We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deliciously Unique”

Hickory Bridge Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Orrtanna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Experience a delicious family style dinner in a historic barn. Dinners are featured for individual parties on the weekends by reservations. During the week groups of 35 or more can be served with advance notice. Bed & Breakfast accommodations are available seven days a week.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
226 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Deliciously Unique”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Four dined here 11/22/13. This was our first time here (but not the last!).Excellent food and experience. There's little I can add to the other excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. The greeting at the entrance was warm and friendly. The warm cider. The unique ambience of the old barn atmosphere. The menu that evening was ham w/pineapple pudding, broasted chicken, oven roasted onion potatoes, carrots, green beans, corn fritters, warm apples, and there famous crab imperial. Homemade bread (real butter, too!!), spiced peaches, salad with their bacon dressing. This was served family style and was all-you-could-eat.

Deserts were varied and excellent. Choc. mousse, choc. cake with a peanut butter icing, ice cream sundae were only a few offered.

Our server was Connie. She was extremely pleasant and added to the evening.

They do not serve alcoholic beverages nor soda. But it is a BYOB. We brought our wines and they kept them chilled until we wanted them. Then the wines were brought to our table in an ice bucket. No corkage fee and you poured yourself.

Overall, a wonderful dining experience. Dinner was $25 pp, a real bargain!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dutch1638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    20
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitehall, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Real Gem!!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

On a recent bus tour of Gettysburg, we were taken to Hickory Bridge Farm for lunch. It literally sits in the middle of no where - out in the country. A beautiful old restored barn.

We were greeted by the the owner and hostess, a real delightful person, and seated in the dining room.

The food is like home cooking. We had chicken and ham served family style. Not only was the food good and piping hot, but the service was excellent.

It sits between Gettysburg and Chambersburg off of US 30. If you are anywhere near this area, this restaurant is a must!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertB407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“History, Robert E. Lee and great chow!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

During a recent Navy reunion in Gettysburg, we were taken out in the lovely countryside for dinner at Hickory Bridge Farm. In addition to the restaurant, there is a quaint country store and a museum with antique cars and farm machinery. As you enter the restaurant, you are served warm apple cider. Dinners are served family style, and you get all you can eat. The peaches and preserves are wonderful. Then there is a performance by the Confederate Commander Robert E. Lee and his wife. All in all, a really remarkable evening. I was so stuffed I nearly passed on breakfast the next morning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abigguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Like stepping back into History”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This restaurant is very unique it is a barn that's correct a barn. This barn goes back in history and it is beautiful place to visit and first you walk up a lovely side walk and enter the front of this barn and it is a gift store. There you will be greeted by a warm welcome the hostess then will take you to the reception area. There they will ofter hot cider. You will proceed into the dining area in the gorgeous barn so warm and welcoming, then you are seated and your waitress will guide you through your meal. Delicious food that is all prepared(home cooked) . So when your in the area come visit this restaurant you will not be unsatisfied with anything.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amiee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tucked away gem!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Looking for a nice ride in the countryside? Then dinner at a beautiful Restaurant! Well this is it! Food is scrumptious and served family style. A must to make reservations! This Restaurant is a true delight! WE will be going back and soon!

Oh and they have a B&B...think 9 rooms! A very quiet and relaxing getaway!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hickory Bridge Farm also viewed

 

Been to Hickory Bridge Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing