing