We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northumberland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Splash Magic Campground
new york
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Never again!!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just got back from Splash Magic today. Went with 5 other families and rented a cabin. Said it had tv in unit which it did not. Air condtioning in one unit was broken. Owner told us too bad, take your money back and leave!! If we hadn't planned this a year ago with 5 other families we most certainly would have. It was 100 degrees and it was too much to ask for an ac unit that worked. The owner found his conscience about an hour later and had someone come swap it out. No field of any sort for kids to play, bike rentals and boat rentals were closed by 6pm. It stayed light out till almost 9pm and kids couldn't do have the stuff they have to offer. Besides they charge you $16 dollars PER child on top of the ridiculous price you already paid for your very average cabin. Then you get nick and dimed to death for $2 just to use the crappy wifi for 24 hours. Yes, not even for your entire stay. Only positive about this place was the prices in the camping store, very reasonable. Would never go back here again. Been to many cheaper, much nicer campgrounds were the owners want you back!!! This owner will run this dump right into the ground.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank andrew1768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron B, Owner at Splash Magic Campground, responded to this review, 1 June 2016
The AC in the cabins is new central air. When customers open windows and leave the door open to unload their cars, it is reasonable to assume that your cabin is going to get hot again. During this particular stay, the heat index was almost 100 degrees. We explained that the cabin would cool down when the doors and windows were closed and agreed to also put a window air conditioner in the bedroom where the customer would be sleeping. This did take about an hour for maintenance to get to that project but it was taken care of and the cabin was cool for sleeping. All rental bikes and boats are open from 10AM to 6PM and are collected before we start our evening programs through the week. We do not want to have so many bikes out when our tractor and wagon ride are going on. This is a safety issue for all the children. Our bikes are open on The weekends until 8PM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    30
    16
    15
    30
See reviews for
108
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Our church has a lot of RV campers and many families go on trips together. We don't have an RV so we rented a cabin right on the lake. Never camped before. What an awesome surprise. Very clean. Air conditioning was great. Every staff member from the young teens at the bumper boats to the lovely ladies in the office to those driving in the golf carts were SOOO friendly. I manage a hotel and this place impressed me. I would come back again. The mini golf course was just being redone and was very nice. My teens enjoyed the water slides and pool. The outdoor movie was super. My son didn't catch a fish but that was the only disappointment. It was his first time but everyone else got fish so the lake is stocked! What a great place to spend some quality family and friend time. It's close to KNoebels and the Rolling Hills Red Deer Fram. Both are "must sees" Also went to the Penns Caves which were cool.

Room Tip: Get the cabins with the bathroom, air conditioning and loft!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbrowndhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouldsboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is not a kid-friendly place. For several days each season, the park is closed to families and becomes a biker hangout, with various sexual activities taking place in and around the pool and activity tent area. During the rest of the season, I saw kids playing in and around the cage used for nude dancing and God knows what else, which turned my stomach. The owner, Ron Brown, is also not child-friendly. One night he came to our trailer looking for my husband, and when my 11-year-old daughter didn't answer fast enough for him about my husband's whereabouts, he screamed at her. She came to me immediately afterwards, visibly shaken and scared out of her wits. We left immediately afterwards. If you value your child's self-esteem, please don't spend your vacation here.

Room Tip: Don't go at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron B, Owner at Splash Magic Campground, responded to this review, 1 June 2016
We do have one adult motorcycle weekend in early June which a lot of bikers attend. During these events we raise money for many charities including Beyond Violence, a home for battered women and children, abused children, "Truckin for Troops" and wounded warriors. We don't do any thing at the biker event which in any way effects the campground or our guests coming at any other time. During this special week, the campground is full of bikers who are the same bikers that ride for Geisinger's Children Hospital and lots of other charities around the state. There are no children allowed on the campground property during this event.

The cage that you speak of was installed and used for a Halloween prop for our October Halloween weekends and was removed before the start of the 2013 season. Not used for dancing as you say.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I have been camping for 40 + years and I have NEVER EVER run into a campground that the owner thinks he can bully his way into getting anything he wants! The owner is a shameless little man that thinks his beer muscles can get him whatever he wants. He is a drunk that wants to turn his campground into a Harley Davidson hang out. He yelled at my daughter who wouldn't harm a fly and had her crying for hours. She did NOTHING to deserve him yelling at her this way and we will NEVER return to this place. Not to mention how filthy it is. The owner protects only his drunken buddies and treats family oriented people like dirt. What a little man with a HUGE attitude. I hope this place turns into a biker park and goes belly up within a month!

Room Tip: DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE!!!! No longer a "family" campground. All bikers now!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Great time with great people. our first trip to splash magic was the bike rally, loved the camp ground so much were bring our daughters back in July and were booked for the Aug. 2012 rally. Met great people and made new friends. thanks splash magic for a awesome time. The Preitz family

Room Tip: we stayed in the cozy cabins and they were deff. cozy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preitzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Bathhouse was still being rebuilt after last years flood and was not told about this at reservation. We had to drive to the bathhouse on other side of camp. Not very convient when you have a 5 year old. I would visit again if I was able to get the same site by the river.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueberry1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This was our first visit and we all had a great time, even though the weather was a little chilly for our visit. The kids loved renting the bikes and doing all the activies, we were never bored. The pool was nice, although, like i said it turned chilly on us, so we had limited use. A few words of advice, if you're in the cabins, reserve a cart, they go quick and you can't get one later. My kids loved the wagon rides, especially when the mascots rode with them. The only thing i would suggest, is that they have a seperate parking area to leave your vehilcles after unloading. It was a pain to have cars driving by all the time, you can't just sit and relax with the kids because you have to worry about traffic all day. I don't see why anyone needs to drive thier car to the activities or pool.......i did try to put in a suggestion while we were there, but no one seemed interested in what we had to say......that was our only inteaction with bad management.....otherwise, they were great....the cabin was a little steep in price, didn't like the microwave so high over the stove, there was no oven, but was nice not to have to set anything up.....we would go again.....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meekosmom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northumberland
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Country Cupboard Inn
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Selinsgrove / Shamokin Dam
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Selinsgrove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lewisburg
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#3 of 8 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
7.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Lewisburg
Comfort Suites Lewisburg
#4 of 8 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splash Magic Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splash Magic Campground

Property: Splash Magic Campground
Address: 213 Aspen Ln, Northumberland, PA 17857-8444
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Northumberland
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Northumberland
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a family oriented campground and features many full hook up sites with water, sewer, electric and cable TV. The campground also has 41 full service cabins with heat/AC, full kitchen, full bath, cable TV, picnic table, charcoal grill and fire pit. The amenities include a family swimming pool with attached splash park, adult only swimming pool, in ground hot tub, 2 water slides, miniature golf, 12,000 sq foot playground, bumper boats, paddle boats, row boats, aqua trikes, pedal go karts, basketball court, game room, ceramics pavilion, recreation hall, live entertainment, themed weeks, restaurant/snack bar, several bath houses, store with camping and RV supplies and a certified RV mechanic on duty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Splash Magic Campground Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing