We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our go to place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orrtanna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hickory Bridge Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Orrtanna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This trip we stayed in the cottages. We loved them! So peaceful and quiet there! This will be our go to place every time we visit! The food in the old barn was fantastic! The staff is very friendly and attentive. The grounds were astonishing!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillieSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Went to Gettysburg last weekend and stayed at HBF. We stayed in the farmhouse which is beautiful and overlooks a small creek and covered bridge. The grounds and flowers are beautiful. Food was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeS228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

On May 21, 2013 we had the opportunity to spend the night in cottage 3. We were traveling with friends who stayed "next door" in cottage 4. What a beautiful place. Cottages were lovely. Decorated very nicely. Even included a fireplace stove (which we didn't need, since the temps were in the 80's that evening!). Staff was wonderful, providing us with directions to our destinations for dinner that night and sight-seeing the next day, as well as information about the farm and it's buildings. No TV reception, but each cottage equipped with DVD TV combo unit and store had movies for us to borrow. We had comfortable chairs, in the room (as well as the bed) and the cottage porches had chairs as well. So sorry that we could not experience the wonderful dinner that we heard about, as the restaurant was not open the evening we were there.
Breakfast the next morning was delicious and plentiful.This was my husband and my first bed and breakfast experience and it was very positive. No complaints!

Room Tip: Loved the cottages, but may try a room in the main house if we stay again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We returned again to Hickory Bridge this time for a relaxing, cozy and romantic way to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We love Cottage 2 with its proximity to the sounds of the rushing stream and private location in amongst the woodland. When we were there, no one else was staying in the cottages, so we had the place to ourselves. We brought some homemade sangria and snacks and sat out on the patio for hours talking an enjoying each other and our surroundings. It was a slightly cool night so we left the one window open so we could listen to the rushing stream as we slept...how relaxing.

As we were checking in, the housekeeper met us at the door and was so welcoming, and as we were leaving, Mary Lynn the innkeeper/owner stopped planting flowers to talk to us about our stay and the improvements that are ongoing on the property. This place is very welcoming and like a home away from home.

We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: The cottages are the best for location and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbados88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

If you want an ultimate bed and breakfast get away in the country, I highly recommend this. I have stayed there several times over the last ten years and have never been dissapointed. It is in an absolutely isolated location but only 9 miles from downtown Gettysburg. The choice of rooms is great...from fully furnished cabins by a stream, to immaculately appointed farmhouse rooms. Rooms have private baths, TV and even wireless.

As far as meals go, there is a full breakfast served family style each morning (continental of Sundays). During nice weather, breakfast is served out on the back deck by the running stream/

There is also a wonderful renovated barn that has been converted to a restaurant / gift shop. Generally it is only open on the weekends during slow months. It is a BYOB restaurant but feel free to bring your own wine (bring one from one of the several very good wineries within 5 miles of the farm). The food is very good and portions are plentiful. Service is excellent. My only complaint is that the price is rather high ($25) for the dinner. It includes light appetizers and dessert however, the items are generally chicken, ham and / or crab imperial. My recommendation is to do one night there so you can sample the cusine.

Overall, this is one of the best values and venues for the money as far as accomodations.

Room Tip: The master suite, while the most expensive, has a very large jacuzzi in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FenwickBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile


Great atmosphere in an old barn with modern features. Food is served family style with plenty to eat. Crab ham chicken and lots of sides. A bit pricey at 26$ unless you come with a big appetite.
Nice country store in the back for penny candy for the kids and those who remember being kids Amish atmosphere is genuine.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelMonster17268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hickory Bridge Farm last year and quite enjoyed the experience overall. On one hand, the property was beautiful and the cottage cozy. The lack of phone reception, no wifi, and no cable were a huge bonus in our book, we enjoyed the portable dvd player and civil war themed movies that were offered instead. We also enjoyed the quiet, rural setting, and felt the drive into town was worthwhile; the countryside around Gettysburg is gorgeous. We could hear the creek from our charming cottage, and we encountered some friendly animals in our wanderings around the property (horses, cats). We spotted some wildlife, too - deer and wild turkeys.
We dealt with the innkeeper's son when we checked in, and he was very pleasant and offered some good recommendations for eating and sight-seeing around town. The owner herself was surprisingly cold in all of our interactions with her. On the day of our checkout, we had lingered at breakfast chatting for quite a while. When we headed back to the cottage to finish packing not long before check-out time, we let the innkeeper know we'd be back over shortly to settle our bill. When we got back, there was nobody to be found. We wandered around the public areas of the property for quite some time looking for people. Eventually, we wandered into the gift shop and then poked our heads into the restaurant area calling out "hello," and finally an employee appeared and we checked out. But we had spent about 45 minutes searching for somebody to help us check out, which kind of put a damper on things.
Overall, the beautiful, peaceful setting and the quaint coziness of the cottages overwhelm the check-out issue, and we'd stay at Hickory Bridge Farms again in a second.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathilde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hickory Bridge Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickory Bridge Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 96 Hickory Bridge Rd, Orrtanna, PA 17353-9734
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Orrtanna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Orrtanna
Price Range: £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country retreat at the foothills of the Appalachian mountains 9 miles west of Gettysburg, PA. Offering quiet cottages and rooms with whirlpool baths. Full breakfast except on Sunday, when a basket breakfast is taken to your room. Dinner is featured in a beautiful restored barn. Serving visitors since 1977. Two night minimum required on weekends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hickory Bridge Farm Orrtanna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing