We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Travelers will enjoy the Joseph Ambler Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joseph Ambler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joseph Ambler Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 North Wales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Business Travelers will enjoy the Joseph Ambler Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Our company frequently recommends the Joseph Ambler Inn to out of town corporate guests because of the Inn’s county atmosphere combined with amenities that a business traveler expects at a great price. I recently booked 12 rooms for a group of business clients scheduled to meet in our corporate office. I could not have been more pleased with the attention to detail provided by Brian Cottman, Marketing & Sales at the Jos Ambler. Our guests were very pleased with the accommodations and the great food. Breakfast was a hit! The Joseph Ambler offers their guests a tranquil setting that invites relaxation. It’s what keeps us coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    81
    37
    18
    6
See reviews for
72
190
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

This was not our type of place. We stayed here because this was the chosen accomdations for our friends wedding. On the positive side, the hotel grounds are meticulously maintained, definitely by professional gardeners, very beautiful. The hotel staff was accommodating enough to switch us to a different room as well.

So about those rooms. Our first room was located at the top of the first flight of stairs in the ‘barn’ area. The walls were paper thin and at 5pm, with people walking around, it definitely sounds you’re in a barn. Also, it was extremely hot and stuffy in the room. The sign on the wall said that the AC was not on and if we turned it on it would simply circulate hot air. This was not going to work for us. It was the middle of June and it was hot out. The room itself was very dark and creepy. The butterfly ‘artwork’ on the walls reminded me of the Silence of the Lambs. We called the office and got our room switched out. Turns out the AC was on, but it’s a central system, so you can’t control it.

They switched us to the third floor of the Thomas Wilson house, where the rooms had AC control. We were asked ‘Are you sure that’s ok?” we said, ‘Yeah, that sounds fine’. We got to our new building and new room, and it was very quiet. There were more windows, but it was still pretty creepy. The furnishings on this place look like something out of those ghost/horror movies. We joked about it behind haunted, then googled it, and discovered that our building was actually haunted and were completely freaked out. Needless to say we slept with the lights on, unhappily. The breakfast the next morning was average at best.

My husband and I are devoted to a particular hotel chain and we expect a certain caliber stay for a given room rate. This did not meet our expectations, and maybe it’s because we’re not bed and breakfast people. But we know now, to do research before we shell out that kind of money for a night’s sleep, and definitely no more bed and breakfast-type inns. There was another hotel 10 minutes away that would have suited us better.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank likesthebeach8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abington, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I have been to the JAI on many occasions and have never been disappointed. After being taken there for a dinner/presentation for work, I fell in love, and have since gone back to eat and stay multiple times. After falling in love with the beautiful ground, cozy rooms and amazing food, my husband and I were beyond excited to be able to have our wedding there last August. Wendy was able to give us exactly what we wanted for our special day, even with our guest list of only 30 people and our sepcial requests! As always, the food was excellent and the service was great. The JAI made our wedding day perfect, and my husband and I can not wait to go back for our anniversay next month. I can not think of a single negative thing to say about this place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, Bucks
Level Contributor
203 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Went for dinner with two colleagues - excellent food! We all had excellent entrees, well cooked and presented. The shared dessert was also excellent! Have eaten here several times over a period of years, and food always excellent. Haven't stayed overnight for some time as I personally don't enjoy a cutesy olde-worlde ambience when on business! However the JAI is always welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jockette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here recently for a wedding and had a great time. The grounds are nicely laid out and the location in relation to the area is perfect. The food is pretty decent so there are few complaints there (except for breakfast which was utterly disappointing) and the lack of coffee makers in the room meant you had to go to the front desk to queue up for what took an awfully long time for one cup of coffee. The bar was decent, although closing at 11pm on a Saturday night with a packed bar left many people unhappy and off to find other options. The staff was helpful throughout the stay and accomodating to such a large party that we took over almost the entire hotel. It does give you a boutique type feeling as it strives to a median between a bed and breakfast and a hotel, without being too commercialized or too over-the-top old-world. The rooms can really be hit or miss, in style, comfort and appearance. Ours was on one of the top floors and keeping with the style of the building it was awkwardly set-up and just rather odd in design (especially with a miniscule TV in the wall halfway across the room that couldn't be seen unless you were hanging out of the bed). The AC was a big issue in our room but nothing could be done even as we had it cranked up (an incredibly warm time of year). Otherwise the room itself was ok. Other people staying there with the wedding had nicer rooms and some had less desireable rooms, but all in all nothing was overly terrible. Its not a bad choice for the area and a nice spot.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Landgraf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, Manager at Joseph Ambler Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
We at the Joseph Ambler Inn greatly appreciate that you took the time to write a review from your last stay. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant experience. I should your comments about breakfast to our Restaurant Manager and Executive Chef so that they are aware of the issue. As for the rooms, we do have certain restrictions on design and layout since we are working with historic buildings.

Unfortunately there is nothing that we can do about the bar closing at 11pm. We have a residential hotel liquor license and the state requires that we close at 11pm. Staying open any later, even if they bar is packed, would put us in violation with the Liquor Control Board and we could lose our license as a result. Large parties should try and coordinate with our Front Desk Sales Staff; we may be able to set you up with a Whole House Agreement where you can rent out one of the buildings. Groups that contract a Whole House Agreement can use the common areas in that building from 11pm-7am for an "after party." That allows guests to continue to party after the bar is closed or their event is over. I know this won't help you as reviewer, but I hope it is helpful for guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

My husband and I joined the JAI for the Wine Dinner! What a great time! Stags' Leap Winery paired a spectacular dinner with some of their best wine. The happy hour with appetizers was held outside in a beautiful setting. The amazing dinner was held in the newly expanded Ballroom. We chose to stay overnight in one of the rooms that were offered. Our room was spacious and clean and very comfortable. The Front Desk helped with any questions we had about our room amenities. The breakfast the next morning was great. This historic site set back away from the hustle and bustle was just what we needed after a long work week. We will definitely be back! Look for the upcoming events on the website and on FB. I would love to see some of the people we met back again for the next one!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janiezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

The food was delicious, staff very helpful, grounds were beautiful and atmosphere was laid back.

Would definitely eat or stay here again with the wife.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brtst11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Wales
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Philadelphia Montgomeryville
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Montgomeryville
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Lansdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Montgomeryville
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Montgomeryville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Montgomeryville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joseph Ambler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joseph Ambler Inn

Property: Joseph Ambler Inn
Address: 1005 Horsham Rd, North Wales, PA 19454-1413
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > North Wales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Wales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Joseph Ambler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Joseph Ambler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joseph Ambler Hotel North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing