We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FREE Getaway Fun for the whole family”

Colonel Denning State Park
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Newville
Attraction details
Newville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“FREE Getaway Fun for the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Free fun for the whole family. Great for hiking, fishing and swimming. There is a beach area, but no life guard, so parents keep your eyes open. For hiking and nature lovers the trails are easy to moderate. Best trail with a bird's eye view of Cumberland county is Flat Rock, better give yourself at least 3 hours of hiking time and I hope you like steep inclines.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was one of the most beautiful hikes I have ever been on. It is fairly steep, with a 1,200' elevation gain (according to the board at the campground), and rocky, but the gorgeous trees and vegetation take your mind off the difficulty. We didn't realize the trail was so steep, so we didn't start the hike until after 1:00, We saw quite a few people on their way back down, and though we had our 4 and 7 year olds with us, we weren't passed by anyone going up. There were a few people at the look-out, but not too many for a Saturday afternoon in August. The descent was a bit slippery sometimes, but nothing too difficult. We saw several people with their dogs, but it seemed to me it could make for some sore paws. There was an outhouse, but there were lots of spiders inside. It took us about 3 1/2 hours to do the 4.5 mile hike.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our most frequent family outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We live near the park and go there many times throughout the year. The hiking trails are well maintained and the facilities are great for a family picnic.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level Contributor
425 reviews
281 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Do the flatrock trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Came up here and had a great afternoon doing the flat rock trail hike. Takes about 3 hours round trip and has an elevation change of about 2000 feet. I'd recommend waiting until spring if you are unsteady on your feet at all as I feel a few times on the descent and could have hurt myself. There is a bathroom and camping facilities here. The bathroom has running water, but only in season, otherwise it's a pit toilet. Nice view at the top. One of the better hikes in this area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank tallgaloot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okeechobee, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“We had it to ourselves - great hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Since we visited mid-week and after Labor Day, we pretty much had it to ourselves! We did a loop hike of about 3 miles. The trail was well marked and maintained. A really beautiful park we'd like to see again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colonel Denning State Park also viewed

Been to Colonel Denning State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing