We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you are surprised how popular this hidden away Japanese restaurant is.”

Ota-ya Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 85 Restaurants in Newtown
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“you are surprised how popular this hidden away Japanese restaurant is.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Ota-ya competes VERY well with two other Japanese restaurants in Newtown. Food is good and prices are reasonable. Service was very prompt on a very busy Saturday night although we did have to wait even though we had a reservation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olewahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

One of the best BYOB places for sushi, if not the best, that we've ever been to. My hubby and i are regulars at this small, casual place tucked in the middle of a small strip mall. The board specials are inspired, not at all atypical of sushi. The rolls are easily thin layers of fish on fish on fish, instead of fish on rice. Sometimes though, there would be some rice on the roll when there shouldnt be. I wonder if they are just running low on fish that day? Regardless, the food quality, the service and the value is excellent. We started going here as a couple, and have now shared this experience with more than 20 friends, who all agree it is an exceptional experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rowing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous sushi, nicely priced.”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is a 'must go to' restaurant whenever I am in Newtown. Not smart but great food and great value. Much cheaper than the other sushi venue in town and in my opinion much nicer sushi.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Usually great but not this time”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant numerous times and have always got great service and good food. Today we went in for lunch at 1 p.m. There was six of us with some out of town family and we were quietly talking, there was nobody else in the restaurant. At the end of the lunch, I asked for another cup of green tea, the waitress got. It for me than came back within two minutes and told us we had to leave since they were closing. It was 2:45 p.m. The tea was piping hot so I couldn't drink it so I left it and we left. It was beyond rude, the usual wait staff and manager wasn't there. We been loyal customers here and unfortunately my husband had settled up the bill with a very genorous twenty percent tip. I hope this was an abnormality becuase we have always liked this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nursespark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy Sushi”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This is a small casual neighborhood restaurant that serves delicious sushi and friendly service. We visit here often and can always count on a good meal. Highly recommend any of the sushi and sashimi plates for a nice assortment of fresh sushi. I like the eel handroll and Ota Ya salad as well. They do not have a liquor license and you must bring your own bottle of wine but the wine and spirits store in Newtown is a only a minute or two away and has a great selection of wine.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ota-ya Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Newtown, Bucks County
Langhorne, Bucks County
 
Newtown, Bucks County
Newtown, Bucks County
 

Been to Ota-ya Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing