We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun camping and hiking... very accessible for kids (or inexperienced adults)”

Black Moshannon State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun camping and hiking... very accessible for kids (or inexperienced adults)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

This was our second camping trip to Black Moshannon State Park. We stayed 4 nights and would have been happy to extend the trip!
We stayed in a rustic cabin (number 12) with our two daughters (5, 1). We were charmed by the size and shape of the cabin. Upon entering the cabin you were in a (relatively) large main room with a food burning stove, bench, table and chairs and partial kitchen (fridge, counter, stove and microwave). To the left of the main room was a set of twin size bunk beds, around the corner from that was a set of double bed bunk beds. This arrangement created a sense of privacy while sleeping and helped prevent the girls from waking each other in the middle of the night. Since 12 was on the end, we felt like we had sufficient privacy but I could imagine feeling crowded during the height of the season. I was especially impressed with how impeccably clean the cabin and the campground bathrooms were. The staff at the park were conscientious and meticulous.
We went on several short hikes including the bog trail (which the 1 year old did herself), the Star Mill Trail (which the 5 year old did but the one year old stuck to her carrier) and another by the camp store. We also had adult bikes and a trailer for the kids-- the hills were tough but it was a fun and safe place for biking to trailheads and down to the lake. The beach was small but the water was fresh and clean and pleasant.
We are looking forward to coming back soon!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank rkf211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    16
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our favorite park of the region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We've been coming here for over 25 years. It's great for kids, with the swimming beach, boating, boardwalk trail and various hiking trails. One activity that I didn't see in the other reviews is cross-country skiing. The trails are great for all levels of skiers, and the snow is usually deeper and longer-lasting than in State College. They also have a winter festival, with skating, bowling on the ice and other fun family activities in January. I wish they'd publicize the festivals more, as I often don't hear about them until the pictures are in the paper the following day.

The pavillions seem to be CCC-era, and are nicely located. Even if the pavillions are already taken there are plenty of tables all around the lake and we've never had any problems finding a nice picnic spot.

This is the nearest park to where we live, and we're thankful for that as it's by far our favorite!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Scenic State Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Great camping, a pretty lake, hiking, lots of picnic facilities, wildlife. this park is a great little retreat not far from the beaten path. I've been to this park numerous times

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Marys, PA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always something happening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

There are so many wonderful programs offered here. It is a destination for any age and any season. It is an example of how diverse the area is--you can be in State College one minute and in the forest the next!

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belo horizonte
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice when you want to get out of State College for the day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

It's a nice escape from State College. The problem is that it's small. (I rowed that entire lake in about 20 minutes)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pauduro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Moshannon State Park also viewed

 

Been to Black Moshannon State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing