We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frogtown Acres Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Paradise
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Gordonville(Gordonville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
101
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
2
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamish neighborsbreakfast tableother guestsb bfeel like familyamish countryfunny storieseach room has its ownreal charactereach morninglancaster countyseparate buildingfresh fruitthe main housejoegloriahosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed here for four nights last week and couldn't recommend this bed and breakfast any more highly. We stayed in the Alcove Room, on the ground floor of the detached carriage house. The room was spacious and decorated with country accents and at least 37 frogs, at least by my count. Frogtown Acres is located along a very pleasant country road with Amish farms next door and across the road. The sound of horses pulling buggies could be heard daily right outside the window of our room. It was very relaxing. Joe and Gloria are the perfect hosts and their breakfasts were to die for. We didn't need to eat lunch after these hearty breakfasts. Each day brought another wonderful original breakfast delight. My personal favorite was the sausage and cheese casserole but the peach pancakes were also pretty darn good. Joe has the perfect personality for an innkeeper, a gregarious fellow who really seemed to enjoy interacting with his guests. He gave us a number of great recomendations of things to do in the area and he was spot on each time. We will definitely stay here any time we find ourselves in the area and recommend that you do the same. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasgld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My fiance and I have been to the Lancaster County area before and we have never stayed in such a charming and unique B&B such as this one. We took a weekend trip to Amish country and decided on Frogtown when we had previously drove by and wanted to stay here because of the location, nothing but farms and rolling hills around you! What a perfect place to stay! Our room was the Fireplace room and was so beautifully decorated, frogs everywhere, a warm fireplace, and a comfortable bed made this stay restful. Breakfast was the best part since it was not only delicious but we were able to meet and talk to the local Amish family living next door. A truly incredible experience that we have never had in visiting Lancaster County.
Breakfast time was great since Joe and Gloria made us feel like we were friends for years, and they sat and talked with us sharing their many stories with us. They are very knowledgable of the area and made excellent recommendations as to where to eat and what to see, and Joe gave us directions on taking a walking tour of the area surrounding the inn, which we never had the opportunity to do before, and we really enjoyed it! The grounds were beautiful, in spite that we visited in the wintertime, and we were able to enjoy sitting on the double swing chairs and just look out to the fields behind the inn. We will definitely return to this inn and would recommend it to anyone looking for a truly unique experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munequa718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

What an experience - loves the hosts and their love and the hole set-up! Thanks for a wonderful wonderful stay - had to come back all the way from Niagra Falls to spend a second night at Froggtown!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kennedysathermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We needed a place to stay when we changed our trip itinerary suddenly. (We decided to avoid New York because of the Wall Street protesters and stay in Lancaster Co. instead. Good decision.) My wife researched many motels on Trip Advisor looking for Friday and Saturday accommodations. She came across this B&B and was impressed with the reviews. Since Frogtown does not have a website, she called with little hope of getting a room. It was our lucky day! Joe had just received a cancellation so we were able to get a room for the two nights. Upon meeting Joe, it was like you had known him for years. Being an innkeeper is definitely his calling. You could use many words to describe the property - quaint, interesting, quirky, unique, funky, rural, nostalgic - but at the end of your stay you will be happy you stayed here. Our room was on the ground floor. It was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small, but the shower was good. The bed was comfortable. There was no TV and I don't think there was a phone in the room. But you don't really care. The local area is your entertainment and you will meet the nicest people staying here. Many who are regular guests. The breakfasts, which we enjoyed for two hours, were excellent. Joe was running the place by himself that weekend so he prepared to two breakfasts. Joe tried to schedule a meal with an Amish family, but it was harvest season so that didn't happen. That was okay. The places Joe sent us were excellent. One night, after returning from supper, Joe and a newly arrived couple sat in Joe's home and talked for over an hour. Just like you would do if you hadn't seen a friend for several years. If we go back to or through Lancaster Co., we will definitely stay at Frogtown Acres again.

Room Tip: Request the Alcove room if you want more space or upstairs if you don't mind the steps. BUT do not put off making your reservations. The four rooms fill up quickly.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda-Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Was recommended this B and B by a friend so was looking forward to it.
As we were from Australia, we wanted this Lancaster experience to be memorable. My husband and 2 teenage children (17 and 13) were sceptical about the place when we arrived (they were only coming because it was a dream of mine) but after 4 days they didn't want to leave.....so much so that we did come back 2 weeks later for another night at my teens request.
What can I say expect Joe and Gloria make this place what it is.
The rooms ( we stayed in the Balcony room first then the Alcove room second) were beautifully decorated and very comfortable.
Breakfast was a treat. We had Amish neighbours in for coffee, and the homemade meal was fantastic and Joe kept us entertained with his stories (and saxaphone playing) plus it was wonderful meeting people from all walks of life....we spent over an hour and half most mornings at the breakfast table.
We were taken to have a meal/dinner with an Amish family (friends of Joe and Glorias) which was magnificent and their neighbour took us on a buggy ride.
Location of the B and B is beautiful and right in the heart of the amish land.
My teens loved talking to Joe and Gloria, playing competitive fun games with Joe and other guests and they were taken fishing at the local creek with Joe where they did catch plenty of fish, and our board games nights with both Joe and Gloria and other guests were so much fun.
Advise is given on where to go and what to see in the local area.
We didn't want to leave and my two teenagers ( after travelling 6500km around the East Coast including the Florida theme parks) declared their favourite part of our trip was our time in Paradise.
If it is possible (seeing as we live 17000 km away) we will return.

Room Tip: Book early!!!!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frizzy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews