We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the bad reviews! Awful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Stanton Garden Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in New Stanton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Believe the bad reviews! Awful!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

It was 4 am we had just made a 26 hour drive with two big dogs. I wish we would of looked at the room before paying. It was disgusting! The tub didn't drain as we showered so we had to shower while standing in one another's dirty water. The water was either ice cold or scalding hot. The comforter had cigarette burns all through it. The room smelt like mold and cigarette smoke. We did ask for a nonsmoking room by the way. The lady at the front desk was rude and quite strange. No customer service what so ever! It is not hard to please me but this place was a total dump! And not at all worth 90$ do not stay here!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ddell0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    18
    20
    31
    31
See reviews for
44
28
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I believe this is one of the first HoJos ever built.... at least it looks like it. The rooms are old. They aren't falling apart, yet, and they are fairly clean, considering how old they are. Also, they are roomy and wi-fi was good.

BUT, the heating unit in the room is NOT a heating unit. It is an A/C unit that has a heat strip, and IS NOT meant to heat the whole room. This is from the LG website: "the unit cannot be used as a main source of heat in a room/home; it only has a heating "strip" which does not allow it to work as an actual heater." Unfortunately, this is the only heat source in these rooms. Result: An unbelievably freezing cold room when it is 7º outside. My husband slept in his clothes. On the second night, we got additional blankets (worn and thin) which helped. But make no mistake... we still slept with two tees, pajama pants and two pairs of socks. AND, the beds, pillows, and blankets are terrible.

Why did we stay, you ask? There are only two hotels in the area that accept dogs. We stayed at the other one last time we were in the area, and I will take a cold, clean, old room over a room with mold and smells like cigarettes any day.

I suppose it would be okay if it's nice out. :(

Oh, and two quick notes- First, this hotel has changed names, now The Garden Inn, but has NOT changed ownership, so don't think it might be better because of the name change. They just dropped their association with Howard Johnson's. Second, although I read a lot about bad customer service, the night clerk, Gary, was awesome. There were many issues this weekend with the changeover, including them not having our reservation, but he worked through as much as he could with us. I would have given this hotel a much worse rating if it wasn't for his help.

Room Tip: Only go here if you don't need heat or a great bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmdressel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Stanton hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We left because the heat wasn't working and it was freezing. We got there at 2 AM with two kids and a cat. To get a heated room we had to load up our car and drive to another building so by 4 AM we just asked for our money back. The room was cold, stained, gritty feel, smelling like the 30 years of smoke, a wall plug was oddly exposed. the bed covers looked about 20 years old and were too thin for a very cold room. the woman at the front desk was mean and acted like were annoying her by being alive. believe the reviews and either drive on or get another place. it's gross and they don't care about customers. they should charge $25 per night for this kind of dump. I'll never stay at a howard johnson again. gross.

Room Tip: if you want a good room, go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ck12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

One of my worst customer service industry experiences ever. The desk clerk was not professional at all. I'm a pretty open person, but cover up a bit more please. When I arrived, I requested to view a room-because I had not seen pictures. The look of disgust was immediately evident on her face. We traded my ID for a room key. Reluctantly, she obliged. The room smelled odd, and the common areas were not much better. Overall, I just had a bad feeling about it. When i went back to the desk, she initially refused to return my ID, telling me that I had made a reservation and that the room was mine. If i chose to leave, my "card" would be charged. Funny, I never actually gave them a card. After a yelling match, the desk clerk released my ID and I walked out the door. This hotel, gets 0 stars for service, 1 star for accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

The motel was clean and I got a good nights rest. It is old and needs to be updated. The price was right and I was tired. The area is busy with trucks but was quiet in the room. There are plenty of places to eat in the area as well as laundry mats etc. its just a short drive to westmoreland community college.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Seasidehandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I booked on line through Howard Johnson site & was given description of room I had reserved it included refrigerator & microwave. The room I was given did not have this. Then when I returned to the room for the night, it was very cold & I discovered the heat was not working in the room. The refrigerator & microwave I could deal with but not heat. I was given another room but with protest. I ironically, this room had refrigerator & microwave. I said, "oh now I get the room I booked?" There was NO hot water either. I ended up leaving a day earlier because this place was a nightmare.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
3 Thank August B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Stanton
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 7 in New Stanton
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Express Inn New Stanton PA Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh New Stanton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in New Stanton
119 reviews
15.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
13.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Belle Vernon
Hampton Inn Belle Vernon
#1 of 7 in Belle Vernon
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Stanton Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Stanton Garden Inn

Property: New Stanton Garden Inn
Address: 112 W Byers Ave, P.O. Box 90, New Stanton, PA 15672-9431 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn New Stanton)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > New Stanton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in New Stanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — New Stanton Garden Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Stanton Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn New Stanton Hotel New Stanton
Howard Johnson New Stanton
New Stanton Howard Johnson
New Stanton Garden Inn Pennsylvania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing