We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Splash Magic Campground
Nearby Hotels
Econo Lodge & Suites(Shamokin Dam)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$130
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Suites Inn Budget Host(Lewisburg)(Great Value!)
US$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Lewisburg(Lewisburg)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$108
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Country Cupboard Inn(Lewisburg)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
59
39
22
18
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
39
22
18
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbumper boatssplash magiccamp storeride bikesfun weekthe dragoncamping tripchildren's poolminiature golftent sitescamp groundsnack shackquiet hoursloved the adult poolper daynice campgroundbasketball court
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The management there only cares about getting your money. We were very dissatisfied with our site and when I told the manager she said "oh well, most people like that site". She did not care at all that we were dissatisfied. We were not offered a different site or even a partial refund. I have been camping for 15 years and this is the first time I left early (3 days) from a vacation. Refund or not I wasn't staying. Pool was filthy, slides were not worth paying extra for. Putt Putt golf was "in progress with repairs". We we did not have cable even though we were supposed to. They blamed it on the flood from last year (Sept 2011). If that's the case, then they should have told us that when we booked. We were just there last week (July 2012). The showers were filthy and the water temp changed from freezing to scalding without touching the knobs, lord helps any little kids trying to take a shower. Even the people who worked there for the summer complained about the management and owners.The seasonal campers did not like having strangers there and were not friendly. It's no wonder they lost their Yogi franchise. This campgrounds days are numbered.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was our worst camping trip EVER!!! Staff is very rude and will stop at nothing to make money. Do not waste your time or your money. Alot of the things on their website do not take place and you will be told " because of the flood"..the flood was a year ago......Make sure you bring enough to eat.....snack bar closes for hours a day.....
NEVER going back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2juneboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just got back from Splash Magic today. Went with 5 other families and rented a cabin. Said it had tv in unit which it did not. Air condtioning in one unit was broken. Owner told us too bad, take your money back and leave!! If we hadn't planned this a year ago with 5 other families we most certainly would have. It was 100 degrees and it was too much to ask for an ac unit that worked. The owner found his conscience about an hour later and had someone come swap it out. No field of any sort for kids to play, bike rentals and boat rentals were closed by 6pm. It stayed light out till almost 9pm and kids couldn't do have the stuff they have to offer. Besides they charge you $16 dollars PER child on top of the ridiculous price you already paid for your very average cabin. Then you get nick and dimed to death for $2 just to use the crappy wifi for 24 hours. Yes, not even for your entire stay. Only positive about this place was the prices in the camping store, very reasonable. Would never go back here again. Been to many cheaper, much nicer campgrounds were the owners want you back!!! This owner will run this dump right into the ground.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank andrew1768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron B, Owner at Splash Magic Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

The AC in the cabins is new central air. When customers open windows and leave the door open to unload their cars, it is reasonable to assume that your cabin is going to get hot again. During this particular stay, the heat index was almost 100 degrees. We explained that the cabin would cool down when the doors and windows were closed and agreed to also put a window air conditioner in the bedroom where the customer would be sleeping. This did take about an hour for maintenance to get to that project but it was taken care of and the cabin was cool for sleeping. All rental bikes and boats are open from 10AM to 6PM and are collected before we start our evening programs through the week. We do not want to have so many bikes out when our tractor and wagon ride are going on. This is a safety issue for all the children. Our bikes are open on The weekends until 8PM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Our church has a lot of RV campers and many families go on trips together. We don't have an RV so we rented a cabin right on the lake. Never camped before. What an awesome surprise. Very clean. Air conditioning was great. Every staff member from the young teens at the bumper boats to the lovely ladies in the office to those driving in the golf carts were SOOO friendly. I manage a hotel and this place impressed me. I would come back again. The mini golf course was just being redone and was very nice. My teens enjoyed the water slides and pool. The outdoor movie was super. My son didn't catch a fish but that was the only disappointment. It was his first time but everyone else got fish so the lake is stocked! What a great place to spend some quality family and friend time. It's close to KNoebels and the Rolling Hills Red Deer Fram. Both are "must sees" Also went to the Penns Caves which were cool.

Room Tip: Get the cabins with the bathroom, air conditioning and loft!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbrowndhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is not a kid-friendly place. For several days each season, the park is closed to families and becomes a biker hangout, with various sexual activities taking place in and around the pool and activity tent area. During the rest of the season, I saw kids playing in and around the cage used for nude dancing and God knows what else, which turned my stomach. The owner, Ron Brown, is also not child-friendly. One night he came to our trailer looking for my husband, and when my 11-year-old daughter didn't answer fast enough for him about my husband's whereabouts, he screamed at her. She came to me immediately afterwards, visibly shaken and scared out of her wits. We left immediately afterwards. If you value your child's self-esteem, please don't spend your vacation here.

Room Tip: Don't go at all.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
18  Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron B, Owner at Splash Magic Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

We do have one adult motorcycle weekend in early June which a lot of bikers attend. During these events we raise money for many charities including Beyond Violence, a home for battered women and children, abused children, "Truckin for Troops" and wounded warriors. We don't do any thing at the biker event which in any way effects the campground or our guests coming at any other time. During this special week, the campground is full of bikers who are the same bikers that ride for Geisinger's Children Hospital and lots of other charities around the state. There are no children allowed on the campground property during this event.

The cage that you speak of was installed and used for a Halloween prop for our October Halloween weekends and was removed before the start of the 2013 season. Not used for dancing as you say.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews