We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“camping at its finest”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dogwood Acres Campground
Browns Mills, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“camping at its finest”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

A small well kept facility with much to do on sire and located in an area with many attractios and much history

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    6
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
35
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This campground in nestled at the foothills of the mountains. A short drive away is some good hiking. There is a pond on site with good fishing. Planned activities for children if you have them or can just enjoy the quiet setting and relax if you don't. Not a crowded, frantic atmosphere. Lovely!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyCamper0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spring
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I have a family and travel throughout the east coast. I visited Dogwood 6 times this past year. Each experience was incredible. The owners strive to make everyones stay enjoyable and safe. As we are all aware, many people do not "watch" their children however, the park ensures safetyy for their guests. With the fabulous lake, swimming pool and play ground, we need to ensure as parents we monitor our children- it would be tragic to lose a child to drowning.
There are many seasonal campers.. Their sites are impeccable, flowers planted and most important welcome visitors. The campground does many fund raisiers for the community. I had the pleasure to experience the Cancer fund raiser for a local resident which raised over 7k dollars even though we experienced a snow storm- the owner provided a huge tent with heaters, live bands, etc to ensure the success of the event.
A very friendly campground for families, children and friends. The pool is beautiful, frisbee golf, beautiful fishing pond, new playground equipment, etc. The creek running through the property is beautiful. Having 3 children of my own, I would recommend everyone visit dogwood acres!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HHMiears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My family camps throughout Southcentral PA at least 6 times per year. This was the worst experience that we have ever had. It is better-suited for seasonal campers. At first the owners seemed to be genuinely concerned about our well-being. It turned out that they were watching everything we did! We don't drink, party, nor cause issues, but the owners always seemed to be in our business. They continuously yelled at our children and kept barking orders...

Don't park there!
Don't touch the fire ring! Don't move that rock!
Don't ride your bike there!
Don't get dirt on our fishing dock!
Don't talk, walk, take a breath, nor eat without letting us know!

Very disappointing!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Familycampingnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I have going to this campground for 5 years. At first, my wife and I found it very enjoyable. As time went on however, the rules and the personality of the owners made it feel like being in prison. The owner frequently berated people, using foul language, and generally treating his customers like inmates. Watch out for gossip-happy people that like to make trouble for others. As stated in other reviews, there are more rules in this campground than any I have ever seen. In short, if you want a relaxed and enjoyable time, don't camp in Dogwood Acres Campground. a.k.a. Dogwood Concentration Camp(ground)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank RVingFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed at this campground because of the award they won for being "small campground of the year" and that we like to try new places. We came in on Sunday and left Tuesday. There were very few people at the campground. Over 50% of the sites are seasonals Our check in was fine and our site (#16) was very wide and shaded. The site was level and graveled. We had the nice pool to ourselves almost the entire time. The bathroom were clean, but there is only 1 bathhouse with 2 showers and two toilets, however there is another at the office building. I can see how that would be inadequate when many more campers are on site.
The owners were very "hands on" and were working all day around the camp. They have worked hard to bring the camp up to its current condition.
We had 1 big issue: the WiFi service. It is $10 per day..way too much. The owner doesn't make any money on it, but most places it is free or much cheaper. We weren't able to get logged on later on in the day and they service was anything but helpful. Essentially, we spent 2 hours arguing with the company without resolution. For $10 and the principle of it! The owner tried as well, and couldn't help. This is a big negative for us.
There are rules for liability sake, but not so constricting that we couldn't enjoy ourselves. (Ok..so I can't dive in the pool or need to have the kids at our site by dark or can only have 2 dogs) We find that the people who complain about the rules are the ones who violate them so much.
We would consider coming back if the WiFi isssue is resolved. They do need more bathroom facilities. But a place with over 50% seasonals, must be doing something right.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Werbrichfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The owner was a total nut-job, literally dual personality.
Stay away from this place.
Only wanted to make some money off us.

We would have left after the first incident (there were 5, at least) with the owners if the kids were not having such a great time.

The last night we stayed Mr.Macho blew up in front of the children (swearing included) and we left first thing in the AM.

STAY AWAY IF YOU HAVE KIDS, please!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank Campfucious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dogwood Acres Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dogwood Acres Campground

Property: Dogwood Acres Campground
Address: 4500 Enola Rd, Newville, PA 17241-9743
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Newville
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Newville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing