We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A taste of Italy ”
Review of Vecchia Osteria

Vecchia Osteria
Ranked #1 of 85 Restaurants in Newtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A taste of Italy ”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This restaurant makes you feel like you are in Italy! The food is delicious and fresh! My husband and I took my dad there and he is very picky about his Italian food being that he is from Italy! He loved it! It is a byob which is awesome! It is clean and the staff is very friendly and welcoming! This is one place you don't want miss if you are in newtown!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    76
    28
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Italian!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Many restaurants serve Italian, but Vecchia is sincerely one of the best! The food is always fresh, flavorful and consistent. The atmosphere is cozy and you feel as if you are really in Italy. Pasquale's wife makes delicious, homemade desserts so make sure to save room for a piece of Tiramisu!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaycee18940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of my local favorites”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Vecchia is byob located in the heart of Newtown, PA. This local Italian eatery serves up old school rustic Italian recipes mixed with new world flare. Beside from being a great chef, Pasquale (owner) is also warm and accommodating. Even if you don't know him, you will feel like you do.

I particularly enjoy the Linguini and Vongole, the grilled lamb chops and the grilled veal chop. My all time favorite appetizer is the grilled Italian long hot peppers stuffed with mozzerella and wrapped in proscuitto. I could eat these every night of the week, but unfortunately my gastro system won't allow it. I also favor the Scungilli and Arugula Salad appetizer. Vecchia is one of the few restaurants in this area that serves up this type of authentic cuisine.

On cool nights, I enjoy sitting outside on the terrace while eating a fresh dish of pasta and sipping a nice Pinot Grigio. The atmosphere is lively and fresh and there always a good amount of people watching going on.

It does get fairly crowded on weekend, so reservations are recommended.

Edwin is a great waiter. Don't by shy to ask for him by name. And be sure to tell him Steve Pirolli sent you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spirolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I cannot say anything bad about this restaurant. Amazing food, staff, atmosphere! They take reservations which should definitely be taken advantage of because it is very popular. The prices are completely reasonable and I love that it's a BYOB. When the weather is nice, it is great to take advantage of the lovely outdoor courtyard to have a perfect meal with friends and family. I can't wait to go back next month for my birthday.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KaitMroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best food around!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Even if you think you know Italian food, think again! I am a super picky eater who adds or subtracts from most meals but, every meal here is made to order so nothing is ever a problem. Great for a date night or family celebrations. The prices are reasonable, the staff friendly and most important, this very clean establishment serves AMAZING food!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vecchia Osteria also viewed

Newtown, Bucks County
Newtown, Bucks County
 
New Hope, Bucks County
 

Been to Vecchia Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing