We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original HoJo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Stanton Garden Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in New Stanton
Reviewed 6 August 2007

I always wanted to stay at this Howard Johnson Inn because sooner or later it will be bulldozed and replaced with a cookie-cutter motel. Traveling the east coast corridor between NJ and Florida in the late 1960’s/early 1970’s, I remember the orange roofed restaurants next door to the HJ Lodge or Inn. The rooms were always huge and there was a patio or balcony with 2 lounge chairs. The pool was Olympic sized and we could look forward to a decent meal and ice cream for dessert.

Today, usually staying at a HoJo you just never know what your going to get. HoJo is just a name today - a franchise with easy standards to follow. You can take the name and plaster it on any cookie-cutter motel you want to. Honestly, the corporate company that owns the franchise system should just retire the HJ name because its not the same anymore. I will go farther and retire Ramada Inn and Days Inn - names that meant quality in their glory years under private ownership.

The New Stanton, Pa Howard Johnson motel - built in 1960 is pretty old already. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not falling apart, it was clean, and I didn’t notice any long term residents. The owner was pleasant and we talked about the golden years of HJ. I requested a king room far from the pool. My room had a microwave and mini-fridge, cable with 78 channels and the old style table and 2 chairs. Yes I’m spoiled since I rather have either a recliner or lounge chair with ottoman. The old Westinghouse air conditioner kept the room cold, though a bit noisy for some I rather have it that way to drown out noise - which there was none even though the place was packed. Original HJ motels like New Stanton’s were very sound-proof, constructed of cement walls and floors. Everything worked except the free wireless internet. The signal was there but it just didn’t connect. I called the front desk and he agreed that there was a problem but it was something beyond his control. If I was staying more than one night it would have been a problem for me. My room also had a patio with 2 plastic chairs.

There is a self-service laundry available, and continental breakfast was served in a former guest room. Basic fare along with a hot waffles. The coffee was the best I ever tasted at a motel. The HJ restaurant is long gone, replaced by a Sheetz gas station. But there are plenty of fast-food joints within walking distance along with an Eat-n-Park restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jefffromark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 109 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2007

Small problem at check-in which the staff readily fixed. No decaf coffee at the continental breakfast, but otherwise breakfast was good. Room was very large and very clean. Have paid much more for much less elsewhere. Would stay there again.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank Reading_travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2006

We were on a long trip and instead of pre=booking we decided to get a hotel when we were tired. After being offered only smoking rooms in other pricier (read "new") hotels in New Stanton, we went to the Howard Johnson's, got a very nice rate and a nice room. It's an older hotel with older design, but has been redone but is spotlessly clean and really nice. All the rooms have balconies or little sitting areas outside. I liked the vaulted ceiling with beams in our second floor room. The big draw for the kids after weeks of tiny indoor pools was the extra large, deep outdoor swimming pool. They had a blast and we did too. I'd skip the free breakfast (unless you're a big tiny donut or tiny muffin fan) and go across the street to Eat n' Park (and you get a 10% discount with your room key) or the McDonald's. Overall, a delight after being charged much more for much less.

Stayed: June 2006
7  Thank moostack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank angelifabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Stanton hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 8 in New Stanton
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Express Inn New Stanton PA Hotel
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 8 in New Stanton
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Pittsburgh New Stanton
0.1 mi away
Super 8 New Stanton
Super 8 New Stanton
#2 of 8 in New Stanton
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Stanton Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Stanton Garden Inn

Address: 112 West Byers Ave, P.O. Box 90, New Stanton, PA 15672-9431 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn New Stanton)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > New Stanton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in New Stanton
Price Range: £31 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Stanton Garden Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Stanton Garden Inn is a few miles from top attractions such as Fort Ligonier, Laurel Caverns, Ohiopyle White Water Rafting and Idlewild Amusement Park. Seton Hill University is 17 minutes’ drive from the property. All American Paintball Park is 14 miles away. Westinghouse, Itron and General Nuclear Corporation are within 2 miles of the New Stanton Garden Inn. Hotel amenities at the New Stanton Garden Inn include a free breakfast, business center, free high-speed wireless internet access, and free parking. Other hotel features are guest laundry facilities and pets are always welcome with an additional $20 fee. All guest rooms are well equipped with free high-speed internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, alarm clock radio, iron and board, cable TV with HBO, and individually controlled heat and air conditioning. Deluxe rooms with jacuzzi tubs are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Stanton Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn New Stanton Hotel New Stanton
Howard Johnson New Stanton
New Stanton Howard Johnson
New Stanton Garden Inn Pennsylvania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing